The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > USB Flash Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 258 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-19-2010, 01:07 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 467198
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

when you ran FDisk, did it show any partition? even a non-dos one?
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 09-19-2010, 03:09 PM
hdthree hdthree is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 467206
hdthree Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthohol View Post
when you ran FDisk, did it show any partition? even a non-dos one?
It showed no partition the flash drive but it did allow me to try and create a ms-dos partition.
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 12-04-2010, 03:14 PM
army69us army69us is offline
Registered User
army69us's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 478963
army69us Reputation: 10
Default right protection problems

I have a new corsair survivor 16gb I was using it to move some files to my laptop and it went right protected and for the life of me i can't clear it hoping someone knows how to remove the protection.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 05-06-2011, 02:28 PM
Adanec Adanec is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 501305
Adanec Reputation: 10
Default Don't work

I have an almost new 8Gb Voyager Mini.I cannot format it and it appears to be write protected.I try the initial sugestion and don't work.
I have tried several other solutions described in these forums and elsewhere but to no avail.

Format in Windows




Use the HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool (v2.0.6)


Use SD Formatter (v2.0.0.3)


I have tried KillDisk to erase the whole device and start again but don't work.
Is there anything else I can try or do I need to conclude that this the drive duff?
Thanks for any advice.

Adanec

Last edited by Adanec; 05-10-2011 at 01:10 PM. Reason: Add some screen
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:48 AM
rajeew rajeew is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 507105
rajeew Reputation: 10
Default

I also have the same issue with 128GB Corsair. But I don't know much details about it. One of my friends gave it to me and I know it is not a fake one.

Please anyone reply to this. Tell us how to format the disk. Thanks.

Last edited by Wired; 06-10-2011 at 12:05 PM. Reason: removed quote
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 06-10-2011, 12:06 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 507108
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajeew View Post
I also have the same issue with 128GB Corsair. But I don't know much details about it. One of my friends gave it to me and I know it is not a fake one.

Please anyone reply to this. Tell us how to format the disk. Thanks.
There's characters on the USB connector, correct? RMA the drive.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 06-10-2011, 08:24 PM
rajeew rajeew is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 507214
rajeew Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
There's characters on the USB connector, correct? RMA the drive.
It says SM334AC Card Reader in the Safe Removal Dialog box when connected.
It detects and asks me to format it. In the formatting dialog box, it only shows
31.5mb and can't be formatted.

Currently I am in a Asian country, It'll take few months to get back. Isn't there anything I can do my self to fix this ?

Thnx.

PS: Ignore this IP, as these countries do not allow some sites and I had to use US based IP.
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 06-15-2011, 02:19 PM
cabbie cabbie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 507882
cabbie Reputation: 10
Default

my brand new 256gb flash drive wouldn't format under disk management or any other method....until I downloaded http://files.extremeoverclocking.com...fb321d0152b482

The trick for me was to use fat32 format rather than ntfs.

Last edited by Yellowbeard; 06-15-2011 at 02:37 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 06-26-2011, 10:21 AM
thanasis thanasis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 509751
thanasis Reputation: 10
Default

i own flash voyager mini 8gb i CAN format it fat32 but i CANNOT format it ntfs. i am using windows 7.i tried format f:/fs:ntfs/a:16k from command prompt it goes to 100% but after this its says "11849728 bad sectors" and cant complete formating. what to do?
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 06-28-2011, 07:20 PM
shindig shindig is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 510211
shindig Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem as Choto Cheeta. Sorry, but if tech support for a shoddy product basically equates to downloading outdated software programs and tons of steps to follow and even THEN it doesn't guarantee 100% success, the best thing to do is avoid the product altogether.

To use a win 98 boot disk just to fdisk... but if you don't have a floppy... then you need tons of other programs to make a bootable cd without a floppy...etc...etc..etc.

What a joke!

Why doesn't Corsair spend some money to have one of their techies build a program that will fix these problems? I'll pass on buying anymore USB flash drives, especially Corsair.
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 06-28-2011, 09:35 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 510225
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shindig View Post
To use a win 98 boot disk just to fdisk... but if you don't have a floppy... then you need tons of other programs to make a bootable cd without a floppy...etc...etc..etc.

What a joke!

Why doesn't Corsair spend some money to have one of their techies build a program that will fix these problems?
No, you don't need a floppy drive and yes, we already have built a utility to help with all sorts of things. It's in the HOW TO section; How To Make the Ultimate Bootable Flash Drive. You can use it for this and many other things.
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 11-03-2011, 01:24 AM
ADz ADz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 538962
ADz Reputation: 10
Default

How to burn win 98 se OEM to cd or dvd.....pls help..
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 05-18-2012, 05:56 AM
colex colex is offline
Registered User
colex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 579070
colex Reputation: 10
Default

Hello Folks,

Today I have had bad luck with same problem in discussion here with my Corsair Voyager Mini 16GB!
In first instance I have felt the same situation of the user Adanec.




And on my VAIO notebook..



Then, I have also tried to throw the FDISK command on Windows 98SE CD but, without any result, the command to cancel the partition of my Corsair USB key is not carried out, the PC work a pair of minutes and the cursor blink in the windos (sorry for the flashlight)





and after it return the message displayed in the pics!






Please any help... Or I must to go with RMA?
Thanks in advance.
Sergio

Last edited by colex; 05-18-2012 at 12:52 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 05-18-2012, 01:38 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 579136
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Try using the DISKPART utility in WIN7 to CLEAN the drive and make a new partition.
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 05-22-2012, 09:30 AM
colex colex is offline
Registered User
colex's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 579860
colex Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
Try using the DISKPART utility in WIN7 to CLEAN the drive and make a new partition.
Thanks for suggestion, but I tried that command, without any resolution...

Discouraged and after many attempts, yesterday I sent my Voyager Mini 16GB with another 32GB "died" prematurely after six months of regular use, to Corsair EU in the Netherlands for replacement.

Thanks for your support!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.