The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2018, 03:10 PM
mcnasty mcnasty is offline
Registered User
mcnasty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 972462
mcnasty Reputation: 10
Default Ryzen motherboards that support vengeance pro ram?

Is there a list somewhere of Ryzen motherboards that support RGB control of the new Veangeance Pro ram? I have a cheap gigabyte motherboard that doesn't support SPD write, so i cant control the RGB on it with either iCue or Link. I've already talked to a Gigabyte rep, and they confirmed it.

What Ryzen boards do you guys have that supports control of the RGB on this ram? I'm still in the return window of the motherboard i have, so i want to return it and upgrade to a board that supports it, so tell me what you have that works.

I have a Ryzen 5 1600, so it doesnt have to be x470 or anything.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-13-2018, 09:49 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 543
POST ID # = 972564
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

SPD WRITE is for a different platform, did you update to the latest version of your bios and iCUE yet?

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-13-2018, 10:56 AM
mcnasty mcnasty is offline
Registered User
mcnasty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 972574
mcnasty Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Art View Post
SPD WRITE is for a different platform, did you update to the latest version of your bios and iCUE yet?

-Art
Yeah, i've already talked with a gigabyte employee and my motherboard cannot control the ram. it's plain and simple as that. All i want is a ryzen motherboard that can control the RGB on the ram, that's it. I dont care how its achieved.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-16-2018, 09:27 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 543
POST ID # = 973065
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnasty View Post
Yeah, i've already talked with a gigabyte employee and my motherboard cannot control the ram. it's plain and simple as that. All i want is a ryzen motherboard that can control the RGB on the ram, that's it. I dont care how its achieved.
Control it with iCUE, I'd be almost 100% certain no motherboard manufacturer would be able to guarantee you compatibility with their specific software.

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-19-2018, 06:41 PM
mcnasty mcnasty is offline
Registered User
mcnasty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 973470
mcnasty Reputation: 10
Default

Problem solved! My buddy told me to get a Gigabyte Aorus Gaming K5, cause that's what he has, and it works! I'm able to control the rgb on my vengeance pro ram now! :)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-23-2018, 04:03 AM
Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 973828
Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ Reputation: 10
Default

@Corsair Art, while no motherboard manufacturer may be able to guarantee, surely Corsair must have a list, even if it might be small, of motherboards known to be compatible. I just purchased the CMW16GX4M2A2666C16 and just had to RMA my ASUS Prime B-450 Plus because it is not compatible. I need to know what to purchase instead and was hoping to find something that either does not have RGB or is compatible with ICUE in order to avoid conflicting aesthetics. Any help would be extremely appreciated.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-24-2018, 10:17 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 543
POST ID # = 974011
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ View Post
@Corsair Art, while no motherboard manufacturer may be able to guarantee, surely Corsair must have a list, even if it might be small, of motherboards known to be compatible..
We don't, unfortunately =S.

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:29 PM
Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 974046
Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ Reputation: 10
Default

If there are no known motherboards that work with it, does that mean I should just return it? :(
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-24-2018, 03:18 PM
c00lkatz c00lkatz is offline
Registered User
c00lkatz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 974053
c00lkatz Reputation: 21
Default

Gigabyte GA-AB350-Gaming 3 - works and overclocks, RGB control works

Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming - works but wouldn't overclock for crap, RGB control didn't work until latest iCUE (according to forum posts - returned board for below board when RGB control didn't work initially)

MSI X470 Gaming Pro Carbon (regular or AC) - works, overclocks great, RGB control works

These are the boards I've tried with Vengeance RGB Pro RAM and a Ryzen 5 2600. Currently I am running the MSI board with 3000MHz 15-17-17-17-35-52-1T 1.35V XMP RAM running at overclocked 3200MHz 16-17-17-17-35-52-1T 1.40V with XMP disabled, ~1.15V SOC. CPU is at 4.175GHz 1.40V - using a Corsair H150i Pro for cooling.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-24-2018, 11:02 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 543
POST ID # = 974074
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ View Post
If there are no known motherboards that work with it, does that mean I should just return it? :(
Not quite yet, this thread and others on this subforum have people using different motherboards that may be an option for you and work with their CMW (vengeance RGB pro)kits.

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-25-2018, 02:54 PM
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 974158
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ View Post
... just had to RMA my ASUS Prime B-450 Plus because it is not compatible.
Sorry to butt in, but what version of iCUE were/are you running?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-26-2018, 09:27 PM
Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 974368
Ra1nb0wUn1c0rn$ Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Kevin View Post
Sorry to butt in, but what version of iCUE were/are you running?
The RAM was so incompatible that it wouldn't even boot, so we didn't even get that far.
:(
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 09-26-2018, 11:10 PM
miklet miklet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 974379
miklet Reputation: 10
Default

Two 8GB DIMMs CMW16GX4M2C3200C16W running reliably at 3466MHz on MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon. Version 42 of the MSI Gaming App recognized the two RGB RAM devices and offered several modes and lots of color variations. The MSI App handles my EVGA AIO RGB, two RGB light strips and the motherboard RGB locations well enough for me.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-10-2018, 08:09 PM
jfunk jfunk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 975946
jfunk Reputation: 10
Default

I'm really hoping to run some white RGP Pro CMW16GX4M2C3200C16W on an MSI B450M Titanium, but the compatibility chart seems like a mess. For example, they list this kit as compatible: CMW64GX4M8C3200C16 which is a 8x8 kit. But this is not only a 4 slot board but they only list it as working with 2 DIMM slots. What is that even supposed to mean? You can buy this 8 dimm kit, but only use 2 of them?

Has anybody tried this board with CMW16GX4M2C3200C16W?

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450...ANIUM/Overview
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-10-2018, 08:21 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,468
POST ID # = 975948
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Motherboard memory compatibility charts are a mess and typically worthless. They just list memory that the manufacturer tested with at the time. They don't test every memory module that's available at launch nor do they ever update them with new models that are continually coming out.

As for the RGB function ... the chipset and the motherboard need to support SPD Write. Apparently this isn't available on all of the AMD boards - something that I find absolutely stunning since just about every (if not every) memory vendor uses that functionality for the extremely popular variations of RGB memory.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.