The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2014, 12:05 AM
bigkilla2009 bigkilla2009 is offline
Registered User
bigkilla2009's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 714718
bigkilla2009 Reputation: 10
Default Unable to update Corsair Neutron from M306 to M311

corsair toolbox1.2 wont update my corsair neutron 256gb.... says update failed after is said there is an updated firmware and downloads it too... any help would be nice. thanks. posted system specs as well...
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-11-2014, 04:05 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,412
POST ID # = 714733
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

From your post from the other thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigkilla2009 View Post
I am also in this exact boat. it will not update from M306 to M311 using toolbox... my system specs are in my profile. I have been having boot issues and am forced to go into bios everytime and sometimes its not their as well.. corsair said I needed to update firmware. so I ended up here. now this is my primary boot as well. I have windows 8.1 pro x64 installed on it. if I need to whipe it I am ok with that I suppose. but I want to avoid if possible. any help would be wonderful. thanks in advance
If you are experiencing any issues with the SSD, first thing i would recommend is to backup all your important data.

For the firmware update,
-Make sure the SSD is plugged into a Intel SATA port, Try SATA II and see if that helps as well
-Is AHCI enabled in the BIOS
-Have you tried the MSAHCI drivers instead of IRST drivers?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-06-2014, 08:42 AM
casper76 casper76 is offline
Registered User
casper76's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 721880
casper76 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi
I am unable to update my corsair Neutron with SSD Toolbox for my Home Theatre PC. AHCI is enabled in BIOS.

Pls refer to attachment for pc spec and ssd info.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (699.9 KB, 434 views)
File Type: png Capture1.PNG (213.7 KB, 433 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-06-2014, 08:43 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,412
POST ID # = 721967
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

Try a different SATA data port and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-11-2014, 07:19 AM
casper76 casper76 is offline
Registered User
casper76's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 722504
casper76 Reputation: 10
Default

will do...thanks
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-20-2014, 11:01 PM
Pcenthusiast Pcenthusiast is offline
Registered User
Pcenthusiast's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 723853
Pcenthusiast Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,
I´m facing the same issue. I have tried with intel RST installed and not installed, have tried another sata port, have tried turn RST ON/OFF in BIOS , always in AHCI mode and everytime toolbox fails to update the firware. Even with all these configurations , toolbox reads the SSD as SCSI fixed disk. What else can i try?
thanks
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-20-2014, 11:54 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,412
POST ID # = 723857
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

Try the firmware update on another computer with AHCI.

If i remember correctly, it shouldn't be detected as as SCSI device.
You could try updating the BIOS to see if it helps though.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-24-2014, 10:03 PM
CPsloStudent CPsloStudent is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 730066
CPsloStudent Reputation: 10
Default Neutron firmware update failed M306 to M311

Using the Corsair SSD Toolbox, both my computers failed to update the firmware on my Neutron 256 GB SSD (CSSD-N256GB3-BK).

I first tried running the Toolbox on my Win 7 desktop, as my Win 8 64-bit HP Envy Laptop was not detecting the SSD while my Win 7 machine could. After the firmware update from M306 failed, I ended up reformatting the drive and trying to install it in the Win 8 machine again. I am not sure why the Win 8 laptop just now started detecting the SSD again (perhaps because I formatted it as MBR rather than GBT).

Anyway, point being, despite the Win 8 machine detecting the SSD, the Toolbox also fails to update the firmware, just as my Win 7 machine did.

Is it possible to update to firmware M311?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-12-2014, 02:09 AM
alchn alchn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 734913
alchn Reputation: 10
Default

Tried their older toolbox 1.0? Worked for many, myself included.

The official download link is provided somewhere down the thread. http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=127582
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-02-2015, 10:42 AM
nitromullet nitromullet is offline
Registered User
nitromullet's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 776915
nitromullet Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for this tip. :)

That other thread has been locked, but downloading the older version Toolbox worked for me after nothing I did with the current version would allow me to flash the drive.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.