The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2018, 05:13 PM
Jdavies Jdavies is offline
Registered User
Jdavies's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 960213
Jdavies Reputation: 10
Default Computer keeps shutting down randomly

hello im James I built a computer with my Dad about two to three years ago. And acouple days after it was finished building it, it started to continuously turn on and off and it did this for a minute and after that i booted back up and gave me a message saying something along the lines of "Asus surge protecting detected a surge on the last boot up please restart" I don't remember exactly what it said but that's the general idea. I tried to fix it and after getting super frustrated that it wasn't working I left it for the summer and did not think about it until the beginning of the following summer. At this time I did not have high hopes but I turned it on and started using it after sometime of it working fine I thought it fixed itself or something, but after a month of normal use the problem arose again it, every boot-up it would load normally then turn on and off, on and off then tell me there was a surge. Now it's this summer and Ive made a real effort to fix the problem. I have re-cabled the entire computer and checked all the components are correctly installed. I'm at a real wall I don't know where to go from here. If anyone has any ideas what is causing this problem please inform me
Thanks James
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-22-2018, 01:55 PM
Alcasczar Alcasczar is offline
RGB Lunatic
Alcasczar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Fairport NY
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 960345
Alcasczar Reputation: 10
Default

Have you tried swapping out to another PSU ? you didn't really tell us what you did to try and fix the issue but I've heard of this happening before and it could be a quirk with the motherboard. I would try updating Motherboard to latest firmware available for your particular board and go from there. If it continues you can try disabling surge detection in the bios but just make sure you're not using a off brand cheapy PSU. I stress to anyone to get Platinum or Gold Teir 1 PSUs and Corsair does have some nice ones.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-27-2018, 12:50 PM
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 549
POST ID # = 961053
Corsair Mint Reputation: 24
Default

Hi Jdavies, some of our PSUs have an issue with ASUS Antisurge protection, you may need ti disable this option in the motherboard BIOS.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-27-2018, 06:17 PM
Jdavies Jdavies is offline
Registered User
Jdavies's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 961114
Jdavies Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alcasczar View Post
Have you tried swapping out to another PSU ? you didn't really tell us what you did to try and fix the issue but I've heard of this happening before and it could be a quirk with the motherboard. I would try updating Motherboard to latest firmware available for your particular board and go from there. If it continues you can try disabling surge detection in the bios but just make sure you're not using a off brand cheapy PSU. I stress to anyone to get Platinum or Gold Teir 1 PSUs and Corsair does have some nice ones.
I have not tried swapping out the PSU. I already tried disabling the surge protection but that didn't do anything the computer would just do the same thing but it wouldn't show me surge message it would just restart. I'll try updating the motherboard firmware see if that makes a diffrence
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-27-2018, 06:18 PM
Jdavies Jdavies is offline
Registered User
Jdavies's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 961115
Jdavies Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Mint View Post
Hi Jdavies, some of our PSUs have an issue with ASUS Antisurge protection, you may need ti disable this option in the motherboard BIOS.
I tried that it didn't work instead of giving a and error message it would just restart
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-29-2018, 03:30 PM
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 549
POST ID # = 961378
Corsair Mint Reputation: 24
Default

Definitely try swapping out the PSU, there could be an issue there. I'd also be concerned if something may be shorting out the PSU once it's installed inside the case.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-23-2018, 06:30 PM
iTeks iTeks is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 965128
iTeks Reputation: 10
Default

If swappign the PSU doesn't fix the issue, I'd start looking at the BIOS and any attempt to overclock (if you tinkered with it, that is).
Sometimes even enabling your memory's XMP profile can have profound effects on how the system behaves.
Post your system specs (motherboard, CPU, memory, etc) to give a better idea of your system layout.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.