The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2016, 09:06 AM
DanilS DanilS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 847792
DanilS Reputation: 10
Default My SSD brick after using "Corsair SSD Toolbox"

That my first SSD bought an year ago http://www.corsair.com/en-us/force-s...-3-6gb-s-ssd-b (corsair 60gb LS force)

before:
windows7 with new intel UEFI motherboard
yes I read and know about AHCI(it was enabled)
sata 3 cable
SSD used for "linux root"-only 50GB write and 700GB read(for year in SMART,I read before press "update")

I update fairmware to S9FM02.0 year ago also...all was fine

...yesterday I launch "Corsair SSD Toolbox"
(boot windows from HDD, SDD was unmounted and unused)
it show new firmware aviable-S9FM02.6

I press download->update......
"Fail Update Firmware"(with no error and progress on 0%)
okey...I try press again...again failed

Today I turn on my PC(with this SSD)
and got stuck on "boot logo"
my PC "blink" with "red"(hdd)-led 1 sec delay-blink 1 sec-delay...forever(I wait few mins)

only when I "unplag SATA or power on SSD"-I can boot my PC

I turn on "hot plug" for sata divices in uefi-I boot windows from HDD...
and plug this SDD...red led blink again but windows continue work...only windows "device manager" forever show "detect new plugnplay device"

so SSD not detected in UEFI...

okey I try it on old BIOS(other PC)
BIOS log:
....
sec master: SATAFIRM S9 S9FM02.0
...and loading process also wont pass farther
...after 30 sec loading continue
SSD detected by bios...but still "red hdd-led" blink same as on UEFI

I can not boot from this SSD on bios PC....black screen forever...look like can not read data
...il try install windows on this bios PC(on hdd)...also will try live linux
I read this thread http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=139254
...maybe more info like this....any way to fix?

so Fact is-"Corsair SSD Toolbox" brick my SSD
its my first SSD....and end like this?
I dont think I ever again use SSD
First firmware(to S9FM02.0) format my SSD...okey
now what"
firmware update by "official tood" kill device????
one year device...when I use 10 year old HDD-s 80-160 GB...and has 0 problem...and SSD 1 year????????
not nice

....ofc will be nice if I can fix it or someone help...

will update latter today with progress....
thanks for reading
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-18-2016, 01:59 PM
DanilS DanilS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 847811
DanilS Reputation: 10
Default

Okey....result after 6+hours of this....

Windows
can detect this device by NEW name two screenshots from windows
http://en.zimagez.com/zimage/1041107...5109910812.php
http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/f015c7...520ef63f0d.php

...and thats all...I do not know how to fix it on windows....


Linux
my best result http://pastebin.com/DczJtYYu
Code:
[ 4364.782660] ata1.00: ATA-10: SATAFIRM   S9, S9FM02.0, max UDMA/133
[ 4364.782663] ata1.00: 125045424 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA
[ 4364.782968] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 4364.782980] ata1: EH complete
[ 4364.783149] scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      SATAFIRM   S9    02.0 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[ 4364.783470] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] 125045424 512-byte logical blocks: (64.0 GB/59.6 GiB)
[ 4364.783509] sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 0
[ 4364.783511] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Write Protect is off
[ 4364.783513] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
[ 4364.783526] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[ 4392.190830] ata1.00: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x2 SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[ 4392.190846] ata1.00: failed command: READ FPDMA QUEUED
[ 4392.190864] ata1.00: cmd 60/08:08:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/40 tag 1 ncq 4096 in
         res 40/00:08:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/40 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[ 4392.190874] ata1.00: status: { DRDY }
[ 4392.190885] ata1: hard resetting link
and hdparm can "comunicate" with /dev/sde
for read info error is HDIO_DRIVE_CMD(identify) failed: Input/output error

only one way I found http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...1&postcount=32
this post tell-I need .vic file for "try" upload firemware by hdparm

...but-I has no because "corsair tool" can not detect my SSD...and there no "link" to download firmware...............................................
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-18-2016, 02:07 PM
DanilS DanilS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 847813
DanilS Reputation: 10
Default

soooooooooo....................
BIOS can read even disk size,real size(but disk name still "firmware version" not device name)
UEFI....ca not load if plug this SSD

and I think..................

my SSD stil alive BUT in "firmware install" mode...it waiting for "command" for update or "get back to normal state"
(this stupid "update tool" turn my SSD into "firmware update mode" and when failed DID NOT TURN IT BACK to normal mode(good job DEVS GOOD JOB)

so.................

