The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2019, 07:58 AM
feisty feisty is offline
Registered User
feisty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 988493
feisty Reputation: 10
Default iCue won't Install - Crash and Freeze

Hello to everyone on the Corsair forums!

I've been using Corsair products for quite a few years now and usually without any issue.

I have got one issue that's got me stumped though. I dont want to persist with too much testing for fear of bricking my Windows install.

Basically I upgraded to a Core i9 9900K with an Asrock Phantom Gaming 9 mobo. Naturally, I reinstalled Windows freshly but I cant get iCUE installed on this new system.

It simply crashes at 59% while installing the driver software and the system freezes solid and needs a full reset to get going again.
I had all this working on my previous X99 build so I dont suspect a bad peripheral.

The only other thing that has changed is that I'm also using Windows 10 1809 where it was 1803 before.

Corsair devices:
K70 RGB Lux
Sabre RGB
Void Pro RGB
H110i GT AIO

System:
i9 9900K
Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming 9
32GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400
EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
Seasonic Focus Gold 1000W
1TB Samsung 860 Evo M2
2x 1TB Samsung 850 Evo SATA
3x Seagate 2TB 7200RPM SATA

If anyone has any idea how I can get round this it'd be much apreciated. I've tried contacting Corsair support but I havent heard anything back.

Thanks
F
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20181214_214523.jpg (90.5 KB, 25 views)

Last edited by feisty; 01-11-2019 at 05:35 PM. Reason: Mobo chipset missing
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2019, 08:08 PM
cars10 cars10 is offline
Registered User
cars10's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 988901
cars10 Reputation: 10
Default

that is some slowass ram for a 9900k
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2019, 06:49 PM
feisty feisty is offline
Registered User
feisty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 989180
feisty Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, the ram is from my previous X99 build. High prices have put me off upgrading the RAM for a while but i'm looking at 32GB of Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200. Not sure how much of a difference it'll be though... Anyhow I'm betting it still doesnt allow me to install iCUE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2019, 05:38 PM
feisty feisty is offline
Registered User
feisty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 989344
feisty Reputation: 10
Default

Anyone using Windows 10 and 1809 withj iCUE?
I've asked my motherboard vendor to try and verify iCUE compatibilty with my board. First thing they suggested was removing other sync tools which had no effect. I tried installing iCUE before any other sync tools anyhow.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:57 PM
Heshokima Heshokima is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 989538
Heshokima Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem...

i9 9900k
ASRock z390 Taichi Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2019, 08:05 PM
feisty feisty is offline
Registered User
feisty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 989559
feisty Reputation: 10
Default

I managed to find the fix after some persistence by putting a in a spare SSD for some fresh install testing.

Reinstalled fresh Win10 1809 - Same issue
Reinstalled fresh Win10 1803 - Same issue

So I noticed each time the crash occured the HDD light was stuck on.. just assumed it was beacuse of a crash during a file write. Then I noticed that my PC would sometimes crash when using the device manager to detect new devices. Not always, but spam the button enough and it would.

So I then disconnected all devices apart from the M2 SSD and the essential Corsair peripherals i needed. I was then able to install iCUE and the device manager no longer crashed. So i eventually traced the issue to a Pioneer BD-RW connected to the extra ASMedia SATA ports on the board. Moved this to an Intel SATA port and all was good.
I believe Asrock are one of the few board providers providing extra SATA ports on their Z390 platform hence the issue.
I now have the latest build of iCUE working just fine on my setup and I'll share my findings with Asrock.

Heshokima,
Looking at your board, its very similar to my board in specs. Might be worth seeing if you're using the ASMedia SATA ports for anything other than an HDD. (Check your manual if you dont know which ports are which)
Beware that if your boot drive is connected via the ASMedia controller you might need to tweak things in your Windows install if you cant boot.

Cheers, F

Last edited by feisty; 01-12-2019 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2019, 05:55 AM
Heshokima Heshokima is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 989604
Heshokima Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you very much, feisty,
I had to remove the devices (LiteOn Bluray, Seagate HDD) from the ASMedia ports and it worked. The problems are definitely related to the ASMedia controllers.
Unbelievable...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:02 AM
feisty feisty is offline
Registered User
feisty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 989616
feisty Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Heshokima,

Yeah its crazy, the extra SATA ports are the reason I bought the board over the usual ASUS/MSI... etc...

Anyhow glad you have a result. I'm using two Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM drives running from those ports without issue. It was the BD-RW drive causing the issue for some reason.

I did have a support case open with Asrock and I have forwarded my conclusions about the ASMedia controller with a request that they add it to their knowledgebase. With any luck they'll be quicker to help others with the same issue.

Thanks,
F
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2019, 09:30 PM
BullGator BullGator is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 989918
BullGator Reputation: 10
Default

Hi All,

I have an Asrock Extreme7+ running Windows 10 1809, Intel i7 6700K processor, with the Corsair H115i cooler. I was experiencing the exact same problem with iCue locking up during the installation process at the Installing Drivers step.

Following your recommendation, I disconnected my DVD drive from the ASMedia SATA Ports, and BAM! I was able to install iCue with no more lockups.

Thank you so much for posting this information, it sure helped me out!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2019, 07:56 AM
Heshokima Heshokima is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 989967
Heshokima Reputation: 10
Default

I noticed that the ASMedia 1061 was listed in the device manager as "Standard SATA-AHCI Controller"* under the tab "IDE ATA/ATAPI Controller"*. After installing the driver for the ASMedia, I find the controller correctly under "Storage Controller"* and can install iCue without freezing the PC during installation.

I took the driver for asm106x 3.2.3. Unfortunately I did not find any official sources for the driver and downloaded it from station-drivers.com.

* (I use a German Windows and am not 100% sure about the terms.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-15-2019, 11:29 AM
feisty feisty is offline
Registered User
feisty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 989993
feisty Reputation: 10
Default

BullGator, Heshokima,

Thanks for taking the time to share your findings. This thread appears on Google and should provide some good guidance for anyone else having the same issues.

I was also using the "Standard SATA AHCI Controller" driver for the storage controllers and I always thought the standard Microsoft AHCI driver was the most compatible with Windows and SSD Trim functions. Anyhow, this fix doesn't require opening the case which is even better.

Thanks again,

F
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.