The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2017, 06:33 AM
mjf196 mjf196 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 893933
mjf196 Reputation: 10
Default Memory rank of Vengeance LPX 2x16GB?

Hi,

Does anyone know if this RAM is single or dual rank?

Vengeance LPX 2x16GB
CMK32GX4M2B3200C16
rev 5.39

There is nothing on the label or Corsair's website that I can see that tells me and I don't want to remove the heat spreader so I can inspect the chips. I can see from looking at it is dual-sided and has 16 chips (8 per side). I think its single ranked because the 2x8GB modules have 8 chips and have read they are single-ranked but that is not conclusive.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by mjf196; 03-05-2017 at 06:36 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-05-2017, 06:39 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 893937
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea The SPD should tell you

Attached Images
File Type: png F4-3333C16-8GTZ.png (80.7 KB, 15792 views)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-05-2017, 06:51 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 953
POST ID # = 893940
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Until higher density memory ICs become available all Corsair kits consisting of 16GB modules should be dual rank built from sixteen 8Gbit ICs.

And in your case with Ver5.39 that's most likely 8Gbit Hynix MFR.

Last edited by emissary42; 03-05-2017 at 06:54 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-05-2017, 06:52 AM
mjf196 mjf196 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 893941
mjf196 Reputation: 10
Default

@red-ray Thanks for the quick response. That looks like a useful tool. Sorry I should have said I don't have a DDR4 mobo to test as still waiting for delivery.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #5  
Old 03-05-2017, 08:30 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 893948
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea I just searched all the SIV save files I have and ...



The DRAM Manufacturer’s ID Code is zero which I feel is rather poor and Corsair should set this.
Attached Images
File Type: png CMK32GX4M2B3200C16.png (150.1 KB, 15544 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 03-05-2017 at 08:37 AM. Reason: DRAM Manufacturer’s ID Code
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-05-2017, 09:19 AM
mjf196 mjf196 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 893956
mjf196 Reputation: 10
Default

Wow thanks red-ray, I appreciate you searching for me. :) I agree not setting ID is a bit rubbish! So if I read correctly RAM is dual rank. I also just found the QVL memory list for the new Gigabyte GA-AX370-GAMING5 which agrees (2Rx8).

http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList...70-Gaming5.pdf

I was worried that the RAM wouldn't OC to 3200 on AM4 x370 as I have read that Ryzen R7s currently work best with 2 sticks of single rank. But the QVL says my RAM is supported at 3200 on that MB (at least).

Last edited by mjf196; 03-05-2017 at 09:24 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-06-2017, 02:07 PM
Salva52 Salva52 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 894135
Salva52 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,
I have same question with
vengeance led 2x8Gb 3200 cas 16 version 5.39
cmu16gx4m2c3200c16r
sn:164905663
I bought this ram but i don't know is single or dual rank and side too
i don't have motherboard yet.
Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-17-2017, 09:20 AM
razvan_g razvan_g is offline
Registered User
razvan_g's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 895536
razvan_g Reputation: 10
Default

Hello
I have build an AMD ryzen system with Gigabyte AX370 Gaming 5 motherboard and AMD Ryzen 7 1700X , with 16 GB (2x8) DDR4 Patriot Viper Elite 3200 CL16 kit.
The problem with them is that those are dual rank , and I want to exchange them with Corsair , either Vengeance LPX Black 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 Dual Channel Kit (part no CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 ) or Vengeance Red LED 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 Dual Channel Kit (part no CMU16GX4M2C3200C16R) .
Can anyone tell me if either of those are Single rank or Dual rank ?
Thank you.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-17-2017, 09:30 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 895537
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 are Single Rank

They worked at 2.93GHz in an ASUS Prime X370-Pro AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Eight-Core (Summit Ridge) system.

Attached Images
File Type: png CMK16GX4M2B3200C16.png (56.8 KB, 15208 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-17-2017, 09:36 AM
razvan_g razvan_g is offline
Registered User
razvan_g's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 895538
razvan_g Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for quick answer.
So, LPX version is single rank. Could I assume that the LED version , with pretty much the same part number , could also be Single Rank ?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-17-2017, 09:54 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 895539
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razvan_g View Post
Could I assume that the LED version , with pretty much the same part number , could also be Single Rank ?
You could, but the assumption may not be correct.

CMU16GX4M2A2666C16 are Single Rank

I have 4 x G.Skill F4-3000C16-8GTZR Single Rank RGB LED DIMMs in my AMD Ryzen 7 1700X Eight-Core (Summit Ridge) [ZP-B1]
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-17-2017, 10:10 AM
razvan_g razvan_g is offline
Registered User
razvan_g's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 895541
razvan_g Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
You could, but the assumption may not be correct.

CMU16GX4M2A2666C16 are Single Rank

I have 4 x G.Skill F4-3000C16-8GTZR Single Rank RGB LED DIMMs in my AMD Ryzen 7 1700X Eight-Core (Summit Ridge) [ZP-B1]
Thank you again.
Indeed, that assumption may not be the right one :)
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-17-2017, 10:28 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 895542
red-ray Reputation: 81
Confused Some CMU16GX4M2C3200C16 are Single Rank

Attached Images
File Type: png CMU16GX4M2C3200C16.png (57.3 KB, 46423 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 03-17-2017 at 11:47 AM. Reason: Some are Dual Rank
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 03-17-2017, 10:34 AM
razvan_g razvan_g is offline
Registered User
razvan_g's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 895543
razvan_g Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks man.
You're ace :)
So I can buy either version , to try run them on the gigabyte motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-17-2017, 11:39 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,154
POST ID # = 895550
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs down and other CMU16GX4M2C3200C16 are Dual Rank

I suspect it depends on the revision, but there is no way to know this from the SPD data

I suspect you would get the Single Rank, but may not.

Attached Images
File Type: png CMU16GX4M2C3200C16-Dual.png (57.1 KB, 46373 views)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.