"dos-update-tool" or "linux instruction" from crosfire-devs can fix my SSD
I 100% sure in that
MAYBE they can help me?no?.......

....now I just install linux to HDD and make tmpfs for /(root) ...speed will be same or faster like SSD....brick ssd after 1 year by using official tools....sad story

anyway still ANY HELP ANY INFO will be very nice

...also found this post from 2011 http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=101309 ......no way for me?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-18-2016, 04:57 PM
DanilS DanilS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 847841
DanilS Reputation: 10
Default

somehow.....this SSD detected by UEFI(as PS3109S9) now with 20mb size....
Linux also start work with it

Code:
[   28.655150] ata1: exception Emask 0x10 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x4050000 action 0xe frozen
[   28.655153] ata1: irq_stat 0x00400040, connection status changed
[   28.655154] ata1: SError: { PHYRdyChg CommWake DevExch }
[   28.655157] ata1: hard resetting link
[   30.361253] ata1: SATA link up 6.0 Gbps (SStatus 133 SControl 300)
[   30.361403] ata1.00: ATA-7: PS3109S9, S9RBOOT2, max PIO2
[   30.361406] ata1.00: 40961 sectors, multi 0: LBA 
[   30.361538] ata1.00: configured for PIO2
[   30.361542] ata1: EH complete
[   30.361590] scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      PS3109S9         OOT2 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[   30.361706] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] 40961 512-byte logical blocks: (20.9 MB/20.0 MiB)
[   30.361740] sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 0
[   30.361740] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Write Protect is off
[   30.361742] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
[   30.361754] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Write cache: disabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[   30.363835]  sde: unknown partition table
[   30.363959] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Attached SCSI disk
Code:
sudo hdparm -I /dev/sde

/dev/sde:

ATA device, with non-removable media
	Model Number:       PS3109S9                                
	Serial Number:      
	Firmware Revision:  S9RBOOT2
Standards:
	Used: ATA/ATAPI-7 T13 1532D revision 4a 
	Supported: 7 6 5 4 
Configuration:
	Logical		max	current
	cylinders	160	160
	heads		8	8
	sectors/track	32	32
	--
	CHS current addressable sectors:      40960
	LBA    user addressable sectors:      40961
	Logical/Physical Sector size:           512 bytes
	device size with M = 1024*1024:          20 MBytes
	device size with M = 1000*1000:          20 MBytes 
	cache/buffer size  = 1 KBytes (type=DualPort)
Capabilities:
	LBA, IORDY(may be)(cannot be disabled)
	Standby timer values: spec'd by Vendor, no device specific minimum
	R/W multiple sector transfer: Max = 1	Current = 0
	DMA: not supported
	PIO: pio0 pio1 pio2 
Commands/features:
	Enabled	Supported:
	   *	Power Management feature set
	   *	WRITE_BUFFER command
	   *	READ_BUFFER command
	   *	NOP cmd
	   *	DOWNLOAD_MICROCODE
	   *	Mandatory FLUSH_CACHE
	   *	FLUSH_CACHE_EXT
	   *	Gen1 signaling speed (1.5Gb/s)
	   *	Gen2 signaling speed (3.0Gb/s)
	   *	Gen3 signaling speed (6.0Gb/s)
Checksum: correct
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-18-2016, 05:08 PM
DanilS DanilS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 847843
DanilS Reputation: 10
Default

windows also see it but toolbox ignore http://www.zimagez.com/zimage/2dbedb...fc5a9df76b.php

