The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 02-22-2018, 06:47 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,331
POST ID # = 941759
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

@JPMartinez- & Kelevra

Follow the instructions in the post below and then send the files to James;
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...2&postcount=14
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 02-22-2018, 09:08 AM
manky manky is offline
Registered User
manky's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 941777
manky Reputation: 10
Default

This morning before updating everything was fine.

After update neither my keyboard or mouse works.

Even when I unplug the Corsair keyboard and hard restart with another keyboard, the new keyboard doesn't work. Neither does the mouse.

**Update: restored to a restore point last week (not the restore point created before installing the latest CUE). Keyboard works fine but CUE did not see the KB. Uninstalled 2.23.50. Reinstalled a previous version that was still in my d/l folder (2.15.83), imported my preferred profile, and now all is well.)

FWIW...

Last edited by manky; 02-22-2018 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 02-23-2018, 12:25 AM
Kelevra Kelevra is offline
Registered User
Kelevra's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 941863
Kelevra Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
@JPMartinez- & Kelevra

Follow the instructions in the post below and then send the files to James;
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...2&postcount=14
Sent the folders to Corsair James. Also, Deleting the Appdata/local/corsair and roaming/corsair does NOT solve this issue. CUE works fine with Void Pro dongle removed. crashes when dongle is in or reinserted.
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 02-23-2018, 09:19 AM
Skuko Skuko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 941901
Skuko Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
@Skuko

Does the keyboard work fine on another computer?
Try allowing Windows to install a driver via Windows update in Device Manager.
Works fine on my old crap comp with Windows 7. When I try to update the drivers it just says: "Couldn't install". Pretty weird since I have the latest version of CUE and there aren't any other drivers to install from Corsair's webpage...
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 02-23-2018, 11:33 PM
Jmatias14 Jmatias14 is offline
Registered User
Jmatias14's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 941997
Jmatias14 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelevra View Post
instead of editing more, I will quote. No sound from my corsair void on Any port. Drivers fail to install.
I seem to be having a similar problem to Kelevra. I updated CUE today and my headset is no longer working. Device manager says its a driver Issue and whenever i have the Void Pro Dongle plugged in, Cue crashes. I tried repairing Cue and updating the driver to no avail. When I try to update the driver via Device Manager it says "Windows found drivers for your device but encountered an error while attempting to install them. One of the installers for this device cannot perform the installation at this time. If you know the manufacturer of your device, you can visit their website and check the support section for drivers."

Cue also has an error: "Corsair Utility Engine macro execution is not working properly. Please repair installation of Corsair Utility Engine." Which I have tried already (spoiler: it didn't fix it)

Any help or possible workarounds would be greatly appreciated

Last edited by Technobeard; 02-24-2018 at 04:36 PM. Reason: fixed bbcode
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 02-24-2018, 07:09 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,331
POST ID # = 942038
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Skuko,

Does the keyboard work fine when CUE is uninstalled?
Tried uninstalling the keyboard from Device Manager and allowing Windows to reinstall it?

Jmathias14,

Open Device Manager and make sure Corsair Bus is under System Devices and Corsair composite virtual input device is under HID.

Tried uninstalling the headset via Device Manager then replugging the dongle?
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 02-24-2018, 11:49 AM
Skuko Skuko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 942059
Skuko Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Skuko,

Does the keyboard work fine when CUE is uninstalled?
No. Only lights up with default color when I soft-reset it (no matter if CUE is installed or not).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Tried uninstalling the keyboard from Device Manager and allowing Windows to reinstall it?
Yeah, doesn't work though. For some reason Windows plays the "device connected"-sound when I plug it in, but it won't update any driver (as it should do automatically).
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 02-24-2018, 12:50 PM
Jmatias14 Jmatias14 is offline
Registered User
Jmatias14's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 942069
Jmatias14 Reputation: 10
Default

Toasted,

Upon checking my Device Manager there was nothing under HID
for corsair. There was also nothing under System Devices although there is an "unknown device" with a driver error (which i suspect to be related). "Corsair VOID Wireless Gaming Dongle" is showing up under "Other Devices" still with a driver error even after uninstalling and re-plugging the dongle.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 02-24-2018, 08:55 PM
Soundchazer Soundchazer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 942108
Soundchazer Reputation: 10
Default

I was also having issues with this version of CUE. I have the Strafe Keyboard, the M65 Pro Mouse and ST100 RGB headphone stand and I was at some point the drivers would crash rendering all three of them unusable.

The odd thing is resetting the computer would not solve the issue, as I would not be able to use the keyboard and mouse to log in anymore and plugging in another keyboard or mouse would not work at that point. The only way around it was to use a repair Windows image to go to the last working version of it.

I have since uninstalled it, deleted the Corsair folder and reinstalled version 2.21.67. I will keep working with it a few days longer to see if the issues persist in some capacity or not.

