Corsair Community

ML120/140 fans with an MSI Z370's Corsair RGB Header

gerloss

Hi everyone, new forum member here. I looked through the relevant stickied and popular posts but unfortunately I am still a little bit confused.

I am building a new PC and I already have some of the components I am planning to use.

Among these I already have three ML140 PRO and one ML120 PRO.

I have already ordered an H110i cooler and an MSI Z370 Carbon pro gaming mobo, which are on their way.

The configuration would consist of the H110i in the front of a Meshify C case with two of the ML140 PRO fans and an ML140 PRO and the ML120 pro in the back/top of the case as exhausts.

I am new to RGB lighting so I was already confused before I realized that I ordered 3x single packs of ML140 PRO fans instead of the 3 pack with the RGB hub and stuff. So currently I have the aforementioned 4 ML fans without any RGB hub or controller.

The motherboard I have coming however states that it has a header named JCORSAIR which could help me as they say:

Simply connect CORSAIR Lighting PRO RGB LED Strip(CORSAIR SKU CL-8930002) or RGB Fan Series products to the hub. Through MSI’s CORSAIR RGB LED extension cable and JCORSAIR pin-header, you can easily control these CORSAIR components with the MSI Mystic Light App.

Does this mean that I will only have to get one of the RGB Fan LED Hubs separately and plug into the JCORSAIR header so I can control all my RGB lighting from one software? The linked Corsair product page says that it is compatible with the LL, HD and SP fans without any mention of the ML series.

I am really puzzled as none the MSI or Corsair product pages contain specifics for an RGB beginner like me.

What do I need to buy/do to take advantage of RGB controls and the JCORSAIR header while also properly powering and controlling the fans in PWM mode?