The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2018, 10:30 AM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 593
POST ID # = 942288
solarity Reputation: 20
Default Got HD-120 fans working w/ Gigabyte's RGB Fusion software!

I have been bitten by the RGB bug and like lighting a little too much. I even wired up my home theater with RGB in the crown molding. It even syncs up with the remote so when you press play the lights turn off and pause turns them on, etc.

Anyway my Z370 Gaming 7 motherboard comes with 4 RGB headers on 3 channels:

Analog Channel: 2x 5pin 12v RGBW headers
Digital Channel 1: 1x 3pin 5v/12v (jumperable)
Digital Channel 2: 1x 3pin 5v/12v (jumperable)

First off, you can very easily damage your equipment if you do this wrong!!! I would highly advise most people to just buy the lighting node Pro, I am even considering it due to more specialized control that Link gives you as well as you get some digital RGB strips that have magnets to make life easier. It is also a lot more fool or "uhoh" proof as every connector is keyed.

I have all 3 HD-120 fans plugged into the HD-120 RGB Fan Hub. I have the RGB Hub powered via the attached 5v SATA power. The RGB Fan Hub has a 3pin keyed input that can be used to plug in the included controller or a Lighting Node Pro.

My motherboard has GDV Digital header (Ground, Digital Out, Voltage). It also has a jumper for the power (5v/12v). In my case I did not use the Voltage pin and left it open. I only used the Ground and the Digital Out pins.

I tore out some old case 2pin header connectors from an old case and spliced them together with solder. I then plugged one side into my motherboard's Digital Out and Ground connector, leaving the 5v/12v open. Again make sure to leave this open or you could possibly damage your LEDs. At least I didn't want to test this. 12v will kill them!

I then plugged the other end into the RGB Fan Hub's Data and Ground. The RGB Fan Hubs input has 5v,Data,Ground. The 5v is easily distinguished as it has a key hole above/below it. In other words if you see a slot in the plastic connector and a pin above/below it, then that is the power. I would avoid plugging that one in as it could damage the motherboard. The Data pin is also the center pin.

I haven't used Link, but I did watch Corsair's video on it and it showed only about 6 different modes, which I think included static and temperature, both of which Fusion also controls. Gigabyte's Fusion does have a lot more modes, though the software views the serial connected strips inside the fans as one long 36 LED strip. Fusion does have a lot more modes and allows you to control LED headers, RAM, and other compatible devices, it still doesn't know what is plugged into its headers. Link does give you more control as you can different modes for different strips/fans. Looking at Gigabyte's RGB Fusion site, it seems that the Digital headers are more geared for a digital RGB matrix, than actual strips or fans. A few of the modes seem to overlap on the fans, while they could be completely different on a matrix: https://www.gigabyte.com/mb/rgb/

I did buy the Corsair Lighting Pro, though haven't opened it up yet. Still waffling if I should use that or Fusion. I know my solution does work and I would like to add some digital LED strips, though as cheap as a reel of digital RGB strips are, I will have to add connectors and the adhesive seems to suck on a lot of these strips. The Corsair strips aren't high density, but they do have magnets, and most likely decent quality.

Last edited by solarity; 02-26-2018 at 11:10 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-28-2018, 10:00 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 593
POST ID # = 942693
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

I made a quick video that shows how Gigabyte Fusion software controls the HD-120:

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-26-2018, 01:55 PM
877cms 877cms is offline
Registered User
877cms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 946641
877cms Reputation: 10
Default

Great post, I'm amazed there's not been a comment! I actually came across your video on youtube first.

I have the same idea myself, but with an Asus motherboard which has a 5V addressable header (5V/Data/Ground).

I've got 6 x HD120 fans and the rgb fan controller, so it should be a simple matter of cutting the cable from the rgb controller and connecting data and ground cables to the asus header (leaving 5V disconnected)?



PS - I also have a Commander Pro, but like the idea of snychronizing the motherboard with the corsair case fans :)

Last edited by 877cms; 03-26-2018 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-26-2018, 02:20 PM
877cms 877cms is offline
Registered User
877cms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 946647
877cms Reputation: 10
Default

So the picture becomes a bit more clear to me after having a read here:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...92&postcount=1

Specifically this section by CharixFox
"The next bit of fun was getting into the control modules. Four screws on the hub and two on the button remote, both under the sticky pads. This contained the important information that strengthened some of my suspicions.

The hub takes +5v and Ground from the SATA connector to power the controller and the LEDs. The remote has three wires going to the hub, so either it had to be using a digital signalling to logic hardware in the hub or the logic hardware had to be in the remote. Turns out it's in the remote. One ATMEL 2mbit EEPROM and an unmarked 8-pin processor chip work with 5V and Ground and have a single line out for the digital data signal.

Each port on the hub has +5V and Ground, and then Data Out (from the hub to the fan) and Data In (From the fan to the hub so it can be passed to the next fan). The data signal from the remote is passed to Port 1 on the hub, then the Data In (I prefer to call Data Return) on the port is passed to the Data Out on the next port, and so on through all six.

