The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-15-2018, 10:29 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,603
POST ID # = 963679
DevBiker Reputation: 69
Default

From what I understand, Corsair's engineers discovered the SPD corruption issue before releasing even the first wave of RGB RAM and had a fix for it in their first generation hardware. I would be absolutely amazed if the same fix isn't in place for the second generation RGB RAM as well.

That said, I've reported this to Corsair for investigation.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 07-16-2018, 04:59 AM
MalakaiAE MalakaiAE is online now
Registered User
MalakaiAE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 963713
MalakaiAE Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
From what I understand, Corsair's engineers discovered the SPD corruption issue before releasing even the first wave of RGB RAM and had a fix for it in their first generation hardware. I would be absolutely amazed if the same fix isn't in place for the second generation RGB RAM as well.

That said, I've reported this to Corsair for investigation.
Didn't get a chance to exchange the ram, Hopefully tomorrow(Monday)

That said my machine has not been rebooted since Friday and now all SPD data is missing within CPU-Z. I decided to try Thaiphoon Burner free edition and sure enough I have SPD crc errors, and oddly my serial numbers no longer show on the ram. Something is very wrong if this can happen without me trying to.

I've been away all weekend and have not been on my machine. The only change made was I uninstalled Gigabytes RGB Fusion application on Friday.

Screenshots attached
Attached Images
File Type: png CPUZ.png (26.1 KB, 1 views)
File Type: png CPUZ02.png (23.8 KB, 1 views)
File Type: png Thaiphoon01.png (67.6 KB, 3 views)
File Type: png Thaiphoon02.png (61.0 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by MalakaiAE; 07-16-2018 at 02:36 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 07-16-2018, 09:41 PM
Cpt.Planet Cpt.Planet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 963848
Cpt.Planet Reputation: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalakaiAE View Post
Didn't get a chance to exchange the ram, Hopefully tomorrow(Monday)

That said my machine has not been rebooted since Friday and now all SPD data is missing within CPU-Z. I decided to try Thaiphoon Burner free edition and sure enough I have SPD crc errors, and oddly my serial numbers no longer show on the ram. Something is very wrong if this can happen without me trying to.

I've been away all weekend and have not been on my machine. The only change made was I uninstalled Gigabytes RGB Fusion application on Friday.

Screenshots attached
CPUz might be due to iCue accessing the SMBus. Corsair doesn't program serial numbers in the SPD. Post a dump of the SPD instead of just the screenshot from Thaiphoon burner.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.