***EDIT***

The solution didn't work. I tried to update a driver that impacted a USB and the USBs froze again. After doing a little more digging, it is now confirmed that the latest Windows update (KB4074588), apparently didn't install some drivers while removing others, rendering USBs useless.

You can read more about it with some partial solutions from Microsoft here:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ry-13-2018-upd

Last edited by Soundchazer; 02-24-2018 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 02-25-2018, 04:07 AM
Jmatias14 Jmatias14 is offline
Registered User
Jmatias14's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 942133
Jmatias14 Reputation: 10
Default

Soundchazer,

Following the instructions on the microsoft support link fixed my problem. Hopefully that'll help anyone else with this issue.

TLDR: Blame microsoft's Feb 13 update
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 02-25-2018, 06:11 AM
Soundchazer Soundchazer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 942153
Soundchazer Reputation: 10
Default

Jmatias14,

It did for me as well. I used their first option, which essentially rolls back and uninstalls the Feb 13 update.

Be mindful that if you go and check the update section in windows 10 after you roll back, it will be already saying it will be installing the Feb 13 update again, so you may want to request it to delay it as much as possible to allow microsoft to come up with a fix, otherwise it will be patching again with windows update KB4074588 from Feb 13.
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 02-25-2018, 12:32 PM
MSDOS1.25 MSDOS1.25 is offline
Registered User
MSDOS1.25's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 942176
MSDOS1.25 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by momorious View Post
Just click on one button and draw the mouse the whole keyboard and then all keys are selected.
So you can make several static color colums.
I believe you are incorrect
I have two computers at my desk.
Both computers have STRAFE Red Keyboards with MX Silent Keys
Both computers have M65 Pro RGB Mice
Both computers have H80i V2 AIO Coolers


Computer 1
Running CUE 2.22.83
Running Corsair Link 4.9.4.28
Power Corsair AX1200
Mouse and Keyboard static color working correctly

Computer 2
Running CUE 2.23.40
Running Corsair Link 4.9.5.25
Power Corsair RM1000i
Recently added Commander pro and LL140 RGB Fan (real cool)
Mouse static color working correctly
Keyboard static color not functional after Windows 10 completes booting. Lights do go on during booting only to go dark when loading drivers is complete.
All other lighting effects operate normally

Last edited by MSDOS1.25; 02-25-2018 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 02-25-2018, 02:36 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5,943
POST ID # = 942183
c-attack Reputation: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSDOS1.25 View Post
I believe you are incorrect
I have two computers at my desk.
Both computers have STRAFE Red Keyboards with MX Silent Keys
>>>>>>
You're quoting a post that was a direct response to a video demonstrating an incorrect way to apply any color effect to the keyboard. I am not sure how this connects to your situation. If you have a red LED Strafe, then none of that is relevant to you since it's a one color keyboard.

There are other ways to screw things up. One of the more common errors is creating a keyboard profile in either Basic or Advanced Mode, then trying to using it in the opposite mode. That often causes the LEDs not to illuminate, once CUE loads and takes control apply that profile. You are going to need to provide more details and/or screen shots for people to offer specific help.
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 02-26-2018, 04:05 PM
Andred Andred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 942329
Andred Reputation: 10
Default

CUE v.2.23.40 keeps crashing back to an older version
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 02-26-2018, 06:43 PM
eckscapitaldee eckscapitaldee is offline
Registered User
eckscapitaldee's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 942359
eckscapitaldee Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundchazer View Post
I was also having issues with this version of CUE. I have the Strafe Keyboard, the M65 Pro Mouse and ST100 RGB headphone stand and I was at some point the drivers would crash rendering all three of them unusable.

The odd thing is resetting the computer would not solve the issue, as I would not be able to use the keyboard and mouse to log in anymore and plugging in another keyboard or mouse would not work at that point. The only way around it was to use a repair Windows image to go to the last working version of it.

I have since uninstalled it, deleted the Corsair folder and reinstalled version 2.21.67. I will keep working with it a few days longer to see if the issues persist in some capacity or not.

***EDIT***

The solution didn't work. I tried to update a driver that impacted a USB and the USBs froze again. After doing a little more digging, it is now confirmed that the latest Windows update (KB4074588), apparently didn't install some drivers while removing others, rendering USBs useless.

You can read more about it with some partial solutions from Microsoft here:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ry-13-2018-upd
Was having issues with CUE 2.23.40 crashing.

- Uninstalled CUE
- followed the first set of Microsoft's directions
- restarted my computer
- Checked if my system was rolled back to build 16299.192 or anything pre-.248
- TURNED OFF WINDOWS UPDATES (first set of instructions here https://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonk.../#349fea1246f6) so that Windows won't force update
- Reinstalled CUE.

Works now. Maybe uninstalling CUE was unnecessary, but I did a system restore which seemed to mess the install up, so I took extra measures.

Thanks for the solution, Soundchazer!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.