The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 4.92 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2015, 10:21 PM
Powerpuncher's Avatar
Powerpuncher Powerpuncher is offline
Power to the Punch
Powerpuncher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
POST ID # = 763453
Powerpuncher Reputation: 10
Default CUE Feature Suggestions

Update: Please see http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...5&postcount=48

Post any suggestions you might have for CUE here.


Hey there,

so I've been messing around in CUE quite a bit now. It's definitely not as complicated as many made me believe it was. But it leaves much to desire, still.
Here are some suggestions that'd make creating profiles a lot easier and more powerful:
  • A layer system:
    Like in an Image or Video editor. That way you can put for example a group lighting on top of a single key lighting. The current rulesets apply to each layer individually. There are global groups which apply to all layers and every layer can have its own local groups. The layers themselves can be grouped together as well. Each layer can have its own reactive typing on top of the global one, the layer reactive typing would be prioritised.

  • Being able to initiate an action/different lighting once a lighting effect has finished:
    Like when you create a macro there is an option for a second action.
  • Also make that second action available for every action type and being able to start a lighting effect once an action is finished. That way you can chain an infinite amount of actions and lighting effects together.


  • Initiating a lighting effect on other keys with the press of a specific key or group of keys:
    This applies (unlike reactive typing) only to a single key or a selected group of keys, which initiates a group or single key lighting on a selected group/key.

  • Make the software window and column sizes adjustable:
    As it is right now it is very tedious to browse through lots of groups and many actions/lighting effects with longer names.

  • Creating profiles for a different keyboard/layout:
    Maybe a drop down menu from where you can choose the keyboard (K65/K70/K95) and the layout (US/DE/AZERTY). Unused or not available keys will be ignored when displaying on the actual keyboard. A built in converter would suffice as well.

  • Making lighting effects repeat on top of themselves:
    For example a ripple: Maybe a checkbox [X] Overlap on repeat, which makes the effect play to the end regardless of how long the effect is set to last. That way, the effect overlaps making smooth and constant multicolor waves and ripples much much easier.

  • Static group gradient effect:
    A static gradient on a group that doesn't cycle through the colors, instead spans the gradient colors across the selected group of keys.

If you have more suggestions feel free to post them here.

I'm not pushing corsair to implement this, just giving some ideas.

Regards,
Pp

Last edited by Powerpuncher; 06-11-2015 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


2 members found this post helpful.
  #2  
Old 03-01-2015, 11:33 AM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
βetα Nayn Cat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,270
POST ID # = 763531
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Layer System should already be in CUE if i understand what you want correctly.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-01-2015, 12:01 PM
Powerpuncher's Avatar
Powerpuncher Powerpuncher is offline
Power to the Punch
Powerpuncher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
POST ID # = 763535
Powerpuncher Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zheren159 View Post
Layer System should already be in CUE if i understand what you want correctly.
I want a layer system like this:

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-01-2015, 01:02 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
βetα Nayn Cat
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,270
POST ID # = 763543
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Thats a lot of layers, what are you looking for an onion, onions have layers. Yes Shreak joke
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-01-2015, 01:39 PM
Powerpuncher's Avatar
Powerpuncher Powerpuncher is offline
Power to the Punch
Powerpuncher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
POST ID # = 763547
Powerpuncher Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zheren159 View Post
Thats a lot of layers, what are you looking for an onion, onions have layers. Yes Shreak joke

Need more layers! The sky's the limit.

