Corsair Community

Acronis expert please help

Randy Myers

Ok, I purchased Acronis True Image 2010, their latest. It works well however I have never used it before.

I created a backup image of my SSD drive (boot drive) saved on my external WD MyBook drive.

When I go to restore it always wants to do a sector by sector restore, therefore making any kind of flush of the drive moot.

What am I doing wrong. Is there some settings or procedure to have it only restore the used portion of the drive and not also over write all unused portions.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciate...

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Randy,

when you made your image,you likely checked off the "Restore by sector" box during the "Back up" wizard. Make another image and this time do not check that option.Also,make sure you download the multi-parameter boot disk image from Acronis..works better than the one you create from the program itself.

I think you are correct. I just created another image with the sector-sector unchecked.

The boot disk that the program created seems to work nice. You are saying they have a better version available for download? Any chance of posting a link?

Does anyone know for sure (not I think, but yes this is how it works), if erasing/resetting the drive writes it with all zeros or all ones? I know there is an option in Acronis Disk Cleanser to write drive one pass with zeros, if I do a custom and tell it FF in the box, does this write it all ones?

Is this a way of resetting the drive. I really want to get this all to work and there seems to be so much misinformation, half information and pure speculation out there. Can someone please answer this decisively and correctly.

Ok, I purchased Acronis True Image 2010, their latest. It works well however I have never used it before.

I created a backup image of my SSD drive (boot drive) saved on my external WD MyBook drive.