The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2013, 04:44 PM
uosdwiS lewoH uosdwiS lewoH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 636909
uosdwiS lewoH Reputation: 10
Default H100 getting noisier.

I've had a Corsair H100 for about 8 months now and I believe the pump is gradually getting noiser. I've checked every other source of noise in my case and I can categorically say that the noise is coming from the H100's pump. The noise in question is a whirring noise that, for lack of a less obvious description, sounds like a pump.


I have a few questions.

1. Seen as though it's under warranty, should I just RMA it?

2. I believe postage is paid by the e-tailer used, is the same true if I RMA direct to Corsair?

3. Will I receive an H100 as a replacement or a H100i (the question popped into my head after noticing that the e-retailer is selling the H100 for £17 more than the H100i)?

4. Will I be charged if the unit is found to be within tolerances and if so, how much?

And, lastly...

5. Would it be possible to arrange dispatch of a replacement before I post the defective unit so I won't have to do without my computer for a significant amount of time?

Last edited by uosdwiS lewoH; 02-28-2013 at 04:52 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-28-2013, 07:24 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 636955
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

if you rma thru corsair you must call them for a advanced rma,where you receive the new one first.you pay postage sending old unit,corsair pays sending the new unit
you would receive the same model as turned in,there has been instances where the user pays the difference for an integrated unit
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-01-2013, 08:19 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 637068
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

1) I would if it were my unit.

3)No, you would receive an H100 if thats what you send in.

4) No, they would just send you a new unit.

5) Yes, but you would need to call CS to arrange the advanced RMA because of CC security reasons.

Quote:
posted by Wytnyt:
there has been instances where the user pays the difference for an integrated unit
HUH?
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-03-2013, 02:57 PM
uosdwiS lewoH uosdwiS lewoH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 637631
uosdwiS lewoH Reputation: 10
Default

I think it's actually gotten louder since yesterday.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-03-2013, 06:09 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 637654
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
Quote:
posted by Wytnyt:
there has been instances where the user pays the difference for an integrated unit
HUH?
if he wants a different unit,ive seen instances on here where the customer pays the difference to a upgraded unit.
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-03-2013, 06:16 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 637655
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uosdwiS lewoH View Post
2. I believe postage is paid by the e-tailer used, is the same true if I RMA direct to Corsair?
your other questions were answered correctly except this one
you would be required to pay postage to send old unit back and corsair pays to send new unit to you.
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-03-2013, 09:24 PM
uosdwiS lewoH uosdwiS lewoH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 637675
uosdwiS lewoH Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
your other questions were answered correctly except this one
you would be required to pay postage to send old unit back and corsair pays to send new unit to you.
To be perfectly honest I don't know what made me write that... perhaps it was stories in the back of my mind about the shop in question delivering larger items and picking up the defective item at the same time. Anyway, thanks for your reply.

I've contacted the retailer with further questions regarding the RMA as it appears that they no longer stock the H100... here's hoping I get lucky and get an H100i.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-03-2013, 09:33 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 637678
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

if they still have a h100,thats what you would receive a h100 but if not then it would be a h100I
if you would prefer a I series,theres no harm in calling corsair and ask to pay the difference.corsair really takes care of its customers
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-06-2013, 04:43 PM
uosdwiS lewoH uosdwiS lewoH is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 638374
uosdwiS lewoH Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
if they still have a h100,thats what you would receive a h100 but if not then it would be a h100I
if you would prefer a I series,theres no harm in calling corsair and ask to pay the difference.corsair really takes care of its customers
I think I'm gonna have to give that a go as the retailer said I may only be entitled to a partial refund... which seems a bit of BS to me.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-06-2013, 07:03 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,108
POST ID # = 638399
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uosdwiS lewoH View Post
I think I'm gonna have to give that a go as the retailer said I may only be entitled to a partial refund... which seems a bit of BS to me.
yeah some businesses like to charge a ''restocking fee''
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
h100, noise, pump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.