The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > System Builds, Modding, Custom Components, and Picture Gallery

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 02-20-2014, 08:24 PM
sativas sativas is offline
Registered User
sativas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 698362
sativas Reputation: 30
Default

haha, yeah.

I just came back from the store with a HX850 80+ gold psu and got a deal on a Crucial M500 240gb just to hold me over.

It was $50 cheaper for the M500 right now in Canada compared to the 840 evo so I'm just going to put that towards some other stuff.

Hopefully the next SSD I buy will be in the TB range a year or so from now!

My next planned purchase is going to be another GTX 670 2gb as I found one for under $200.
I'll be pairing it up with my current GTX 670 that I stole a month back for $100! For a total investment of $300 that will be hard to beat in raw performance.
Reply With Quote


  #47  
Old 02-20-2014, 08:45 PM
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault is offline
Registered User
HOODedAssault's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,269
POST ID # = 698363
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault Reputation: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sativas View Post
haha, yeah.

I just came back from the store with a HX850 80+ gold psu and got a deal on a Crucial M500 240gb just to hold me over.

It was $50 cheaper for the M500 right now in Canada compared to the 840 evo so I'm just going to put that towards some other stuff.

Hopefully the next SSD I buy will be in the TB range a year or so from now!

My next planned purchase is going to be another GTX 670 2gb as I found one for under $200.
I'll be pairing it up with my current GTX 670 that I stole a month back for $100! For a total investment of $300 that will be hard to beat in raw performance.
Kind of a bad call there. I know the guys at canada computers pretty well and they advised me against the m500 as they have more prob with them than any other ssd. So I got the one in my specs instead for same price.
Reply With Quote


  #48  
Old 02-20-2014, 09:11 PM
sativas sativas is offline
Registered User
sativas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 698368
sativas Reputation: 30
Default

From all I've read and have seen over the past 8 months or so the M500 is one of the top recommended drives alongside the 840 evo and 840 pro.

The guy at Canada Computers that took it out of the case for me mentioned he uses the same drive and he loves it.
So I guess opinions can differ all over the place. :P

Until I have problems with it I'm happy with the purchase, and now I can get my other Corsair case built up and running with my old intel ssd and hx520 psu.
Reply With Quote


  #49  
Old 02-21-2014, 04:22 PM
Konvict1982 Konvict1982 is offline
Registered User
Konvict1982's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 698482
Konvict1982 Reputation: 20
Default

Hello everyone. This is my first post here to the Corsair forums. I arrived here after posting a pic of my new Corsair 540 case to the Corsair Facebook page and they recommended I check out this thread.

I really love the clean look with the hidden PSU and cable management. With the Corsair Enthusiast TX750 PSU there are just so many cables that the bundles look sloppy in a normal case.

I want to show my previous case and how sloppy everything looked prior to switching to the Corsair 540 Cube.



Now with the new case the only thing I changed was the case (obviously) and the GPU ...



Everything now looks so amazingly clean. My next set of plans are to add a Corsair Hydro Series H110.
Reply With Quote


  #50  
Old 02-21-2014, 05:03 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,119
POST ID # = 698491
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konvict1982 View Post

I want to show my previous case and how sloppy everything looked prior to switching to the Corsair 540 Cube.



Now with the new case the only thing I changed was the case (obviously) and the GPU ...



Everything now looks so amazingly clean. My next set of plans are to add a Corsair Hydro Series H110.

yep most clean on the main side but what does the chamber side look like?
im working on a neat way to hide even that...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #51  
Old 02-21-2014, 05:13 PM
Kovoet Kovoet is offline
Registered User
Kovoet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London
Posts: 65
POST ID # = 698494
Kovoet Reputation: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konvict1982 View Post
Hello everyone. This is my first post here to the Corsair forums. I arrived here after posting a pic of my new Corsair 540 case to the Corsair Facebook page and they recommended I check out this thread.

I really love the clean look with the hidden PSU and cable management. With the Corsair Enthusiast TX750 PSU there are just so many cables that the bundles look sloppy in a normal case.



Now with the new case the only thing I changed was the case (obviously) and the GPU ...



