The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2018, 02:23 PM
StevenT StevenT is offline
Registered User
StevenT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 982899
StevenT Reputation: 10
Default adding more RAM which one will match current?

I have 2-8 GIG memory modules in my PC and want to add another 2-8 gig sticks. Currently have "Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz (PC4-24000) C15 Memory CMV8GX4M1A2133C15".
What will match the current setup to bring it to 32Gig?
Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-02-2019, 11:50 AM
djmarks djmarks is offline
Fully qualified Wingnut
djmarks's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 992322
djmarks Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Steven. I'm not an expert, but my understanding of mixing memory kits is that it's a bit hit and miss. Even if you used an identical kit to the one you have, identical timings etc, there's a good chance that you'll have memory issues somewhere down the line, more so if you start using xmp profiles.
I'm in the same boat as yourself - I'm running 2x8gb kit but want to up it to 32gb so I'm having to buy a quad kit as I'm using xmp I profile with oc and a memory mismatch would not sit well for me.
So, I'm sure the experts here will reiterate that mixing is at best a 50-50 crap shoot.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-02-2019, 01:24 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 992334
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

I would say getting a new 32GB kit you would likely have less of a chance of having any problems since they were supposed to be tested together and packaged together because they worked properly together at the rated speed.

In contrast to that, in my situation I made sure to get two identical 16GB kits (model and version number, and packaging). In my case it was 2 x Corsair CMK16GX4M2A2400C16 (ver 5.30) for 32GB in 4 by 4 slot configuration, overclocked to 2933MHz and it seemed work fine. I got them in store so I was able to visually confirm I was getting what I asked for. Ordering online and expecting to match model and version number will probably be next to impossible.

However I will probably always question if the reason I couldn't reach 3200MHz (as compared to my 2 by 4 configuration) was because of differences between the two kits among other factors. Just food for thought.

Last edited by A Computer Guy; 02-02-2019 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-02-2019, 04:52 PM
StevenT StevenT is offline
Registered User
StevenT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 992361
StevenT Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the replies. Good info to take into consideration. I don't OC. (last time I did I watched an IC on the MB go super nova. The board still works...LOL) I play World of Warcraft and wanting to use X-Plane which really wants the extra mem. I'll watch the price on both and if there's a decent drop I'll jump on the 32 kit. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-02-2019, 10:02 PM
djmarks djmarks is offline
Fully qualified Wingnut
djmarks's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 992395
djmarks Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenT View Post
Thanks for the replies. Good info to take into consideration. I don't OC. (last time I did I watched an IC on the MB go super nova. The board still works...LOL) I play World of Warcraft and wanting to use X-Plane which really wants the extra mem. I'll watch the price on both and if there's a decent drop I'll jump on the 32 kit. Thanks again.

Oooh world of warcraft... how I miss it!! Played it since first release untill about 10 months ago! Been playing fallout 76 recently but there's more holes in that games code than a tea-bag lol.
I've just built myself a new pc and would love to see what wow looks like on it so may have to dust off my old shield and scabbard and get back in ;)

Good luck with the memory hunting - I'm still trying to work out if I should pay the extra cash and go for the Dominator Platinum kits or go for the vengeance range.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-17-2019, 10:58 PM
A Computer Guy A Computer Guy is offline
Registered User
A Computer Guy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 994685
A Computer Guy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djmarks View Post
Oooh world of warcraft... how I miss it!! Played it since first release untill about 10 months ago! Been playing fallout 76 recently but there's more holes in that games code than a tea-bag lol.
I've just built myself a new pc and would love to see what wow looks like on it so may have to dust off my old shield and scabbard and get back in ;)

Good luck with the memory hunting - I'm still trying to work out if I should pay the extra cash and go for the Dominator Platinum kits or go for the vengeance range.
You already have an i9 so go for the best you can afford.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-18-2019, 02:14 AM
Corsair Rick Corsair Rick is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Rick's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 235
POST ID # = 994699
Corsair Rick Reputation: 10
Default

Hello StevenT,

As djmarks mentioned, mixing kits can be hit or miss and wouldn't be recommended. It can cause stability issues even if both kits are fine.

As far as Dominator Platinum vs Vengeance, if they have the same specification, they are going to perform the same but the Dominator Platinum definitely looks better in my opinion and have a better potential overclocking wise. If you are looking at just running them at the rated speed, either will be fine depending on your aesthetic choice.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.