The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > USB Flash Drives

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 06-20-2014, 01:28 PM
CloudStrife CloudStrife is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 715958
CloudStrife Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, I have already reformatted the drive and installed Firmware 2.0.17 and still no WiFi. I'm thinking to use my iMac and download the Firmware there and repeat the process again. Just in case there's something wrong with my MacBook or the firmware.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 06-20-2014, 01:39 PM
BillRathbone BillRathbone is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 210
POST ID # = 715960
BillRathbone Reputation: 60
Default

Please clarify what you mean by "still no Wi-Fi". If your iPad is able to connect to the "VoyagerAir" wireless network, there is definitely Wi-Fi on the drive.

The question is why you are then unable to communicate with the server on the drive - either using the app or a web browser. It makes little sense.

You have a gen 1 drive, right? Have you tried using the ethernet connection?

You could also use a third-party SAMBA-compatible utility (like FileBrowser) to access the drive from your iPad.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 06-23-2014, 04:09 PM
CloudStrife CloudStrife is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 716292
CloudStrife Reputation: 10
Default

What I meant when I said "No WiFi" was that I couldn't connect using the app or browser. After formatting it two times and resetting everything to factory settings and deleting and reinstalling the apps from my iPhone/iPad I was able to make a connection but only works when I'm 2 feet away from the device. The battery still not charging so what I'm thinking it's that something is broken inside. Probably the WiFi antena and the battery. I still can get access to the HD using the USB cable. I didn't know about the third party Samba thingy... I'll try later. Yes, I have a first gen drive, I bought it July of last year

Last edited by CloudStrife; 06-23-2014 at 04:13 PM. Reason: Typpos
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 06-23-2014, 04:42 PM
BillRathbone BillRathbone is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 210
POST ID # = 716294
BillRathbone Reputation: 60
Default

Yes, I suggest you contact our Customer Support group and arrange for a replacement.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 07-17-2014, 09:30 AM
MrF MrF is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 719502
MrF Reputation: 10
Default Any luck

I have been through the same process as above, incl. reformatting the drive.

Did you have any luck solving the problem?
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 07-17-2014, 01:26 PM
Rockr Rockr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 719540
Rockr Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrF View Post
I have been through the same process as above, incl. reformatting the drive.

Did you have any luck solving the problem?
I am now as well getting this problem, and I believe he RMA'd and got a replacement.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 01-12-2015, 09:17 PM
HBR HBR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 753049
HBR Reputation: 10
Default

HI guys,

I am having a very similar problem. I have a VoyagerAir 1TB (First gen) that does not connect through Wi-Fi (it does not even broadcast the VoyagerAir SSID) or Ethernet, even though the wi-fi light on the front panel lights up when the feature is switched on.

Hard-disk itself is working fine on USB - already detected potential disk issues through Disk Utility (I have a Mac running Yosemite) and none were present.

As I have no network connectivity whatsoever, I cannot update firmware, use the iOS app or web client, etc etc...on top of obviously not being able to access the content itself (apart from USB)

Any suggestions? It seems like a faulty unit and I am very disappointed: I have used this product on no more than ten occasions...

Thanks, guys
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 01-13-2015, 07:50 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,170
POST ID # = 753303
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 102
Default

You can update the firmware using the USB cable by copying the firmware image to the drive, try re-flashing or update the firmware and see if that helps.

Make sure you backup all your data on the drive in case something goes wrong.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 01-15-2015, 07:30 PM
HBR HBR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 753893
HBR Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
You can update the firmware using the USB cable by copying the firmware image to the drive, try re-flashing or update the firmware and see if that helps.

Make sure you backup all your data on the drive in case something goes wrong.
Hi, can you tell me how this is done? I understand that you can update it manually (as per the instructions that come with the firmware update package), but these still require launching the app or web client to kickstart the update process itself, right?
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 01-15-2015, 08:17 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,170
POST ID # = 753920
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 102
Default

The firmware update does not require the app or web client to update. It's drag and drop to the root folder. plug the Voyager Air to the wall adapter and turn it on. The firmware would update.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 01-25-2015, 08:09 AM
ralfrottmann ralfrottmann is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 755976
ralfrottmann Reputation: 10
Default

I just received my Voyager Air 2 and have the *exact* same problem.

The Word file that comes along with Firmware 2.3.0 explicitly states that one has to manually initiate the update, even when copying the .pkg file to the root folder of the drive.

I copied it to the root folder but it does not seem to update.

Any idea? Otherwise I guess I have to return the drive, which would be a shame.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 01-26-2015, 12:02 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,170
POST ID # = 756084
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 102
Default

Firmware 2.0.17 is the firmware which is done automatically since, if i recall correctly, is a rescue image.

Firmware 2.3.0 will require you to use either the app or the Voyager Air's webpage to update the firmware after moving the file to the root folder.

What firmware is the Voyager Air 2 currently on?

Last edited by Toasted; 01-26-2015 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 07-25-2017, 02:29 PM
KRAdams KRAdams is offline
Registered User
KRAdams's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 913325
KRAdams Reputation: 10
Question

I am having a similar problem as CloudStrife minus the battery. I can connect it to my WiFi with my Android phone and I get

If I press settings I get

If I connect the Voyager Air to my Windows 7 box I get

Then if I click troubleshoot I get

Any suggestions? Also how to get the images to show?

Thanks

Last edited by KRAdams; 07-27-2017 at 10:48 AM. Reason: Trying to get the images to show - still
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 07-29-2017, 08:25 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,170
POST ID # = 913787
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 102
Default

Upload the pictures to the forum instead.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.