The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2018, 05:24 PM
einmannbude einmannbude is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 977125
einmannbude Reputation: 10
Default Corsair RGB Fan Led Hub with third party fans?

Hey there,

I recently got into RGB. I have 3 120mm spots for RGB fans in my case - one for the CPU and two for the GPU. I really like the design of the Enermax RGB fans and want to use those. But I also like the Corsair iCUE Software, which I think is ahead of every other competitor. Now the question is, can I use the Enermax fans and control them via the iCUE software? Can I plug the fans into a Corsair RGB Fan Led Hub, plug the fan hub into the Corsair Lightning Node Pro and plug this into USB port?
Those Enermax fans are not the ones you can buy separate. They are usually part of their Liqfusion AIO, but I got them as spare parts. They have standard 4-Pin PWM for the fan itself and a second cable for LEDs, also 4-Pin with pinout: +5V/D/-/G
What will happen, if I plug them into the Corsair fan hub? If I am correct, the Corsair fans don't leave a pin out.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-19-2018, 06:11 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,150
POST ID # = 977135
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

I doubt it'll work out of the box.

First, do the pins even fit? Corsair uses a different connector.
Second, the fans have 4 wires and all of them are used.
1=> +5V
2=> Data Out
3=> Data In
4=> Ground

The fans are daisy chained ... each one gets the RGB signal, takes what it wants and passes it down the chain. The Data Out signal then becomes the Data In signal for the next fan. What you are describing won't do that.

Now ... with crimpers, cables and connectors, it may be possible to hack it but all fans would be identical and, of course, you'd be on your own with any issues that come up.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-20-2018, 01:34 AM
einmannbude einmannbude is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 977176
einmannbude Reputation: 10
Default

I see. Thanks for explaining how the data out flow is used. Now it makes sense, that you have to use the ports of the hub in order. So, the Corsair fan hub will not be usable.
There is another fan hub, that spreads a 3 pin RGB input into 8x 4 pin RGB output, where one of the pins is empty.
http://www.xs-pc.com/fans-radiator-a...-powered-black
Wouldn‘t this be perfect to connect to the Corsair lighting node pro, which has 3 pin RGB output?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-20-2018, 01:50 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,150
POST ID # = 977177
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Hmmm ... that likely would would. You'd need a custom cable, however.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-20-2018, 02:37 AM
einmannbude einmannbude is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 977178
einmannbude Reputation: 10
Default

Because the 3 pin cable delivered with the hub for input is meant to be plugged into the motherboard and will not fit into the lighting node pro?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-20-2018, 08:26 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,150
POST ID # = 977195
DevBiker Reputation: 76
Default

Yup, that's right. You'd need a cable with the Corsair plug on one side and the other plug on the other side ... and with the correct wires in the correct pins.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
Enermax, rgb hub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.