The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 87 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-26-2011, 09:36 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 515478
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiloop View Post
is there any ETA for the F115 series and the Power issue ?

we have customers complaining about laptops not booting up, and they are not able to deselect 'quick boot' in the bios (Asus and Sony Laptops)

the drive has firmware 2.1a I assume this is the last available (and can not be found on this site ?)

- so do we have to wait for 1-12 months to get this issue solved?
- is there another product range with similair specs WITHOUT this problem so we can replace the drives ?
2.1a is the latest available so far. It is the same as 2.0 but updated for a change of materials in the F115.

If you're having compatibility problems and want to swap the drives, the P-series (performance) should not have any problems.
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 08-02-2011, 11:01 AM
Antiloop Antiloop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 516901
Antiloop Reputation: 10
Default

so I can rma all those drives ?

and perhaps swap to another brand, as our distributor does not do the P serie
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 08-02-2011, 11:03 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,168
POST ID # = 516902
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Series, not brand. You can always RMA the drives directly to Corsair and inquire about alternatives.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 08-03-2011, 10:07 AM
Antiloop Antiloop is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 517165
Antiloop Reputation: 10
Default

yes I meant what I said, our distributor does not have the P series (anymore I guess) so swapping brand seems to be the best option

these times companies only seem to think about selling, but not making good products anymore.. :(

I think it should not be so hard to fix this problem, as it is known for monhts
if they can't fix, stop selling please

perhaps it's my simple thinking
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 09-02-2011, 11:23 AM
mauromol mauromol is offline
Registered User
mauromol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 524960
mauromol Reputation: 10
Question

Is there any news on this?

I have a Corsair CSSD-F60GB2 updated to firmware release 2.0, but I have many problems when resuming from S3: sometimes it works, but many times after switching on the system Windows 7 tries to wake up, but after some seconds the system reboots. After reboot, thanks to the hybrid suspension, Windows 7 tries to restore the system status as if it were hibernated.
Sometimes it succeeds, sometimes it does not (BSOD shown).

With the previous firmware version (1.1), I had the same problems with resuming from S3, but when it didn't work, rebooting and restoring the system was always successful (I think I never got a BSOD... or maybe just a couple of times). Moreover, after updating to 2.0 firmware, the restoring from "hibernation" can take a very long time, while previously (with 1.1 firmware) it was very fast.

I already tried the workaround described here, disabiling the Quick Boot feature, but apart from making the POST phase much longer, it didn't help (I got no benefit).

The original post here is dated April 2011, we are now in September... no progress in the tests for a newer firmware release to fix this problem?
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 09-14-2011, 04:04 AM
bigboy678 bigboy678 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 527480
bigboy678 Reputation: 10
Default

and this is why i will never buy a ssd from your company ever again, shouldnt take 5 + months for a firmware update to a major problem people are having
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 09-16-2011, 03:23 AM
asnyder asnyder is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
POST ID # = 527918
asnyder Reputation: 10
Default

It's been almost a year since I first posted my issues with the corresponding screenshots, and terrible restoration workaround and still no firmware update that corrects this. I can guarantee you that I will never buy another product from Corsair ever again. They turned my holiday present into a nightmare. What was once an ideal, a nice and fast SSD hard drive has become an ongoing problem, not to mention a constant embarrassment if I need to boot my computer around others. "One sec, make sure to press F8, System Restore, CHKDSK D:. Reboot, Start Windows Normally", I don't think anyone in their right mind can say this is an acceptable way to treat your customers, frankly by the time you correct this issue I'll have moved on to a new laptop with a SSD from another manufacturer. I'll likely end up using my once prized F120 as a boot drive for my media center. Thanks...
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:42 PM
humanform humanform is offline
Registered User
humanform's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 530469
humanform Reputation: 10
Default

Agreed!! Another thread has been running since June 2010. How long are we supposed to be patient Yellowbeard and Ram Guy? I'm past the return date and now stuck like chuck with this worthless drive. We paid too much money to have to configure these half-baked, work-around solutions. In the past, I've heard Corsair made good RAM but have always used competing brands. I took a chance on this drive and this is my first and last Corsair product.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 09-26-2011, 10:53 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,168
POST ID # = 530473
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

