The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 147 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:16 PM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 481590
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Tweaker View Post

The sticks are:
Corsair Value Select:
Model no.: VS1GB400C3
Lot Code: 09241405
On the IC it says these numbers: 64M8BCG PRB090024
And on the front of the PCB it says: D68001H, On the back in various places: BP MLL, E186014, 94V-0
I'm not really sure what all of the numbers on the PCB mean, but I know BP refers to a company and I assume one of the others is a model number.
I know some of this information might not really be necessary, but I figured I would give you all the information I knew to help in identifying it.

Corsair XMS:
Model no.: CMX1024-3200C2PT
Revision: XMS3202v3.1
Lot code: 09030808
Okay, I finally managed to find out that the Value Select memory I have generally uses either Micron -B5 D or Samsung UCCC IC's.

I've read that the stick of XMS I have supposedly uses Infineon B-5 IC's.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 12-30-2010, 12:55 AM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 482503
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Tweaker View Post
Okay, I finally managed to find out that the Value Select memory I have generally uses either Micron -B5 D or Samsung UCCC IC's.

I've read that the stick of XMS I have supposedly uses Infineon B-5 IC's.
Today I discovered that some VS modules also use Hynix D43 IC's on a BrainPower PCB, as I bought one recently and to my surprise it had them on it. Strange, in all of my research on this I had never heard of any cases of people finding Value Select RAM with Hynix D43 chips.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 02-03-2011, 04:43 PM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 487612
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Got another one I'm trying to find out more about.

I checked and couldn't find it listed previously.

Corsair XMS:
Model no.: CMX1024-3200C2PRO
Revision: XMS3202 v1.4
Lot code: 0608176-1
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 02-18-2011, 02:49 AM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 489873
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Got another one.

Model no.: CMX512-3200C2
Revision: XMS3202 v1.5
Lot code: 0521077-0
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 03-01-2011, 11:05 AM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 491405
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

I've got some more sticks here I'm trying to find info on.

CMX512-3200C2PT (shows up as CMX512-3200C2 in CPU-Z)/XMS3202v1.1/0304056 (SPD timings of 2.5-3-3-8 at 200MHz with 2.5v)

CMX512-3200C2PT/XMS3202v5.2/0530088-0 (part of a 1GB kit) No idea, but I'm assuming Promos -5 Rev A, since all the others found on the list that were from that year seem to have those IC's.

CMX512-3200C2PT/XMS3202v5.2/0602111-0

Last edited by Tech Tweaker; 03-01-2011 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 03-26-2011, 06:38 PM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 495409
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Tweaker View Post
CMX512-3200C2PT (shows up as CMX512-3200C2 in CPU-Z)/XMS3202v1.1/0304056 (SPD timings of 2.5-3-3-8 at 200MHz with 2.5v)
This is supposedly Winbond BH-6 according to some other websites I have looked at.

Last edited by Tech Tweaker; 03-26-2011 at 06:45 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:28 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,183
POST ID # = 495418
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

I have yet to see a site listing DDR1 ICs that didn't guess / assume something. Unlike the DDR2/DDR3 ICs, there's no logic involved in the part number where someone outside of Corsair could determine the IC (aside from taking it apart).
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 03-28-2011, 05:04 AM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 495541
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
I have yet to see a site listing DDR1 ICs that didn't guess / assume something. Unlike the DDR2/DDR3 ICs, there's no logic involved in the part number where someone outside of Corsair could determine the IC (aside from taking it apart).
Well, considering Corsair themselves have not specified what that stick actually uses, or what any of the other ones I've asked about use, I was forced to look it up on my own.

I'll take an educated guess and/or some other website's word over having no information at all.

Last edited by Tech Tweaker; 03-29-2011 at 06:24 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:44 AM
Christian Ney's Avatar
Christian Ney Christian Ney is offline
Registered User
Christian Ney's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 497794
Christian Ney Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to Christian Ney Send a message via MSN to Christian Ney Send a message via Skype™ to Christian Ney
Default

Can I have the IC of :

CMX512-2700C2PT XMS2702v5.1
0509073-1

Please.

Thank you

EDIT: I removed the heatspreader, these are Mosel Vitelic T5B

Last edited by Christian Ney; 04-18-2011 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:54 PM
theRev theRev is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 497867
theRev Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Ney View Post
Can I have the IC of :

CMX512-2700C2PT XMS2702v5.1
0509073-1

Please.

Thank you
Doubtful. I've been waiting for over a year and they haven't got around to mine yet. I don't think they even care any more.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 04-24-2011, 04:34 PM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 499629
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

I don't know what IC these sticks use, but they are far from "Value Memory." Mine got up to DDR500/PC4000 speeds at the default 3-3-3-8 timings and 2.7 volts.