Last edited by Powerpuncher; 03-01-2015 at 01:42 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-02-2015, 07:18 AM
Powerpuncher's Avatar
Powerpuncher Powerpuncher is offline
Power to the Punch
Powerpuncher's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
POST ID # = 763673
Powerpuncher Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks to thomja's request, I came up with another suggestion.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-02-2015, 11:43 AM
QuadraKev QuadraKev is offline
Registered User
QuadraKev's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,181
POST ID # = 763709
QuadraKev Reputation: 14
Default

Here's another suggestion: We need to be able to have an action on a keypress without disabling its normal function, like being able to press Enter to change to another mode so someone can type in-game without having other keys' lighting effects activating.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-02-2015, 04:53 PM
Riekopo Riekopo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 331
POST ID # = 763795
Riekopo Reputation: 4
Default

I would like to be able to sync my RGB keyboard and RGB mouse to have the same lighting effects.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-08-2015, 12:04 PM
Schwitz's Avatar
Schwitz Schwitz is offline
Lewis Gerschwitz
Schwitz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 723
POST ID # = 764945
Schwitz Reputation: 43
Send a message via Skype™ to Schwitz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riekopo View Post
I would like to be able to sync my RGB keyboard and RGB mouse to have the same lighting effects.
Should probably check this: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=137922
__________________

Check out my Youtube Channel and my Website for all my profiles. Join me on Discord!

Follow me on Twitter and like my Facebook Page for updates.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-08-2015, 12:22 PM
Deathshead Deathshead is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 764949
Deathshead Reputation: 10
Default

Audio EQ mod

The ability to load videos, photos, etc have have the software convert it.

Dumbed down interface to make new profiles easier.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-19-2015, 12:24 AM
Paul S's Avatar
Paul S Paul S is offline
Registered User
Paul S's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Great Britian
Posts: 290
POST ID # = 767184
Paul S Reputation: 10
Default

More FX and a VIDEO mode that shows on the keyboard whats on the screen, would make an awsome ambient effect whilst watching films in the dark.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-19-2015, 12:25 AM
Paul S's Avatar
Paul S Paul S is offline
Registered User
Paul S's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Great Britian
Posts: 290
POST ID # = 767185
Paul S Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathshead View Post
Audio EQ mod.
I second this!
A stereo VU meter plugin would be great for media player yes
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-20-2015, 03:10 PM
CalcProgrammer1 CalcProgrammer1 is offline
Registered User
CalcProgrammer1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 119
POST ID # = 767558
CalcProgrammer1 Reputation: 20
Default

An SDK that lets programmers build color support into their apps. This is much more flexible than Lua and can be extended to support many languages. Razer just released their Chroma SDK which I tried out by porting my reverse engineered protocol based K70 RGB visualizer to. It was a cake walk to accomplish, as they provide a few .h header files and a few functions to set an RGB grid to the keyboard. Same idea as what we made for the K70 RGB with the reverse engineering method but a lot less work (at the expense of being rather slow to update and Windows-only). If Corsair does release an SDK it would be nice to be able to also interact with CUE (apply new effects as layers on top of already set effects, for instance). This is a big downside to Razer's SDK, it does not integrate with their software at all. I have a feeling game developers will be adding custom lighting to games soon for Razer users, but I doubt they will do the same with only a community-made reverse engineered SDK for Corsair. Wait around too long and Corsair could lose out on their upper hand in the RGB market.
Reply With Quote


2 members found this post helpful.
  #14  
Old 03-20-2015, 10:05 PM
Riekopo Riekopo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 331
POST ID # = 767647
Riekopo Reputation: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwitz View Post
I'm currently using the "Standard Settings" lighting that was added in the last update on my K70 RGB. The M65 RGB didn't get these for some reason. Is there a way to get those lighting effects onto the M65 too?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 03-21-2015, 02:20 AM
The Last Thing The Last Thing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 14
POST ID # = 767665
The Last Thing Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reapexx View Post
Here's another suggestion: We need to be able to have an action on a keypress without disabling its normal function, like being able to press Enter to change to another mode so someone can type in-game without having other keys' lighting effects activating.
Yes, yes, yes! I would love to see this. To add to that, I think being able to assign multiple actions/lighting effects to single key would be awesome. For example, pressing Y would cause a mode switch and then would start a macro after the mode switch along with a timer that is synced with a delay in the macro or something like that.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.