The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Bulldog and Lapdog

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2017, 03:47 PM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 909918
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default Msi bios?

Can I use the BIOS from the MSI website on my bulldog 2.0?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-06-2017, 12:58 PM
Corsair Alan's Avatar
Corsair Alan Corsair Alan is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Alan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 226
POST ID # = 910526
Corsair Alan Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Wolfboy359,

No sadly, as the bios is specific to Bulldog 2.0 as it comes with a custom fan curve designed for the cooler.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 07-07-2017, 05:18 PM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 910652
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

Do you know where I can find a changelog for the 1Q9 bios for the Bulldog 2.0?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-19-2017, 06:00 PM
Corsair Dustin's Avatar
Corsair Dustin Corsair Dustin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Dustin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4,095
POST ID # = 912495
Corsair Dustin Reputation: 41
Default

There isn't a changelog; the 1Q9 BIOS is the only BIOS for Bulldog 2.0. It's the initial release.
__________________
Corsair DIY & Gaming Systems Architect
Product Manager for Corsair Link Software


Please do not send private messages requesting tech support or trouble shooting. You can create a thread and let the solution to your issue be visible to everyone, or alternatively, work directly with tech support by contacting them here.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-21-2017, 12:25 PM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 912774
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

My bios in my bulldog 2.0 says it is the 1Q4 version. Specifically it lists it as EZA66Iz1.1Q4. It is from 11/10/2016.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-30-2017, 12:20 PM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 913979
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

So I am trying to update to the latest bios using the flash utility in the bios itself. I have downloaded the latest bios (1Q9) and put it on a flash drive. I entered the bios and started the flash utility. No matter what I do it does not see the bios on the flash drive. I have tried many different ways of putting the bios on the drive. I just copied the bios over to the flash drive and tried putting it in the root directory and copying the whole folder I downloaded over. No luck. I also tried running the program in the folder I downloaded containing the bios. It exits with some error to fast for me to read. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-01-2017, 12:27 PM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 914201
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

Quick update: I tried the MSI bios update utility in windows, I believe it was called LiveUpdate6. It said my bios was up to date and didn't need updating. I am confused by this since my bios and the "new" one on the MSI website have different names and dates.....
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-28-2018, 03:28 PM
SilverJS SilverJS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 947254
SilverJS Reputation: 10
Default

Bit of a necro here - is the fan curve the only difference? Would the MSI BIOS otherwise be functional in the Bulldog mobo, or will I brick the Bulldog if I try to flash the MSI BIOS?

(A better question may be : will the Bulldog board even let me flash the MSI BIOS?)
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-01-2018, 10:20 AM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 956981
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

And where is the updated bios for the motherboard? I see they locked the other thread. Why?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-23-2018, 02:57 PM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 965095
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

Is there a trick to updating to the new bios? I loaded it onto a usb stick and rebooted into the bios, then went to mflash mode. It sees the usb stick but not the file? It is formated in fat32. What am I doing wrong? Is there a special usb port one has to use?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-26-2018, 10:45 AM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 965618
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

Anyone got any ideas?
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-28-2018, 10:02 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 388
POST ID # = 966009
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Where did you get the bios file from? Are you sure it’s the right one? Make sure you put the file in the root directory of the drive.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-29-2018, 11:07 AM
wolfyboy359 wolfyboy359 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 966074
wolfyboy359 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
Where did you get the bios file from? Are you sure it’s the right one? Make sure you put the file in the root directory of the drive.
I managed to get it updated, thanks.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.