Corsair Community

I7-7700K w. H100i V2 Average Temperatures

j0n

Hello all!

First off, this is not a "is something broke" post as there is great information here on the forum to resolve most issues.

My post is more for curiosity, I'm new to water cooling and AIO setups, as I've used air cooling for prior builds up until recently.

I know the I7-7700k runs hot by default, as Intel states operating temperature up to 80*C is "safe" (however, hot!). I also understand that coolant temperature can essentially only be as "cool" as ambient temperature in the room and/or case (depending on how you have your radiator configured). My average idling temperature is about 31-34*C.

For example, when playing games like Doom, I see my CPU package temperature in Corsair Link hit around 55*C to 60*C on maximum settings, with the H100i v2 registering around 38*C in a room that's about 27*C. Next, playing Rise of the Tomb Raider, I see roughly 45*C, H100i v2 about 38*C (of course, extended play heat soaks the fluid). Both of which are running in the default "Balanced" profile.

Attached is screenshots while playing ROTTR, for roughly 30 minutes by the time I took the screenshot, playing it for about an hour only increases the temperature slightly on the H100i v2 (I think I saw a peak of 39*C). My apologies as I don't have any screenshots of Doom to compare with at this time.

That all said, here lies my question as I'm more curious of efficiency. When should one be worried and when not to be worried temperature wise on the fluid side of things.

Also attached is photos of my rig with how things are configured in the case, does anyone have any recommendations of what "should" or should not be done?

Thanks in advance, looking forward to reading feedback!

front.thumb.JPG.b50de70bb8fe61b3ccc68107f877670c.JPG

rear.thumb.JPG.9218c83d24059a2f48ed3d9ddffad7ff.JPG

inside01.thumb.JPG.8240d76981b7677cd266681fc6c1d086.JPG

ROTTR-LINK.thumb.png.70cb08456299446a826b2f68592e0711.png