The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2018, 03:03 PM
Kudurak Kudurak is offline
Registered User
Kudurak's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 962912
Kudurak Reputation: 10
Post VOID Wired USB 7.1 not functioning after Windows Spring Creator Update

I've been browsing through these forums looking for as many ways as possible to fix the 7.1 surround on my wired VOID headset, but the solutions that seem to work for everyone else only applies to the Wireless version (i.e. re-pairing). Since the update I've attempted to eliminate any possible areas of concern I could think of:

Updated Video Drivers, Audio Drivers, and System/BIOS
fully uninstalled and reinstalled iCUE after the CUE update to iCUE (done x2)
checked default settings and audio devices
forced firmware update on the headset
fully uninstalled and reinstalled drivers for the headset
disabled and enabled the device in Device Manager
adjusted settings for application control before resetting to default again

and all of this of course involved plenty of system reboots.

I'm getting a little desperate because I've not found any solution to fix the problem. The button for Dolby Digital is toggle-able, but nothing changes in sound quality and I've lost the roomwide effect in Discord Voice.

Last edited by Kudurak; 07-10-2018 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-11-2018, 05:56 PM
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 549
POST ID # = 963097
Corsair Mint Reputation: 24
Default

Hi Kudurak,

Another user had mentioned updating their Realtek audio drivers before getting their surround working again for their headset. Can you see if you have a Realtek audio device and try updating the drivers to see if it's similar for you?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-11-2018, 06:54 PM
Kudurak Kudurak is offline
Registered User
Kudurak's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 963107
Kudurak Reputation: 10
Post

That was actually one of the first posts i found. I tried it through the device manager and it did update, but I've still been stuck with the same issue.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-15-2018, 07:41 PM
Malstroven Malstroven is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 963661
Malstroven Reputation: 10
Default

I've been having this issue for the past few days as well (except I never had realtek to begin with). Neither surround soung or equalizer settings are working at all, and you can toggle them in iCUE but they don't do anything. Spatial surround won't enable for the headset through windows either. Followed the same steps op has, and also haven't found any posts that could be of any help.

Last edited by Malstroven; 07-15-2018 at 07:44 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-16-2018, 01:59 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 600
POST ID # = 963789
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

Have you guys tried disabling fast startup? That seems to cause a lot of problems with a lot of various components and hardware. It does line up.

Quote:
In a post on the PC Master Race subreddit, a user pointed out that fast startup was re-enabled in a Windows 10 update following the release of the Fall Creators Update. Following the April 2018 Windows 10 update it again appears that fast startup has been re-enabled, at least on my PC.
source: https://www.windowscentral.com/how-d...0-fast-startup
In any case give this a try and post back with your results. :)
__________________
Open Source Project: Sync Gigabyte MB w/ Corsair iCue
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-16-2018, 06:29 PM
Kudurak Kudurak is offline
Registered User
Kudurak's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 963820
Kudurak Reputation: 10
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarity View Post
Have you guys tried disabling fast startup? That seems to cause a lot of problems with a lot of various components and hardware. It does line up.



In any case give this a try and post back with your results. :)
I've just looked into this a bit. i started by disabling the setting for it like that page described, then so far I've restarted the PC twice to make sure the setting worked, and then I forced another Firmware Image to see if that did anything. As it currently stands, no changes from before. I'm thinking of what else I can do to try to fix this. Corsair Support seems to believe its an individual headset issue, and has offered standard RMA to me, though I am unsure if this will fix the problem. I'm tempted to believe its software based and not hardware based.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-16-2018, 08:58 PM
Malstroven Malstroven is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 963838
Malstroven Reputation: 10
Default

Looking at other similar posts, it looks like the void headset is not the only corsair product to be having this problem. Seems to point more towards software being the issue.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-17-2018, 01:37 PM
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 549
POST ID # = 963930
Corsair Mint Reputation: 24
Default

I'd recommend submitting a ticket and providing your system information to our support so they can get it over to our software and audio teams to look into.

http://support.corsair.com
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-30-2018, 07:05 PM
Kudurak Kudurak is offline
Registered User
Kudurak's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 966282
Kudurak Reputation: 10
Default

Update: I've contacted and fully laid out everything to the support team. i was immediately given an RMA approval and given an alternate replacement of the VOID Pro Wireless variant instead of the original set of Void USB RGB Carbon. I wasnt asked to provide any extra details after the initial post, so I'm unsure if my point was well received.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
audio, icue, issues, void 7.1, wired

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.