The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2018, 12:13 PM
IronMike1982 IronMike1982 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 985545
IronMike1982 Reputation: 10
Default Mixing Vengeance LPX Black with Vengeance Blue LED

I have a I7 8700 on a GIGABYTE Z370P-D3 with Corsair Vengeance Blue LED 16GB DDR4 3000MHz CL15 Dual Channel Kit.
Due to the processor cooler size, i cannot stick on the mainboard another kit of memory.
My question is the following: can I mix the Corsair Vengeance Blue LED with Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16GB DDR4 3000MHz CL15?
The specifications of the timing are the same for both modules: 15-17-17-35.

Thank you for the answer!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-16-2018, 12:56 AM
Syberon Syberon is offline
Registered User
Syberon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Russia
Posts: 98
POST ID # = 985650
Syberon Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronMike1982 View Post
I have a I7 8700 on a GIGABYTE Z370P-D3 with Corsair Vengeance Blue LED 16GB DDR4 3000MHz CL15 Dual Channel Kit.
Due to the processor cooler size, i cannot stick on the mainboard another kit of memory.
My question is the following: can I mix the Corsair Vengeance Blue LED with Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 16GB DDR4 3000MHz CL15?
The specifications of the timing are the same for both modules: 15-17-17-35.

Thank you for the answer!
This is a matter of luck. Even if you have the same kits you can have the troubles. Earlyer i has a Vengeance LPX 3000 (15-17-17-35) 2 x 8Gb ver 5.20 and wanted to extend by getting of another same kit. I got another kit with vesion 3.20 (or some, i forgot) and all worked stable, but after some time kit 3.20 are broken and i changed it in store. Replacement kit has version 5.30 and it worked stable with kit version 5.20 only on default frequencies 2133Mhz. After i select XMP profile or manually set parameters for 3000Mhz system wont boot up.
After couple of months of trying to get worked it together i sold both this kits and buy one kit of 4 modules and now it works good.

Last edited by Syberon; 12-16-2018 at 12:59 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-21-2018, 07:51 AM
Corsair Mordred Corsair Mordred is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 986433
Corsair Mordred Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Ironmike,

So long as you keep the modules from a single kit within the same channel you *should* be ok.
However as Syberon mentioned; mixing and matching kits/modules can be pot luck as far as compatibility is concerned.

Regards,
Mordred
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.