Pinout for the LED connector on the fan -WIRES TOWARDS YOU, CLIP FACING UP-:
Ground Data Out Data Return +5V"


So I am guessing just the "data in" cable could be needed from the motherboard header to the rgb fan controller...

Another possible problem, each HD120 has 12 x LED's. My motherboard manual states a maximum of 60 addressable LED's per LED strip attached to each header. So would that mean a maximum of 5 x HD120 fans per header? Or doesn't this apply due to the connected rgb fan controller?

Last edited by 877cms; 03-26-2018 at 02:37 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-30-2018, 03:51 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 593
POST ID # = 947716
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 877cms View Post
Great post, I'm amazed there's not been a comment! I actually came across your video on youtube first.

I have the same idea myself, but with an Asus motherboard which has a 5V addressable header (5V/Data/Ground).

I've got 6 x HD120 fans and the rgb fan controller, so it should be a simple matter of cutting the cable from the rgb controller and connecting data and ground cables to the asus header (leaving 5V disconnected)?



PS - I also have a Commander Pro, but like the idea of snychronizing the motherboard with the corsair case fans :)
Check out iCue, if you have the Pro I would go that route IMHO.

I would have to look into using power of the Mb, my first thought it should be possible, though got it working as is, so never tried/looked at anything else.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-05-2018, 06:33 AM
thenubfeeder thenubfeeder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 948695
thenubfeeder Reputation: 10
Default

nice mod there! i recently got hd120 pack too! i wanted it work on my z370 ultra gaming (RGB fusion). possible to make any tutorial on it? i am not quite clear how you did it.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-20-2018, 02:32 PM
877cms 877cms is offline
Registered User
877cms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 951287
877cms Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenubfeeder View Post
nice mod there! i recently got hd120 pack too! i wanted it work on my z370 ultra gaming (RGB fusion). possible to make any tutorial on it? i am not quite clear how you did it.
Hi there thenubfeeder,

To confirm got this working fine on my Maximus x Formula, with just a single two wire lead. Just make sure that you're connecting it the the 5V addressable header on your motherboard for HD120 fans (not the 12V/G/R/B). Please double check it's correct as you may damage something.

Check out my attached photo and diagram, using the original motherboard wires and soldering them together makes it impossible for me to connect it the wrong way. Note the 5V wire marked with the arrow is cut off inside the heatshrink. The wire goes from the RGB fan hub to the motherboard header in case that was not obvious.

I have the Commander Pro but prefer the look of the Asus board synching all the RGB together, I might even connect the fans to the mobo and abandon the CP altogether!

Good luck!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2018-04-20 19.01.32 my custom lead diagram.jpg (1.10 MB, 350 views)
File Type: jpg 2018-04-18 16.48.10 my custom lead photo.jpg (2.77 MB, 286 views)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-26-2018, 09:03 PM
thenubfeeder thenubfeeder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 952229
thenubfeeder Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 877cms View Post
Hi there thenubfeeder,

To confirm got this working fine on my Maximus x Formula, with just a single two wire lead. Just make sure that you're connecting it the the 5V addressable header on your motherboard for HD120 fans (not the 12V/G/R/B). Please double check it's correct as you may damage something.

Check out my attached photo and diagram, using the original motherboard wires and soldering them together makes it impossible for me to connect it the wrong way. Note the 5V wire marked with the arrow is cut off inside the heatshrink. The wire goes from the RGB fan hub to the motherboard header in case that was not obvious.

I have the Commander Pro but prefer the look of the Asus board synching all the RGB together, I might even connect the fans to the mobo and abandon the CP altogether!

Good luck!

Thanks for your kind reply and really appreciate the photo that attached! it really helps. Was trying to find 2 pin cable for this but no luck in my local shop, any idea where to get the cable online?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-26-2018, 09:44 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 4,711
POST ID # = 952234
DevBiker Reputation: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenubfeeder View Post
Thanks for your kind reply and really appreciate the photo that attached! it really helps. Was trying to find 2 pin cable for this but no luck in my local shop, any idea where to get the cable online?
You'll have to make it. Look in my signature for a post on the parts required and how to do it.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #10  
Old 04-27-2018, 12:19 PM
877cms 877cms is offline
Registered User
877cms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 952313
877cms Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
You'll have to make it. Look in my signature for a post on the parts required and how to do it.
Great info there on all the Molex types, if someone wants the quick and dirty method just use the original leads and cut and solder together
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-16-2018, 10:53 AM
Abs17 Abs17 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 954898
Abs17 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,
Thank you very much for sharing this method as I've looked pretty much everywhere for it.
I am currently using some corsair ll120 fans with the controller that comes with the 570x case. I have an Asus z370 motherboard that has a 12v 4pin RGB header.
Do you think it can work despite of it being 12v or does it only work with a 5v 4-pin RGB header?
Also, the rgb pin on my motherboard supports RGB input and not RGBW, as I have no idea what type of LEDs the ll120 uses would it make a difference?.
And lastly has anyone successfully paired their corsair fans with Aura sync?
Thanks again
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-16-2018, 11:22 AM
877cms 877cms is offline
Registered User
877cms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 954901
877cms Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abs17 View Post
Hi,
Thank you very much for sharing this method as I've looked pretty much everywhere for it.
I am currently using some corsair ll120 fans with the controller that comes with the 570x case. I have an Asus z370 motherboard that has a 12v 4pin RGB header.
Do you think it can work despite of it being 12v or does it only work with a 5v 4-pin RGB header?
Also, the rgb pin on my motherboard supports RGB input and not RGBW, as I have no idea what type of LEDs the ll120 uses would it make a difference?.
And lastly has anyone successfully paired their corsair fans with Aura sync?
Thanks again
Hi,

