Corsair Community

Flying with Corsair One i160 (emptying / filling?)

msa

Hi all, there was no dedicated forum for the Corsair One i160, so this is closest one I could find.

I have just ordered a Corsair i160, with the aim of travelling with it in a pelicase taking it onboard planes (I'm an audio visual artist and require hi-spec gaming PC for live performances).

However I just realised it's liquid cooled. I have two questions:

1. Do you know if it's allowed to take the i160 onboard the plane?

2. If it is NOT allowed (due to liquid cooling), is it easy to relatively straightforward to empty the cooling system before I board the plane, and refill it after I land?

cheers,

M.

1) I think a lot of this is going to depend on where in the world you are flying from/to. I can only speak for the US/TSA side as of late, and frankly I would not want to be behind you going through security. Whether or not you have exceeded the 100 mL "liquid limit" is not going to come up. You have have a complex electronic device in a bag. I would think at best, they are going to make you power it up and demonstrate. On the other hand, I get/see such massively different treatment every single time. There is a definite element of random chance if you flying in the US.

2) Nope. You cannot drain it. It's a closed loop cooler not meant to be filled or emptied. This actually plays to your advantage for travel. I would not attempt it with an actual pump/reservoir stand alone set-up. However, as suggested above, I don't think anyone is going to be looking at the Xray and think, "oh, that might be 150 mL of liquid. Flag him." The overall presence of the an unorthodox device is going to get you noticed.