The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Systems > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2017, 07:16 PM
zguy85 zguy85 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 110
POST ID # = 916802
zguy85 Reputation: 10
Default 1080TI + 500W PS Upgrades for V1.0

I know this topic had been discussed early when originally released and there was hint that Corsair would possibly offer upgrade options for those who had purchased the original PRO models.

What is the status regarding Corsair upgrades?

Additionally, if warranty wasn't an issue, what part numbers for more advanced GPUs and higher output Power Supply would fit in the ONE so that I may upgrade?

Last edited by zguy85; 08-19-2017 at 07:20 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-21-2017, 12:38 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,095
POST ID # = 917034
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

We investigated doing an upgrade program for the graphics hardware and found it would be extremely costly to implement - not just for us, but for end users. For example, upgrading the 1080 system to a 1080 Ti would require:

1. Changing the PSU
2. Changing the top system fan
3. Changing the graphics card
4. Adding an additional power cable for the card

With the way Corsair One is engineered, there really isn't a good way to upgrade the graphics hardware. The PSUs used in Corsair One aren't available in retail or as spare parts, and the cooling system is designed specifically for the graphics card already installed.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Corsair Link Software


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 04-19-2018, 10:42 PM
ToWn3r ToWn3r is offline
Registered User
ToWn3r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 951193
ToWn3r Reputation: 10
Default

What is the size of the top case fan?

120mm or 140mm ?

Would this one be compatable?
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CO-9050073-WW
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-22-2018, 06:05 PM
Corsair CJ's Avatar
Corsair CJ Corsair CJ is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair CJ's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 618
POST ID # = 951568
Corsair CJ Reputation: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToWn3r View Post
What is the size of the top case fan?

120mm or 140mm ?

Would this one be compatable?
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CO-9050073-WW
It's 140mm... that being said the LL fan would "work" but with no lights since there isn't a RGB controller built into the CORSAIR ONE. You'd have to somehow cram a Lighting Node PRO and LED control hub into the case.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-01-2018, 02:11 PM
nox_uk nox_uk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 58
POST ID # = 957004
nox_uk Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Dustin View Post
We investigated doing an upgrade program for the graphics hardware and found it would be extremely costly to implement - not just for us, but for end users. For example, upgrading the 1080 system to a 1080 Ti would require:

1. Changing the PSU
2. Changing the top system fan
3. Changing the graphics card
4. Adding an additional power cable for the card

With the way Corsair One is engineered, there really isn't a good way to upgrade the graphics hardware. The PSUs used in Corsair One aren't available in retail or as spare parts, and the cooling system is designed specifically for the graphics card already installed.
I do a lot of checking on stuff before I buy and this concerns me a little. I'm looking at purchasing a ONE in the very near future, and it's a lot of money to me, enough that i'd expect to be able to replace components once the warranty has expired (like my current computer, which will ultimately get passed down through the family and I will be expected to keep it running)

Whilst I understand a limitation on GPU due to custom cooling attached, if the PSU blew in 3 years time, would I not be able to buy a new PSU to replace it? Or would I need a complete new system? Same question kinda arises if the AIO needed replacing. Will there be provision for this when warranties start expiring on these things? Underneath, everything looks quite standard...
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-20-2018, 12:32 PM
ToWn3r ToWn3r is offline
Registered User
ToWn3r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 973544
ToWn3r Reputation: 10
Default

Wouldn’t this PSU fit?
It looks basically the same.

Corsair SF Series, SF600, 600 Watt, Fully Modular Power Supply, 80+ Gold Certified https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CGI5M24..._jU8OBbVYKA2WR
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-20-2018, 01:45 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 454
POST ID # = 973555
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToWn3r View Post
Wouldn’t this PSU fit?
It looks basically the same.

Corsair SF Series, SF600, 600 Watt, Fully Modular Power Supply, 80+ Gold Certified https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CGI5M24..._jU8OBbVYKA2WR
Yes it will fit.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-20-2018, 02:54 PM
ToWn3r ToWn3r is offline
Registered User
ToWn3r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 973565
ToWn3r Reputation: 10
Default

<3 Thank you!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.