The RAM in question:
VS2GBKIT400C3 (2x VS1GB400C3 sticks)
Date code/Lot code: 09510073
numbers on IC: PRB0900950

I don't know why, but I seem to have had really good luck with these VS sticks that were made in 2009. So far had three sticks from that year, and all of them run great at high clock speeds without having to change the RAM divider or loosen the timings, a slight voltage bump may be necessary to keep them stable at speeds above DDR478-480 though.

If you see these sticks, buy them, if they perform anything like the ones I've found you'll be very happy with the results.

Last edited by Tech Tweaker; 01-04-2012 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 05-01-2011, 05:24 PM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 500530
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Tweaker View Post
I don't know what IC these sticks use, but they are far from "Value Memory." Mine got up to DDR500/PC4000 speeds at the default 3-3-3-8 timings and 2.65 volts I believe (probably needs about 2.7-2.75 to be fully stable though).

The RAM in question:
VS2GBKIT400C3 (2x VS1GB400C3 sticks)
Date code/Lot code: 09510073
numbers on IC: PRB0900950

I don't know why, but I seem to have had really good luck with these VS sticks that were made in 2009. So far had three sticks from that year, and all of them run great at high clock speeds without having to change the RAM divider or loosen the timings, a slight voltage bump may be necessary to keep them stable at speeds above DDR478-480 though.

If you see these sticks, buy them, if they perform anything like the ones I've found you'll be very happy with the results.
I've now also gotten them to run at timings of 2.5-3-3-7 at the default 200MHz/DDR400 speed without any voltage bump, and they may be able to achieve lower timings than that, but that is one of the only ones I tried that worked. The only other timings I tried were 2-3-2-6, the default for a stick of CMX1024-3200C2PRO I have here, the VS module didn't like those timings at all though and defaulted to 100MHz at 2.5-2-2-6 (or something like that).

Seems like very versatile memory for both systems which perform well at high clock speeds and lower latencies.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 01-04-2012, 12:22 AM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 551964
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Tweaker View Post
Got another one I'm trying to find out more about.

I checked and couldn't find it listed previously.

Corsair XMS:
Model no.: CMX1024-3200C2PRO
Revision: XMS3202 v1.4
Lot code: 0608176-1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Tweaker View Post
I don't know what IC these sticks use, but they are far from "Value Memory." Mine got up to DDR500/PC4000 speeds at the default 3-3-3-8 timings and 2.7 volts.

The RAM in question:
VS2GBKIT400C3 (2x VS1GB400C3 sticks)
Date code/Lot code: 09510073
numbers on IC: PRB0900950

I don't know why, but I seem to have had really good luck with these VS sticks that were made in 2009. So far had three sticks from that year, and all of them run great at high clock speeds without having to change the RAM divider or loosen the timings, a slight voltage bump may be necessary to keep them stable at speeds above DDR478-480 though.

If you see these sticks, buy them, if they perform anything like the ones I've found you'll be very happy with the results.
Any ideas as to what IC's these sticks have based upon the information given and/or my results with the Value Select kit and/or my XMS stick?

Last edited by Tech Tweaker; 01-09-2012 at 01:07 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:19 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,183
POST ID # = 551982
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Tweaker View Post
Any ideas as to what IC's these sticks have based upon the information given and/or my results with the Value Select kit?
As it states in the first post:
Quote:
Value Select ModulesValue Select modules are built with RAMs that are procured at the wafer level and are packaged and tested to our specifications. As such, they are not available as individual ICs, only as modules. This approach allows us to ship product with very good performance characteristics, low product cost, and a very low return rate.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 01-09-2012, 01:06 PM
Tech Tweaker Tech Tweaker is offline
Registered User
Tech Tweaker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 553243
Tech Tweaker Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
As it states in the first post:
Yeah, you already told me that once. Really I'm looking for answers from someone who knows more about the behavior of memory and how certain IC's perform. Those VS sticks run at DDR500 with timings of 2.5-3-3-7-2T with stock voltage. Now, is there anyone here that has anything helpful to contribute on the subject other than "Value Select modules are built with RAMs that are procured at the wafer level and are packaged and tested to our specifications. As such, they are not available as individual ICs, only as modules. This approach allows us to ship product with very good performance characteristics, low product cost, and a very low return rate." (which by the way is just a bunch of overly generalized marketing jargon, and says nothing about the chips themselves)?

Also, you completely missed the stick of CMX1024-3200C2Pro I asked about.

Last edited by Tech Tweaker; 01-09-2012 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.