Corsair Community

H110i GT Rattling noise/noise level

Profaniter

Hello I am very new to this forum. Forgive me if my grammar may not make sense but I will try my best.

It had been a month since I had this CPU cooler and it was nice. Usually I could hear a little noisy when playing demanding games and I thought oh that was normal. Until two weeks ago it started making Rattling noise. I don't know how to describe it. I'm hard of hearing I'm using Cochlear Implant, I know how strange the sound coming from the CPU cooler. At first I thought it may be my other 120mm fans, I bought anti vibration gasket to install two of them, it worked. But then that specific noise I thought came from those fans didn't really come from the fans, it came from the CPU cooler!

I contacted the tech support and they told me to see in the bios setting to tell it to switch the CPU cooler to be controlled by pwn? Power supply? I really don't understand. I'm not a techie person. I really need some help. I tried unscrew and leave all four screws a little tiny bit loose but no. So I was told it may come from the pump... I honestly don't know.

Any help would be appreciated

Quick lesson; think of fans in this way...

In a simplified nutshell...there's 2 types of fans; 3-pin & 4-pin fans.

The fans with 3-pin connectors typically always run at full speed. They're old-school.

The fans with 4-pin connectors...that 4th pin acts as a Pulse Width Modulator (PWM). What that simply means is that the fan speed runs in relation to the detected heat inside the computer, by the motherboard. They're the new-school fans...they run smarter, and harder only when needed.

MOST fans/devices used to cool the CPU chip are 4-pin (PWM) connected via the "CPU_FAN" header on the motherboard. Therefore the BIOS is set to run it as a PWM device (speed dependent on the temperature).

These new GT coolers (H80i/H100i/etc) now have the pump powered through the 3-pin fan connector. Very convenient.