The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-07-2018, 12:48 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,281
POST ID # = 953629
DevBiker Reputation: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyRappit View Post
I found a solution!
Problem is the Corsair service is interfering with the Corsair Software somehow.

Fix:
- Close iCue
- type Services in the search bar, press Enter.
- Search for CorsairService, right click it, choose Properties
- Press Stop, and in the Startup type drop-down menu, choose Manual
- Click Apply
- Reopen iCue
Uhhhh ... you do realize that the Corsair Service is what does system monitoring and actually communicates with the fans?

I'm guessing that iCue is starting it for you.

Restarting would likely do the same thing. Which is interesting.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 05-07-2018, 04:14 AM
JordanPerry JordanPerry is offline
Registered User
JordanPerry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 953637
JordanPerry Reputation: 10
Angry

Anyone find a solution yet?

I just bought 6 LL120 fans and have them along with 4 LED strips connected to the Nopro - get flickering on the fans every other boot up. If I reboot the syetm, it goes away?

No issues with LED strips at all. Connections to the nopro is fine. Definitely a software issue - running the latest CUE
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 05-07-2018, 09:24 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,281
POST ID # = 953652
DevBiker Reputation: 59
Default

Try restarting the Corsair Service. It'll be in the services applet.

Note that sometimes you'll need to shut down iCue as well. Sometimes you don't. Not sure why that is ... but if the service won't respond to shutdown, exit iCue, then restart.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 05-07-2018, 10:36 AM
JordanPerry JordanPerry is offline
Registered User
JordanPerry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 953659
JordanPerry Reputation: 10
Default

Seems it would be quicker to just reboot my system (only takes a few seconds).

I'll give it a try next time... but I'm assuming this won't fix the issue permanently? Will this be fixed in the next CUE release?

FYI - I'm running the latest firmware for the nopro too - I even did a force update, just in case.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 05-07-2018, 06:09 PM
JordanPerry JordanPerry is offline
Registered User
JordanPerry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 953695
JordanPerry Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Try restarting the Corsair Service. It'll be in the services applet.

Note that sometimes you'll need to shut down iCue as well. Sometimes you don't. Not sure why that is ... but if the service won't respond to shutdown, exit iCue, then restart.
OK... so restarting corsair service stopped the flickering, but I noticed the back and forward buttons on my Glaive no longer worked when CUE is running?! If I exited CUE, the buttons would function again *sigh*

I've uninstalled CUE 3.2.87 completely and downloaded the previous version, along with Link. I can't have an unstable RGB app affect the performance of my PC.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 05-09-2018, 10:52 AM
TheLastofElves TheLastofElves is offline
Registered User
TheLastofElves's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 953934
TheLastofElves Reputation: 10
Default

Same thing is happening with me ever since the most recent ICUE update. My fans always stay rainbow if I put it to a static color. If I add any other effect they start to flicker bad.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 05-09-2018, 07:32 PM
clonergan134 clonergan134 is offline
Registered User
clonergan134's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 953989
clonergan134 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyRappit View Post
I found a solution!
Problem is the Corsair service is interfering with the Corsair Software somehow.

Fix:
- Close iCue
- type Services in the search bar, press Enter.
- Search for CorsairService, right click it, choose Properties
- Press Stop, and in the Startup type drop-down menu, choose Manual
- Click Apply
- Reopen iCue
This worked for me. Thank you for the solution, I don't know if its permanent but I'm happy with it for now.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 05-10-2018, 10:11 AM
Duster66 Duster66 is offline
Registered User
Duster66's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 954054
Duster66 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyRappit View Post
I found a solution!
Problem is the Corsair service is interfering with the Corsair Software somehow.

Fix:
- Close iCue
- type Services in the search bar, press Enter.
- Search for CorsairService, right click it, choose Properties
- Press Stop, and in the Startup type drop-down menu, choose Manual
- Click Apply
- Reopen iCue
Thanks for this workaround. While it is not a solution (as this is still beta iCue) as I have been repairing the iCue install but it resumes flickering after every reboot/restart.

This not only happens with LL120 fans but LL140 as well. It also start about a week after I completed my setup and upgraded to the current iCue version.

My specs for fan connection: 1 x LL120 and 2 x LL140 into the RGB Fan LED Hub 1-3. The Hub is connected to CoPro LED 1. The fans PWM are connected to CoPro 1-3.

I have 3 RGB strips into 2 Lighting NoPro's that are unaffected. These NoPros are the ones that came with the LL120 x3 and LL140 x2 fan packs.

Last edited by Duster66; 05-10-2018 at 10:16 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 05-10-2018, 10:09 PM
IRISHPHX's Avatar
IRISHPHX IRISHPHX is offline
Registered User
IRISHPHX's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 954179
IRISHPHX Reputation: 10
Default iCUE

Yeah it is most definitely iCUE. Here is a video I uploaded on YouTube of it flickering after opening icue, then stops when I close it.

I close iCUE at the 17 second mark.




I really hope they fix this on the next version.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 06-13-2018, 04:50 PM
Ravenhunt Ravenhunt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 958969
Ravenhunt Reputation: 10
Default

More or less an similar problem with my fans.
6 Fans, 1x 120mm and 5x140mm.

It looks the 120mm and the last 140mm getting out of sync sporadically in my case.
And that without any software installed, fresh installation. No Corsair Software on the disc.

It seems it is a problem with the device itself it seems.
Maybe the device gets problems to sync them correctly because of the different diameter sizes?
Could be some issue with the firmware of the device itself in that case.

Front fans are fine, the first 140mm seems also fine. But when it starts to flow over to the last 140mm and the 120mm, it gets "confused" in some cases and resets these fans.

That would be my guess. Because both fans have to be synct with their LEDs a bit different?

But my case is a bit different than the one from the video above.
It is quite less annoying and only sporadically with the 6th and/or the 5th and the 6th fan.
The setting is the default color cycle, because no software is installed to adjust it, like i said.

First i thought it could also be that the timing gets out of sync if the motherboard components are busy, like the CPU etc, and has to handle some I/O stuff. So the USB Lanes would be affected too and the device+software can't handle it correctly and tries to bypass that? (So if you start the iCUE software that will be enough "load" on the connection and/or the device to get this out of sync problem?)

Last edited by Ravenhunt; 06-13-2018 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 06-17-2018, 06:38 PM
rcw3 rcw3 is offline
Registered User
rcw3's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 959538
rcw3 Reputation: 10
Default

I seem to be having a similar issue with a new build. Four LL120 and two LL140 fans — everything works great most of the time, but every other reboot or so all 6 fans come up flickering requiring a quick reboot to fix. I'll try the CorsairService trick.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.