Corsair Community

ram compatability with overall system

grassy

Hi guys, i am new to computer gaming and have the following memory which is CMZ32GX3M4X1866C10 4X8GBDDR3 X 2 OFF for a total of 64gig. I am just wondering if this is ok for gaming on windows 7 64bit system. I have been told that i should reduce the amount of ram that i have in my system but i cant understand why. I have a rampage 4 extreme and nothing has been overclocked. Am i ok with this ram or should i have gone for something different. I also am running a 3690x cpu and wish to run both my gtx690's in quad sli.My main concern at the moment is making sure that my ram is compatable.If you need any more info i would be happy to give it to you. Thanks:):

If it is just a gaming rig why would you need 64 gigs of memory? You'll never use it.

The memory itself is fine but jusy be aware Corsair does not suggest or support mixing kits like this. There is just too many issues that can come from using multiple kits.

However if it is stable i would just leave well enough alone.

thanks for the replies, i also do a lot of video editing and recordings and use it for my personal buisness. Its just that the system was quite unstable for a while especially when i was gaming and kept getting crashes. Drivers were checked and were fine, the more i searched around the more i was being told that i could have the wrong type of ram. I do not plan on mixing my ram with any other type, i was just told to loose the vengence and go with another grade of corsair, it was just leaving me a little confused. I was also told that this ram has a few handshake problems with the x79 chipset. i really dont know what to believe, but all in all if you guys reckon it is comatable then i will leave everything as is and look at my instability elsewhere in my system.I was running my 2 graphics cards in quad sli and having freezing problems and thats why i checked my drivers first.