The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD) > SSD Firmware Update

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2013, 11:42 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 688704
Naki Reputation: 10
Question Two SSDs - different firmware update versions?

I have two Corsair Force GS 360 GB drives.
I had just one at first, then bought a second.
The 2nd one appears to be the same model, but is thinner. And I tried to update its firmware (and the firmware of the old SSD), but I have a problem, however - now my old drive shows the firmware as 5.07, and new one - 5.05a and there does not appear a way to update to 5.07.
EDIT: When I try to update the old drive via Corsair Toolbox, it says its firmware 5.07 is latest (Current: 5.07/Latest 5.07), and when I try updating the NEW drive, it says an update is available, but trying to update says the update failed.

Has 5.07 firmware been recalled/pulled from your web site?
Will using 5.07 firmware cause issues? Why is there no longer a 5.07 update on your forums/web site, and 5.05a appears as latest?

Using Windows 7, 64-bit Ultimate, SP1. Rest of specs - see my specs.

Last edited by Naki; 12-22-2013 at 11:49 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-23-2013, 02:52 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,607
POST ID # = 688836
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

FW5.07 was never released on the forums.
No, you shouldn't experience any issues with 5.07.

What's the new FW for the new drive?
If its, 5.20, i'd suggest you avoid updating it for now.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-23-2013, 09:17 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 688863
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
FW5.07 was never released on the forums.
No, you shouldn't experience any issues with 5.07.

What's the new FW for the new drive?
If its, 5.20, i'd suggest you avoid updating it for now.
New firmware shows as 5.07. EDIT: Edited to include some screenshots.
Attached Images
File Type: png Corsair-FirmwareUpdate.png (40.8 KB, 336 views)
File Type: png Corsair-DriveStatus.png (114.5 KB, 310 views)
File Type: png Corsair-DriveStatusOldDrive.png (101.7 KB, 312 views)
File Type: png Corsair-FirmwareUpdateFailed.png (33.1 KB, 303 views)

Last edited by Naki; 12-24-2013 at 05:37 AM. Reason: added UpdateFailed screenshot
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-24-2013, 01:01 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,607
POST ID # = 689033
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

Have you tried uninstalling the Intel RST drivers and let Windows isntall the MSAHCI drivers to update the firmware?
Is the SSD plugged into an Intel SATA port? If not, plug it into one.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-24-2013, 05:34 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 689053
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Have you tried uninstalling the Intel RST drivers and let Windows isntall the MSAHCI drivers to update the firmware?
Is the SSD plugged into an Intel SATA port? If not, plug it into one.
1) Drive 1 updated just fine with these same drivers. I have not tried uninstalling them, will try now.

2) Yes, Intel SATA3 port.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-13-2014, 07:00 AM
Naki Naki is offline
Registered User
Naki's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 705289
Naki Reputation: 10
Default

Sorry for the very slow update.
Some days (a week?) after trying to update to 5.07 firmware, the firmware version magically became correct, i.e. showing as 5.07.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-29-2015, 03:16 AM
kabamaru2372 kabamaru2372 is offline
Registered User
kabamaru2372's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 792173
kabamaru2372 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi all,
i didnt want to start a new thread since this one exists so...
I have the same problem with two force GS 128gb ssd's...
One of them has 5.41 but the other one has 5.24 and ssd tool says it is the latest firmware....
Any ideas? Which is the latest firmware for these disks?
I have them in raid 0 mode and only in ATTO bench i get speeds of 1gb/s in read-write.
In all the other benchmarks like AS SSD, Crystal and many others i get 800mb/s read but only 400mb/s write....
Thank you in advance
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-29-2015, 04:11 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,123
POST ID # = 792175
Technobeard Reputation: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kabamaru2372 View Post
Hi all,
i didnt want to start a new thread since this one exists so...
I have the same problem with two force GS 128gb ssd's...
One of them has 5.41 but the other one has 5.24 and ssd tool says it is the latest firmware....
Any ideas? Which is the latest firmware for these disks?
I have them in raid 0 mode and only in ATTO bench i get speeds of 1gb/s in read-write.
In all the other benchmarks like AS SSD, Crystal and many others i get 800mb/s read but only 400mb/s write....
Thank you in advance
Most firmware updates are just for BOM compatibility. Run the SSD toolbox, if it says what you have is the latest for your drive, then that's it. In regards to ATTO vs AS SSD vs Crystal, they all test in different ways. The results from one can't be compared to another.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-29-2015, 04:45 AM
kabamaru2372 kabamaru2372 is offline
Registered User
kabamaru2372's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 792181
kabamaru2372 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Most firmware updates are just for BOM compatibility. Run the SSD toolbox, if it says what you have is the latest for your drive, then that's it. In regards to ATTO vs AS SSD vs Crystal, they all test in different ways. The results from one can't be compared to another.
Thank you for the prompt reply!
Its not just the benchmarks, when i copy a file from these disks to themselves the speed doesnt go higher than 280mb/sec....
Also to be more specific, one of the two disks was not able to go from firmware version 5.20 to 5.24 until i did a secure erase...
P.S. please forgive me for my (sometimes bad) English, i am Greek :)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg atto.jpg (111.0 KB, 187 views)

Last edited by kabamaru2372; 07-29-2015 at 11:20 AM. Reason: insert picture
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.