The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2019, 08:38 PM
michicago44 michicago44 is offline
Registered User
michicago44's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 993774
michicago44 Reputation: 10
Default Corsair H100i RGB Platinum Installation Help H

Hey all,

First time builder here. I'm currently trying to wire the H100i RGB Platinum.

I've connected the power cable to a SATA plug and the other two wires coming from the block to the two fans. However, the installation guide is also telling me to attach the "pump tach cable" to the CPU_FAN header on my motherboard, saying it's 3 pins. First of all, there are no other wires coming out of the block, so I don't know what this tach cable is. Second of all, my CPU_FAN header is 4 pins.

I've tried googling and pretty much can't find anything about anything. I have no idea what this "tach cable" is. The guide is pretty vague on what these wires are or even look like. Anyone run into these issues during installation? My motherboard is an MSI MPG Z390 Gaming Edge AC.

Thanks

Last edited by michicago44; 02-11-2019 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:10 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,398
POST ID # = 993780
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

The tach cable looks like a standard 3-pin fan header but only has a single wire going to it; it should be coming out of the block but you may have missed it. It will fit just fine on a 4-pin fan header too.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-12-2019, 02:52 AM
michicago44 michicago44 is offline
Registered User
michicago44's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 993802
michicago44 Reputation: 10
Default

There's honestly nothing else coming out of the block - I can't even see it in images on the internet/installation vids. The cooler seems to be working fine without it though (lights up, radiator is warm, can feel coolant travelling through tubes, etc). What is the purpose of the tach cable?

Edit: according to a review on Amazon:

"And they upgraded the interface so the H100i requires no special BIOS setup (as the H100i V2 did for the CPU_FAN header) and is fully integrated into their new software iCUE."

Might have just gotten phased out and they didn't update the manual?

Last edited by michicago44; 02-12-2019 at 02:59 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:52 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,398
POST ID # = 993829
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

No, that review comment is referencing that you had to set the fan header to 100% with the H100i V2 series. You don't need to do that with the Pro or Platinum coolers.

The purpose of the tach cable is to provide a fan speed indicator to the BIOS to prevent a CPU_FAN warning at boot. That's it. But it's quite odd that it's not there; I doubt that it's been deliberately removed.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-12-2019, 10:45 AM
michicago44 michicago44 is offline
Registered User
michicago44's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 993854
michicago44 Reputation: 10
Default

Ah, you're right.

But yeah, reading around, it sounds like the tach cable is purely to prevent some sort of freakout in some mobos. I've started up my computer multiple times since my build was finished and never had any errors or anything. I'll give the cables one more look when I get home but I think I might have gotten lucky and don't need it regardless.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cooler, h100i, tach

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.