Corsair Community

Key chatter again

NeilTG

My third K70 has developed key chatter. Yes 3rd! Thats three of these god forsaken keyboards since October. And the only reason the three have lasted this long is becasue I don't have time to continually RMA my keyboard, otherwise I would have went through half a dozen by Christmas. Never in my life have I had so much trouble with a piece of computer equipment and I have been using computers professionally for 20 years clocking up to 80 hours per week with my hands on a keyboard over that time.

So I know that RMA is my only option ...again. I also know that in 6 weeks it will be my only option again....and again, and again, right up until the warranty has expired then I will have to buy a new keyboard after having having spent £115 for a years worth of frustration and hassle. The £8 replacement I am using right now feels like crap, but it works perfectly. It has never once chattered or failed to respond to a key press.

My problem is that I don't buy the official explanation of switch failure... Why not? Well, my experience of using these k70's while they were failing suggests the problem is software, or if its hardware, its something other than switch failure. My current keyboard now has 23 keys that chatter, and three that often don't respond on the first press. Now thats a pretty epic failure rate. Also, it started on the tab key, but now the tab key works fine. The problems seemed to be spreading across the keyboard from left to right. Started with tab, 1 and e, then moved on to r, t, u, o, then enter and right shift. Interestingly the minute the top row 1 key started acting up, the number pad 1 key starting acting in exactly the same way. But I could plug it right now and find that certain keys that weren't working are, and new ones have developed problems. None of this seems to fit with switch failure.