The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2018, 09:11 PM
Hossam_M Hossam_M is offline
Registered User
Hossam_M's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 976062
Hossam_M Reputation: 10
Default Gigabyte Gaming 7 with Vengeance Pro problem

I purchased VENGEANCE RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C16 from a few days ago with M.B Gigabyte x470 Gaming 7
when mount the ram for first time RGB working Probably but when install ICU Software with RGB Fusion(Gigabyte) the two Ram light with red light only and when I try to change the color from ICU software not respond.
Please, help me to overcome this problem

Taken Actions:-
- Reinstall ICU software
- uninstall RGB Fusion and disable it from Bios
- update BIOS to F5 Version
- change place of RAM to all 4 DIMM
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20181012_024411.jpg (1.91 MB, 47 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-11-2018, 11:51 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,152
POST ID # = 976071
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Do you have SPD Write enabled in the BIOS? If you don't find the option, please contact Gigabyte support to see if it's supported on that board and, if so, what you need to do to enable it.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-12-2018, 11:10 AM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 614
POST ID # = 976106
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Do you have SPD Write enabled in the BIOS? If you don't find the option, please contact Gigabyte support to see if it's supported on that board and, if so, what you need to do to enable it.
I never had to enable anything in the BIOS. Granted I am running a Z370 Gaming 7 vs. his x470 Gaming 7.

The RAM control is a bit tricky as it uses the SMBUS as opposed to connecting directly iCUE via a USB device.

Couple options:

1) Pull power for a few minutes and try it again. RGB Fusion that can lock up the lights that requires power to remove (possible race condition). Granted removing RAM you should have removed the power/flipped the switch.

2) Don't use RGB Fusion till we figure it out.

3) Update Firmware of RAM, I just got some RAM it had a new firmware. (under settings)

4) Enable Advance Software control in settings menu for he RAM.

5) Complete uninstall of iCUE and then fresh install



I think on my GB motherboard the RGB likes to default to RED. This is after reflashing my Bios to F7 (z370) and a fresh install of Windows.
__________________
Open Source Project: Sync Gigabyte MB w/ Corsair iCue
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-15-2018, 07:39 PM
deliverator deliverator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 976562
deliverator Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hossam_M View Post
I purchased VENGEANCE RGB PRO 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C16 from a few days ago with M.B Gigabyte x470 Gaming 7
when mount the ram for first time RGB working Probably but when install ICU Software with RGB Fusion(Gigabyte) the two Ram light with red light only and when I try to change the color from ICU software not respond.
Please, help me to overcome this problem

Taken Actions:-
- Reinstall ICU software
- uninstall RGB Fusion and disable it from Bios
- update BIOS to F5 Version
- change place of RAM to all 4 DIMM
I have the exact same motherboard as you. I got my ram kit months ago and it worked like a charm with iCUE until I updated my bios fw today. I updated from F2 to F5 and now cannot control my vengeance pro rgb kit with iCUE. I'm currently running the dimms in my asrock x370 itx and it's working as intended.

the problem i was hoping to resolve with the bios update was getting the ram rgb to turn off in sleep mode. obviously, i can't figure it out now.

It's most likely an issue due to gigabytes firmware.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-15-2018, 08:14 PM
deliverator deliverator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 976564
deliverator Reputation: 10
Default

So, I downgraded my Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi BIOS to F2 and am running iCUE version 3.6.109 and now my RGB Ram is in perfect working order.

So maybe Corsair needs to fix their software to work with the new BIOS revision.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-16-2018, 10:10 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 534
POST ID # = 976620
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deliverator View Post
So, I downgraded my Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi BIOS to F2 and am running iCUE version 3.6.109 and now my RGB Ram is in perfect working order.

So maybe Corsair needs to fix their software to work with the new BIOS revision.
Looks more like a bios limitation, can you try the latest version of iCUE?

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-17-2018, 07:52 AM
ipc0nfig ipc0nfig is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 976753
ipc0nfig Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deliverator View Post
So, I downgraded my Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi BIOS to F2 and am running iCUE version 3.6.109 and now my RGB Ram is in perfect working order.

So maybe Corsair needs to fix their software to work with the new BIOS revision.
I had a same problem with x470 g7 board, contacted Gigabyte support and they told me that they were able to reproduce the issue and working on bios update. F4g bios worked for me to have my RGB lighting on.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-17-2018, 01:17 PM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 534
POST ID # = 976811
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipc0nfig View Post
I had a same problem with x470 g7 board, contacted Gigabyte support and they told me that they were able to reproduce the issue and working on bios update. F4g bios worked for me to have my RGB lighting on.
Thanks for the confirmation, it's as I thought.

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-18-2018, 05:37 AM
lohk22 lohk22 is offline
Registered User
lohk22's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 976899
lohk22 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deliverator View Post
So, I downgraded my Aorus X470 Gaming 7 WiFi BIOS to F2 and am running iCUE version 3.6.109 and now my RGB Ram is in perfect working order.

So maybe Corsair needs to fix their software to work with the new BIOS revision.
Also did this after much frustration and it also worked. However I also had to run the firmware update inside the iCUE then it was all working perfectly!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.