That thread was dead for a year before it got bumped recently. humanform, neither of your posts so far contain any information on what (if any) troubleshooting you have done so far. Please start a new thread if you wish to get help.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 09-26-2011, 11:30 PM
humanform humanform is offline
Registered User
humanform's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 530478
humanform Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
That thread was dead for a year before it got bumped recently. humanform, neither of your posts so far contain any information on what (if any) troubleshooting you have done so far. Please start a new thread if you wish to get help.
This thread was started in April of this year and has had posts every month including posts by yourself as soon as last month so I don't see how you can say it's been "dead for over a year". The fact that I haven't listed my troubleshooting doesn't mean I haven't followed all the suggested tips and, as I stated in my last post, "half-baked work-arounds". I hardly think that listing my troubleshooting steps are what is going to push this solution over the edge and cause the Corsair engineers to exclaim "Eureka! I found the answer". I'm not asking for help. Evidently that doesn't work. I'm asking for a solution. Just like so many others, I'm fed up and feel that Corsair needs to find a solution and quit relying on the consumer to do the troubleshooting.

Last edited by humanform; 09-26-2011 at 11:35 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:12 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,168
POST ID # = 530485
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Please re-read what I said. I said THAT thread, not THIS thread. I also only stated that you hadn't posted anything about your troubleshooting, not that you hadn't troubleshot your issue.

What I am suggesting is that if you are having an issue then it's in your best interest to interact with Corsair support in one way or another. 70 posts in 1 year (some by the same people) isn't exactly indicative of an underlying issue when they've sold what probably amounts to tens if not hundreds of thousands of drives.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 09-27-2011, 12:46 AM
humanform humanform is offline
Registered User
humanform's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 530492
humanform Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Please re-read what I said. I said THAT thread, not THIS thread. I also only stated that you hadn't posted anything about your troubleshooting, not that you hadn't troubleshot your issue.

What I am suggesting is that if you are having an issue then it's in your best interest to interact with Corsair support in one way or another. 70 posts in 1 year (some by the same people) isn't exactly indicative of an underlying issue when they've sold what probably amounts to tens if not hundreds of thousands of drives.
I stand corrected. THAT thread was recently bumped and THIS thread is only a mere six months old. Obviously, they are unrelated. And, there are no other threads in this forum concerning issues with BSODs, intermittent reboots or freezes when it comes to this line of SSDs. Luckily, I bought the F80 instead of the F120 which was recalled and uses the same controller. It is unfortunate, however, that I am one of only 70 people out of "the hundreds of thousands" of people around the globe who bought this hard drive and is experiencing this issue. I will, however, contact Corsair support tomorrow because I'm sure they will be able to provide the answers that Corsair engineering has been unable to supply the other 69 people.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 09-27-2011, 01:50 AM
mauromol mauromol is offline
Registered User
mauromol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 530496
mauromol Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
What I am suggesting is that if you are having an issue then it's in your best interest to interact with Corsair support in one way or another. 70 posts in 1 year (some by the same people) isn't exactly indicative of an underlying issue when they've sold what probably amounts to tens if not hundreds of thousands of drives.
Personally, I do not think that Force series drives are worthless, as someone else says. However you can't say there's no underlying issue here, as long as the first post of this topic says that the problem is known and is under investigation, while a new firmware is being tested to solve it.

So, my question is: is the new firmware release mentioned by Yellowbeard still under study? Or do you have abandoned it so that we must keep our drives as they are?

Thanks in advance.
Mauro.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 10-16-2011, 11:50 AM
nonoco nonoco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 535103
nonoco Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mauromol View Post

So, my question is: is the new firmware release mentioned by Yellowbeard still under study? Or do you have abandoned it so that we must keep our drives as they are?
I'm waiting too... The answer will be welcomed to change my F120 drive if necessary.

Nonoco
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 10-16-2011, 02:17 PM
mauromol mauromol is offline
Registered User
mauromol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 535126
mauromol Reputation: 10
Default

For the sake of truth, I have to say that I solved my own problem, which was caused by a variation of http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330100 rather than by the Force SSD. In my case, I had a page file on a slave IDE hard disk (in addition to that on the SSD) and this was causing problems when resuming from stand-by.

However, I still think that Corsair should give an answer here on what they want to do with the promised firmware update...
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.