The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2018, 05:41 PM
mrosenbu mrosenbu is offline
Registered User
mrosenbu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 955461
mrosenbu Reputation: 10
Default 2 x RGB Hubs + 1 CPro x 6 Fans = Only 4 lit

Hi all - first time poster here. Just finished building my new rig, and all is well with the exception of 2 fans not lighting up. Here's my config.

1 x Commander Pro - plugged into the USB 2.0 Header on my MoBo along with the requisite SATA Cable. I do have my h150i Pros' USB 2.0 header plugged into the Commander Pro. Thought I should highlight it, as my MoBo only has 1 x USB 2.0 header.

1 x RGB Fan LED Hub - This has 3 x LL120's plugged into it (Front Case Fans). This is plugged into Port #1 on the Commander Pro. The SATA cable is plugged in as well. All 3 fans are recognized by Corsair Link (latest version), and I have full RGB control of them. No issue here. FWIW, each fan is plugged into the CPU Block Headers coming off my h150i Pro (these fans are cooling the radiator down). The fans are not plugged into the Commander Pro. That shouldn't matter though. I don't have an issue with Fans spinning.

1 x RGB Fan LED Hub - This has 3 x HD120's plugged into it (Top 2 case fans and 1 rear case fan). This is plugged into Port #2 on the Commander Pro. The SATA cable is plugged in as well. Here's where things get interesting. The ONLY fan that I can gain RGB control is the fan that I plug into Port #1 on the 2nd RGB Fan LED Hub. I have tested each fan, and each one lights up when plugged into Port #1 on the RGB Fan LED Hub. If I plug any of the other 2 fans (doesn't matter which ones) into Ports 2 and 3, I get nothing. Only Port #1 works.


I've swapped the order above, to see if I have a bad RGB Fan LED Hub, and nope - the same exact thing happens when I plug the LL120's into the 2nd RGB Fan LED Hub and the 3 x HD120's into the first RGB Fan LED Hub.

Does anyone have any ideas? I figured that if I can get all 3 fans to light up, individually, by way of plugging each one into Port #1 on the 2nd RGB Fan LED Hub, then I've proven that each fan works, right? Also, by recreating the issue by swapping RGB Fan LED Hubs, I've proven that it's not an issue with the RGB Fan LED Hub, right?

What else could it be? This is really, really strange. Any help any one can offer would be most appreciated.

In summary

1 x Commander Pro
2 x LED Hub
3 x LL120's (into Hub 1 - Port 1 on the CPro)
3 x HD120's (into Hub 2 - Port 2 on the Cpro)

3 x LL120's work
1 x HD120 works (whichever LED header is plugged into Port 1)


Thanks all!

Matt
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:28 PM
Corsair Lettuce Corsair Lettuce is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 245
POST ID # = 955619
Corsair Lettuce Reputation: 10
Default

I would suggest trying iCUE to see if the same issue is reproduced. Before doing so, I would make sure that your commander pro's firmware is up to date.

If the issue still persists then I would suggest creating a ticket for our technical support team to further assist you.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:49 PM
mrosenbu mrosenbu is offline
Registered User
mrosenbu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 955630
mrosenbu Reputation: 10
Default

Mr. Lettuce -

I have already upgraded to iCue, swapped out ALL hardware (Cpro, LNP, Fan Hubs, etc) and the problem still exists with Ports 2 & 3 on my dedicated HD120 LED Fan Hub.

Short of replacing fans which I know are working perfectly fine (as they ALL work when plugged into Port #1), I don't know what else to do.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:16 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,294
POST ID # = 955634
Greybeard Reputation: 14
Default

Have you configured the fan in iCUE? because by just connecting the fans, iCUE will not recognize them initially, you have to manually select the type of fan and the number of fans connected before they get detected.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:30 PM
mrosenbu mrosenbu is offline
Registered User
mrosenbu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 955638
mrosenbu Reputation: 10
Default

Yes'sir - I've configured Lighting Channel #1 (LL120's) for 3 fans - they work swimmingly well.

I've configured Lighting Channel #2 (HD120's) for 3 fans, and only the fan plugged into Port #1 works.

This was the same exact experience when I was running LINK, so the software doesn't appear to be the culprit here.

In addition, I've swapped out all HW except the fans (new LNP's, new Fan Hubs, tried both with and without the Commander Pro, etc).
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:34 PM
mrosenbu mrosenbu is offline
Registered User
mrosenbu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 955639
mrosenbu Reputation: 10
Default

FWIW, I do have a single white LED lit on the fan plugged into Port #3 on Lighting Hub #2 (the HD120's).

Is this a power issue in any way? All 3 HD120's are plugged directly into fan headers on the MoBo (Chassis Fan #1 - #3). Both Fan Hubs and the CPro are plugged into SATA cables coming directly from the PSU (along with the SATA cable required by the HD150i). That's 4 devices coming off the same SATA string - is that an issue in any way? I can't see it being an issue. Also, iCUE is reporting the correct voltage for the CPro, so power draw doesn't appear to be the cause here. Just thinking out loud at this point.

The LL120's are plugged into the 3 headers that came with the HD150i Pro, which is then plugged into the CPU_FAN header.

Short of replacing the HD120's with LL120's, I'm out of things to try.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-22-2018, 12:43 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,294
POST ID # = 955704
Greybeard Reputation: 14
Default

Couldn't see any reason why it would be a power issue, but the more you explain the issue, the more it lean towards the hub in my opinion. Contact our RMA and get a replacement RGB hub, that should take care of it.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-22-2018, 04:53 PM
mrosenbu mrosenbu is offline
Registered User
mrosenbu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 955742
mrosenbu Reputation: 10
Default

Greybeard - thanks for the reply, but i don’t think it’s a RGB Hub issue, because I was able to replicate the issue by plugging all 3 HD120’s into the RGB Hub that I was using to successfully light up my 3 LL120’s (I unplugged the LL120’s first, and used iCue to set the correct Fan type).
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-22-2018, 09:19 PM
mrosenbu mrosenbu is offline
Registered User
mrosenbu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 955779
mrosenbu Reputation: 10
Default

I've gone ahead and ordered 3 LL120's, which arrive tomorrow. I'll post back once those are installed, and I see what the results are.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-23-2018, 07:05 PM
mrosenbu mrosenbu is offline
Registered User
mrosenbu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 955892
mrosenbu Reputation: 10
Default

The saga comes to an end. It wasn’t a power, rgb fan hub or cpro issue. One of the HD120’s must’ve been bad, because I replaced all 3 of them with newly acquired LL120’s and all 3 light up. All other hardware was the same.

its strange that all 3 HD120’s would light up fully in Port #1 only, on the RGB fan hub. That kinda told me that the HD120’s were good.

I guess not. Case closed (literally and figuratively).

Thanks to everyone who offered suggestions. It’s really appreciated.

Matt
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.