Everything now looks so amazingly clean. My next set of plans are to add a Corsair Hydro Series H110.
So much cleaner with the new case awesome. Do not count out the H100i. Love my cooler
Reply With Quote


  #52  
Old 02-21-2014, 05:55 PM
Konvict1982 Konvict1982 is offline
Registered User
Konvict1982's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 698504
Konvict1982 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
yep most clean on the main side but what does the chamber side look like?
im working on a neat way to hide even that...
Yeah the other side is cluttered but still better than the original case I used. I think when I get the liquid cooling I am going to get a Corsair modular PSU which will allow me to get rid of at least half of the unused cables currently on my Enthusiast TX750.

I would like to be able to clean that side also and have a clear panel so you can see both sides.
Reply With Quote


  #53  
Old 02-21-2014, 06:07 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,119
POST ID # = 698508
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

yeah get a modular psu and use only the wiring you need,helps alot with cluttering...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #54  
Old 02-21-2014, 06:31 PM
Kovoet Kovoet is offline
Registered User
Kovoet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London
Posts: 65
POST ID # = 698513
Kovoet Reputation: 80
Default

I use the AX850 and got the red cables to go with it. The good thing with the corsair PSU's you can get different coloured cables.
Reply With Quote


  #55  
Old 02-25-2014, 06:29 AM
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault is offline
Registered User
HOODedAssault's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,269
POST ID # = 699004
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault Reputation: 139
Default

Lol modular doesn't help that much. Look at mine on top of first page. Back looks like a cluster of crap. I change out parts so much turns out like that after a week. Front is prime tho lol.
Reply With Quote


  #56  
Old 02-25-2014, 09:58 AM
sativas sativas is offline
Registered User
sativas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 699023
sativas Reputation: 30
Default

Haha, yes.

Playing around with hardware so much means I don't always want to take the time to get everything looking pretty everytime I do something.
Also having a lot of hardware can mean you do in fact have to use almost every cable!
At one point I was using every cable I had for my HX520.

I'll be installing a 2nd GTX 670 later this evening so I'll have to post a couple updated shots as I have also added a HX850 and Crucial m500 since the last picture!
Reply With Quote


  #57  
Old 02-25-2014, 10:04 AM
Kovoet Kovoet is offline
Registered User
Kovoet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: London
Posts: 65
POST ID # = 699025
Kovoet Reputation: 80
Default

Show us the pictures tonight quite looking forward to it.
Reply With Quote


  #58  
Old 02-25-2014, 04:17 PM
Konvict1982 Konvict1982 is offline
Registered User
Konvict1982's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 699077
Konvict1982 Reputation: 20
Default

Thanks for all the information and everything. The tool free installation of everything except the motherboard is awesome.

I am looking forward to adding liquid cooling and possibly some light case modding (paint, lighting, etc)
Reply With Quote


  #59  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:26 PM
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault is offline
Registered User
HOODedAssault's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,269
POST ID # = 699093
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault Reputation: 139
Default

Got myself a few upgrades today. X79 - deluxe and 4820k. Post some pics tomorrow. Just has time to leave the bag in the game room and head out for afternoon shift. This is gonna b a long day.

Have to compare batch #s wytnyt. Once we get some overclocking underway.

edit: Well boys looks like I won the lottery for once. Pretty golden sample here.

Max temp was 73°C after bunch of linx avx runs on maximum ram. These 4820k run cool as hell. Guessing it has something to do with the ihs being made to deal with the heat of a hex core. My 2600k was 15°C hotter at same clocks. 1.42v tho lol.

edit 2: don't know y pic is sideways but you guys can deal.

Last edited by HOODedAssault; 02-26-2014 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #60  
Old 02-26-2014, 04:45 PM
sativas sativas is offline
Registered User
sativas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 699249
sativas Reputation: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kovoet View Post
Show us the pictures tonight quite looking forward to it.
Haha, well I got the 2nd 670 late last night and got it installed.

This morning I was browsing the forums looking for a card for my brother and two GTX680s came up at 235 a piece with a discount for local pickup...

He was literally 3-4 blocks away so we went down and paid $400 for the pair of MSI GTX680 2gb cards.

I have the GTX680s in my system right now and I'm debating making an offer to my brother for a trade with my pair of 670s and some other stuff to sweeten the deal.

I'll get some pictures up soon, just been busy swapping stuff around and I'm not entirely sure what cards will be staying.

I want the 680s just because I would "appreciate" them more!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.