Have a look at the links in Zottys post above, I'm not sure what type of LED's are in the LL fans. Also there are two lots of LED's so it needs more thinking about. I did notice this though which might be a problem:

"15. LL RGB Fan's Have no Hardware Playback meaning they will not display Custom Profiles when iCue/LINK isn't running"

The HD120 fans I have are working fine with Aura sync.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-16-2018, 12:38 PM
Abs17 Abs17 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 954905
Abs17 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 877cms View Post
Hi,

Have a look at the links in Zottys post above, I'm not sure what type of LED's are in the LL fans. Also there are two lots of LED's so it needs more thinking about. I did notice this though which might be a problem:

"15. LL RGB Fan's Have no Hardware Playback meaning they will not display Custom Profiles when iCue/LINK isn't running"

The HD120 fans I have are working fine with Aura sync.
aw that's kinda disappointing.
Though the guy in the video:
does say that it should work with LL120 fans. Is this 100% confirmed not to work with software other than iCue/LINK?
Is there any other alternative to the node pro / commander pro that can control the rgb lighting via software? I heard an Arduino board might do the trick but don't know much about it.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-16-2018, 02:55 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 593
POST ID # = 954925
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abs17 View Post
aw that's kinda disappointing.
Though the guy in the video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CxO-Jl6dNSU
does say that it should work with LL120 fans. Is this 100% confirmed not to work with software other than iCue/LINK?
Is there any other alternative to the node pro / commander pro that can control the rgb lighting via software? I heard an Arduino board might do the trick but don't know much about it.
Hey you found my other video I posted! Some people wanted more details on the youtube channel, so I made my first edited video. I do have some more details in the comments. I am going to add some more videos and work on improving my editing quality. I am going to put together a RGB 101 for PCs as I keep repeating myself, so it might be easier to post a video. Please subscribe if you want to get updated content, it also makes me want to put more videos and improve my content =D

To sum it up
  1. LED is just a LED. It uses voltage or PWM to vary the brightness of the LED.
  2. RGB is a cluster three LEDs that vary it's color and brightness through PWM alone as most RGB LEDs share the same common anode (+) and each diode have their own anode (-). This is why there are "4 pins". Give it 100% across the board and you get the color white, vary the PWM signal to get different brightness and colors.
  3. (Analog) RGB Strip is a tape with multiple 5050 (5mmx5mm) RGB LED mounted to it. It has 4 pins typically 12v, Red, Green, and Blue. "4/5 pin LED header on motherboard the 5th is the optional white on Gigabyte motherboards.
  4. "Digital/Addressable" RGB is your run of the mill RGB LED that has a chip/integrated circuit embedded with it. These LEDs tend to have Data In, Data Out, Voltage, & Ground. Most tend to run at 5v and sending 12v will fry the chip, rendering it useless.

Digital Motherboard headers will be 3 pin as it doesn't need the data to be returned. The LL-120 have 4 pins as the 4th pin is the data out/transmit, so it can hand off the data to the next fan on the RGB Hub.

So Analog RGB Strip is like a Roosevelt's (MB) leading the charge of his soldiers (LEDs) Battle of San Juan Hill. They all follow suit.

A Digital RGB is like the News (MB) informing someone wife's (IC) about something, and she telling her husband (RGB LED) what to do, while gossiping to her neighbor (2nd IC), who tells her husband (2nd RGB LED) to do something and so on. The husbands might react different so they can turn green, blue, or red or any color of the spectrum.

I love informing people of this stuff, though I want to also inform people that iCue is the best damn software out there. Everything else feels very limited. I did this and bought a LNP the day they released iCue.
__________________
Open Source Project: Sync Gigabyte MB w/ Corsair iCue
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-16-2018, 03:13 PM
solarity solarity is offline
iCue βeta Team
solarity's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 593
POST ID # = 954929
solarity Reputation: 20
Default

@ABS17 - Based off what you are saying, I think your motherboard is not equipped with a digital header. I know Gigabyte has a jumper that allows you to set the voltage of the digital header of 5v or 12v. I think Asus only has 5v digital headers as that is the most common type. It would be easiest if you could post your motherboard type as there are over a half dozen Z370 Asus boards out there. @877cms put a good drawing together of the digital header. I have a picture in one of my video comments, though youtube is blocked here, so can post it now.
__________________
Open Source Project: Sync Gigabyte MB w/ Corsair iCue
RGB 101 Video: General overview on RGB
Zotty's Corsair Guide: RGB FAQ and Sample Diagrams


Disclaimer: I am not an employee of Corsair all my opinions are my own.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.