The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2018, 12:47 AM
Jakehepp Jakehepp is offline
Registered User
Jakehepp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958138
Jakehepp Reputation: 10
Default Issue Connecting SP120 Fans to LNP

Hey Everyone,

So i recently purchased a new system, and i got it built in a 460X case, and added the RGB LED Lighting strips + Light Node Pro to the build (i paid a shop to assemble for me so should all be configured correctly).

What i am looking to do is disconnect the Fans from the case controls, and link it to the LNP so i can control the fans using the iCUE software as well.

Currently i only have the 3 Pin 2 wire female to female cable, however when i plug this from the 6 port LED hub into the LNP, the RGB on the fans flicker on and off quickly - like a random strobe light (they should be constant).
The cable that goes from the case controller into the 6 port LED hub has 3 wires, however the extension cable i tried only has 2 wires (photo attached of the cable i have).

I am hoping a 3 wire cable with the same pin/connector will resovle my issue, however i have no idea where i can buy one of these, or if it will in fact solve the problem.

just to clarify, i am looking for the blue cable in the attached wiring diagram i will post below.

Hoping there is an expert here that has run into the same problem and can provide advice.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3pin2wire.jpg (435.5 KB, 68 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-08-2018, 12:49 AM
Jakehepp Jakehepp is offline
Registered User
Jakehepp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958139
Jakehepp Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakehepp View Post
Hey Everyone,

So i recently purchased a new system, and i got it built in a 460X case, and added the RGB LED Lighting strips + Light Node Pro to the build (i paid a shop to assemble for me so should all be configured correctly).

What i am looking to do is disconnect the Fans from the case controls, and link it to the LNP so i can control the fans using the iCUE software as well.

Currently i only have the 3 Pin 2 wire female to female cable, however when i plug this from the 6 port LED hub into the LNP, the RGB on the fans flicker on and off quickly - like a random strobe light (they should be constant).
The cable that goes from the case controller into the 6 port LED hub has 3 wires, however the extension cable i tried only has 2 wires (photo attached of the cable i have).

I am hoping a 3 wire cable with the same pin/connector will resovle my issue, however i have no idea where i can buy one of these, or if it will in fact solve the problem.

just to clarify, i am looking for the blue cable in the attached wiring diagram i will post below.

Hoping there is an expert here that has run into the same problem and can provide advice.
wiring diagram attached
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wiring diargram.JPG (53.0 KB, 63 views)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-08-2018, 01:07 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,172
POST ID # = 958140
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

The connector from the LNP to the Fan Hub is supposed to only have 2 cables. So that is correct. Having one with 3 wires will not solve the problem.

Have you configured the fans in Link or iCue yet? I would do that before connecting the fan hub.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-08-2018, 01:19 AM
Jakehepp Jakehepp is offline
Registered User
Jakehepp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958144
Jakehepp Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah mate already have configured correctly in the software.

I might take a video of the setup tonight when i get home and how the lights flicker then post a video here. Might help to shed some light on what is going on and where i may have gone wrong.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-08-2018, 01:35 AM
Jakehepp Jakehepp is offline
Registered User
Jakehepp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958147
Jakehepp Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The connector from the LNP to the Fan Hub is supposed to only have 2 cables. So that is correct. Having one with 3 wires will not solve the problem.

Have you configured the fans in Link or iCue yet? I would do that before connecting the fan hub.
This might be a longshot, but due to the fact the Cable has 3 ports/pins and only 2 wires, it might be that i plugged the cable in the wrong way???

maybe flipping the cable the other way will have the desired effect? I will try this before going crazy and making videos tonight.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-08-2018, 07:34 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,172
POST ID # = 958163
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakehepp View Post
This might be a longshot, but due to the fact the Cable has 3 ports/pins and only 2 wires, it might be that i plugged the cable in the wrong way???

maybe flipping the cable the other way will have the desired effect? I will try this before going crazy and making videos tonight.
The cable will only go one way. It's not the cable.

Can you post a screen cap of your Link configuration screen?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-08-2018, 09:07 AM
Jakehepp Jakehepp is offline
Registered User
Jakehepp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958169
Jakehepp Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The cable will only go one way. It's not the cable.

Can you post a screen cap of your Link configuration screen?
yep after getting home for a look it looks like only goes one way....fml.

heres a vid of what i am getting, i have done further reading and it looks to be an issue with the LNP or the firmware.


Last edited by Jakehepp; 06-08-2018 at 09:08 AM. Reason: incorrect link posted
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-08-2018, 09:11 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,172
POST ID # = 958170
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

So ... lets see if we can narrow it down to either the hardware or the software.

Can you uninstall iCue and install Link and do the same thing? Do you get the same results?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 06-08-2018, 09:34 AM
Jakehepp Jakehepp is offline
Registered User
Jakehepp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958174
Jakehepp Reputation: 10
Default

same deal, screenshot attached.

check out this thread, looks to have been responded to by corsair staff and then closed, but not sure if anyone reached a resolution.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=167374
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (100.4 KB, 60 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 06-08-2018, 09:46 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,172
POST ID # = 958175
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Yeah, that thread is around a year old; it indicates that it's resolved with firmware. Which is the next thing to do ... force an update of the firmware, even if it says that it's the most recent version.

If Link is doing the same thing, then its definitely a hardware issue.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 06-08-2018, 10:29 AM
Jakehepp Jakehepp is offline
Registered User
Jakehepp's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 958184
Jakehepp Reputation: 10
Default

yeah i might have to take it back to where i got the PC built and get them to upgrade the fans to the LL120, hopefully they work as advertised.

Thanks for all your assistance troubleshooting mate. Cheers!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 06-08-2018, 10:43 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,172
POST ID # = 958185
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakehepp View Post
yeah i might have to take it back to where i got the PC built and get them to upgrade the fans to the LL120, hopefully they work as advertised.

Thanks for all your assistance troubleshooting mate. Cheers!
Personally, I prefer the LL or HD fans over the SP fans. Better effects and both are PWM control rather than DC control. Before you do that, though, try to force the firmware to update ... don't want you needing to get new fans when these should work (unless you really want to ... in which case, I don't want to stop you!)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fans rgb, led blinking, link 4, lnp, rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.