The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2018, 11:47 PM
GamingJohn GamingJohn is offline
Registered User
GamingJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 962688
GamingJohn Reputation: 10
Question H100i V2 Surging

Hey guys,

I've recently built my new computer and thing have been going great; but I'm having a small issue I'm hoping someone can resolve:

I've noticed when I'm scrolling on web pages such as Facebook, Forums etc. if I'm not touching the mouse and not scrolling, my PC is almost dead quite, as soon as I scroll to read more or continue on the page, the fans on my H100i V2 begin to operate at maximum speeds which is super loud.

Also; when just sitting on my desktop with nothing open, my computer is silent, as soon as I open a game such as Fortnite and I'm just sitting in the lobby waiting for the game to begin, my H100i V2 fans again will start to blow at 100% until I exit the game.

This is super frustrating and loud - is there any simliar issues anyone has experienced or any kind of resolution to this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-09-2018, 02:50 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 1,996
POST ID # = 962694
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

2 things to check,,

You have it plugged into the CPU header and that header set to 100% in Bios?

or

Have you set the fans to react to CPU package rather than liquid temp (default and best option).

if it's set to CPU package then it will make your fans ramp up and down regular as its such an unstable temp source.. liquid temp is the better option as ultimately this is what your fans are trying to cool...
__________________
No. NO!.. I Do NOT Work for Corsair. Just a User that's here in his own time that's trying to help YOU!

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-09-2018, 07:46 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,062
POST ID # = 962719
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Take a look at the cooler FAQ (in my signature) ... #A3-A4.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-09-2018, 05:21 PM
GamingJohn GamingJohn is offline
Registered User
GamingJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 962791
GamingJohn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
2 things to check,,

You have it plugged into the CPU header and that header set to 100% in Bios?

or

Have you set the fans to react to CPU package rather than liquid temp (default and best option).

if it's set to CPU package then it will make your fans ramp up and down regular as its such an unstable temp source.. liquid temp is the better option as ultimately this is what your fans are trying to cool...


How do I check to see if I’ve set the fans to react to the CPU rather than the liquid temp?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-09-2018, 05:26 PM
ram1220 ram1220 is offline
Registered User
ram1220's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 71
POST ID # = 962794
ram1220 Reputation: 10
Default

Open Corsair Link and under your H100i V2 click the little red circle next to your fan RPM. Under the Group setting make sure that H100i V2 is selected.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-09-2018, 05:28 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,765
POST ID # = 962795
c-attack Reputation: 96
Default

Are you using Link or iCUE to control the system?

For Link, Click on the fan reading in the "H100i v2" Box . This will create a pop up graph. The "group" should be H100i v2 Temp (coolant temperature). The group is the control variable.

For iCUE, go to the H100i v2 Tab from the main panel. What are you using for a fan curve? If custom curve, you will see a drop down box at the bottom. Unfortunately, the names of all those variable choices are truncated. Scroll down until you find H100i v2 Temp. You will want to adjust your curve if you made it for CPU temp points in the 60-80C range. Coolant temps typically run from 20-40C.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-09-2018, 11:33 PM
GamingJohn GamingJohn is offline
Registered User
GamingJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 962829
GamingJohn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ram1220 View Post
Open Corsair Link and under your H100i V2 click the little red circle next to your fan RPM. Under the Group setting make sure that H100i V2 is selected.
It is set to the H100i V2; however; my fan RPM speed is showing 0 but both fans are spinning.

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-10-2018, 08:00 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,765
POST ID # = 962856
c-attack Reputation: 96
Default

OK, the zero can mean two things. 1) As Zotty inquired about in the first post, are your radiator fans connected to the cooler/pump block? Or the motherboard? If to the motherboard, than Link will show zero and we are in the wrong place to change their speed (although you may want to put them on the pump controller to resolve this).

2) If the fans are connected to pump, then the internal fan controller may have an issue. It would explain the surging and this model should never show zero rpm.

Can you double click on the "0 rpm" in the H100iv2 Box and tell us what you see?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-10-2018, 11:52 AM
GamingJohn GamingJohn is offline
Registered User
GamingJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 962878
GamingJohn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
OK, the zero can mean two things. 1) As Zotty inquired about in the first post, are your radiator fans connected to the cooler/pump block? Or the motherboard? If to the motherboard, than Link will show zero and we are in the wrong place to change their speed (although you may want to put them on the pump controller to resolve this).

2) If the fans are connected to pump, then the internal fan controller may have an issue. It would explain the surging and this model should never show zero rpm.

Can you double click on the "0 rpm" in the H100iv2 Box and tell us what you see?
I honestly have so many wires everywhere in the back of the case that I don't know whats connected to what anymore I'll have to check later today. I'm just afraid to start pulling wires and never get it back to how it is now lol.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-10-2018, 11:56 AM
GamingJohn GamingJohn is offline
Registered User
GamingJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 962880
GamingJohn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
OK, the zero can mean two things. 1) As Zotty inquired about in the first post, are your radiator fans connected to the cooler/pump block? Or the motherboard? If to the motherboard, than Link will show zero and we are in the wrong place to change their speed (although you may want to put them on the pump controller to resolve this).

2) If the fans are connected to pump, then the internal fan controller may have an issue. It would explain the surging and this model should never show zero rpm.

Can you double click on the "0 rpm" in the H100iv2 Box and tell us what you see?


This is what shows when I double click the 0RPM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-10-2018, 12:21 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,765
POST ID # = 962881
c-attack Reputation: 96
Default

Ok, properly set to coolant temp. Curve looks appropriate. That brings us back to whether the fans are actually connected to the pump or to the motherboard directly.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-10-2018, 12:21 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,062
POST ID # = 962882
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Where are the fans plugged in? The motherboard? Or the pump's fan header?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-13-2018, 06:06 PM
GamingJohn GamingJohn is offline
Registered User
GamingJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 968365
GamingJohn Reputation: 10
Default

Okay guys, finally got the time this weekend to re-do the wiring in my computer, can someone point me in the right direction on where to plug in all the wires that come with the H100i V2 in to my ASUS Z370-F Motherboard? Here is a pic:

Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-14-2018, 01:05 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,062
POST ID # = 968403
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

CPU Fan Header. Next to the RAM. And go into the BIOS and disable Q-Fan for the CPU Fan Header.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-14-2018, 08:56 PM
GamingJohn GamingJohn is offline
Registered User
GamingJohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 968578
GamingJohn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
CPU Fan Header. Next to the RAM. And go into the BIOS and disable Q-Fan for the CPU Fan Header.
Thanks! That is the proper set up for this cooler and mobo?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.