Corsair Community

VX550 noise transmitted to the speakers

noda

Hello,

I'm trying to get some help with a serious problem with my new config (details about it in my profile).

I've been experiencing some interferences problems with my speakers (I tried different sets of speakers, even my professional audio monitors) getting disturbing noise (like electrical hiss) while under heavy PSU charge (gaming). While idle, I can still hear high pitched noise coming from the speakers.

The noise does not come from the soundcard itself since there's no noise when using headphones instead of the speakers. Muting the sound in windows also does not mute the noise. Then it must be something wrong related to the ground / PSU (and it's not a ground loop either). There's no problem in my electrical installation either, as I have a studio setup (I'm a sound engineer) and everything is fine.

I've been digging days around this problem, and yesterday I found that the noise I hear in my speaker is the same that the one emitted by my VX550 PSU, but amplified. With heavy GPU charge, the PSU noise alone is even audible 1m away from my tower (I have good audition, though).

I've tried updating my drivers, and I activated "wide spectrum" in the BIOS to reduce motherboard interference, with no success.

I've been thinking about a faulty PSU unit, but it bothers me since everything else is working fine :/

What do you think guys? Ever had a problem similar?

Thanks for your help.

• Corsair Employee
I would try some of the things mentioned in this thread first. We can definitely replace the PSU for you, but at this point I could not tell you with any certainty that it would resolve the problem. It sounds like the speakers or sound card are encountering some interference of some kind. You may want to test the system with it plugged into a different circuit in your home just to make sure that there is not a device plugged into the same circuit which is inducing the interference.