I try all of this(maybe it help someone one day)
http://www.phison.com/English/ICSpeed.asp?SortID=63 this is SSD controller PS3109S9
and this link http://www.overclockers.ru/files/index.shtml?dir=388 has "Phison toolbox" so....(actualy-this "toolbox" can "see"(work) with "invisible" SSD(when it not in device list in windows) and sent ATA commands(they all fails,but...it send))
http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/how...ed-drives.html other SSD on same controller(and I try boot from windows PE and install firmware...it gives error)

now I try some magic with hdparm followin
this https://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/ATA_Secure_Erase
and this https://communities.intel.com/thread/26805?tstart=0
https://tinyapps.org/docs/wipe_drives_hdparm.html

Last edited by DanilS; 04-18-2016 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-18-2016, 05:56 PM
DanilS DanilS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 847847
DanilS Reputation: 10
Default

well....
now it change again...no more 20mb "chip" memory

now it show full size on plug....and die
Code:
[  814.037725] ata1.00: ATA-10: SATAFIRM   S9, S9FM02.0, max UDMA/133
[  814.037735] ata1.00: 125045424 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA
[  814.038327] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
[  814.038343] ata1: EH complete
[  814.038515] scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      SATAFIRM   S9    02.0 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[  814.038981] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 125045424 512-byte logical blocks: (64.0 GB/59.6 GiB)
[  814.039417] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
[  814.039429] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
[  814.039506] sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
[  814.039537] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[  845.020133] ata1.00: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x20 SErr 0x0 action 0x6 frozen
[  845.020145] ata1.00: failed command: READ FPDMA QUEUED
[  845.020156] ata1.00: cmd 60/08:28:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/40 tag 5 ncq 4096 in
         res 40/00:00:00:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/00 Emask 0x4 (timeout)
[  845.020161] ata1.00: status: { DRDY }
[  845.020169] ata1: hard resetting link
[  845.339927] ata1: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 310)
[  850.337129] ata1.00: qc timeout (cmd 0xec)
[  850.337145] ata1.00: failed to IDENTIFY (I/O error, err_mask=0x4)
[  850.337150] ata1.00: revalidation failed (errno=-5)
[  850.337159] ata1: hard resetting link
I try use hdparm for even read info data....no responce from SSD

....
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-19-2016, 08:09 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,412
POST ID # = 847951
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

Corsair provides a three year warranty for their solid state drives.

You can request an RMA to replace the drive. Make sure you upload a picture of your invoice as proof of purchase.
https://corsair.secure.force.com/
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-20-2016, 03:04 PM
DanilS DanilS is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 848298
DanilS Reputation: 10
Default

small update:

this device has Two modes
SATAFIRM S9, S9FM02.0 64Gb (broken mode windows freez uefi can not load etc...no responce to any(standart) ata commands)
and PS3109S9 20mb (device work all OS work and UEFI can load also device responce to ATA commands)

How to switch between them:
I found only way with two PC
First PC-motherboard without AHCI support (it not work(I dont know why) if disable AHCI in UEFI/BIOS on "on PC with AHCI")
Second PC-with AHCI

Boot windows on first PC(without broken SSD) then "hot plug"-in broken SSD(SATAFIRM S9, S9FM02.0 mode) in
launch any Corsair/Phison firmware update tool....it will tell "AHCI not suported"
unplug SSD

Plug SSD to other PC with AHCI
and it start work as PS3109S9(second mode)

...I can not read data from this 20mb(IO error from driver always)
linux hdparm also give IO error on all "firmware"/reset/set commands

so...maybe this PS3109S9 need "special" driver to comunicate....or its simply broken

for turn from PS3109S9 mode to SATAFIRM S9, S9FM02.0 mode-just use any Corsair/Phison firmware update tool on that PC
this software allow you to select PS3109S9 and press update....but it stop on 5% always with random errors
same like in thsi post http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143311

when you power off(unplug) SSD and plug in again-it will be in SATAFIRM S9, S9FM02.0 mode

it work for switch modes back/back/back I test few times(10+-)

so...road to support
end of story for now

Last edited by DanilS; 04-20-2016 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
brick, ssd

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.