The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.20 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2015, 03:45 PM
Corsair Chris Corsair Chris is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 381
POST ID # = 812376
Corsair Chris Reputation: 10
Default PSA: VOID Wireless in Bootloader Mode and How to Recover it

Hi everyone,

After doing an investigation we have found out that what may be causing VOID Wireless to go into bootloader mode when charging. When plugging VOID wireless in for charging, while holding onto any button - the headset will go into bootloader mode (thanks @Nicklez for identifying this). Please refrain from pressing any buttons while plugging the headset in. be careful with finger placement when plugging headset in! If any button is press and held while inserting the USB cable in, your headset will be in bootloader mode!!!!

As of now, bootloader mode will not have any indication if it is in this mode except it will not appear to power on, generate audio, or have the lights turn on. In other words, it'll look like the headset has stopped working. Bootloader mode is implemented as a fail safe, so that headset can still be recovered in case of "bricking" or a bad firmware update, etc.

Our next steps to how we're dealing with bootloader mode... we're looking into having a visual indicator if the headset is in bootloader mode so that users will be able to identify what's going on with their headsets right away. We are also looking into different sequences to enter bootloader mode. (So instead of pressing the mute button and plugging it in, users have to press multiple buttons and plug it in). We're also exploring the idea of having bootloader mode only available when plugged in via USB.

Here are the instructions how to recover VOID from bootloader mode:

You will need to have CUE 1.11.85 or newer. You can find the newest version of CUE at corsair.com/download
  1. Open up CUE
  2. Go to SETTING
  3. Under SETTING, find and click "DEVICE"
  4. Under this screen you will see VOID WIRELESS. Click "Update firmware"
  5. Select "Force update from the server" option, and proceed with update
  6. Connect headset when prompted in CUE.
  7. Let it update.


    Once the firmware has been updated you will need to put your headset and dongle in pairing mode.
For the headset: make sure the headset is turned off, once it is off press and hold the power button until the InfoMic flashes green and red. Please use this video as reference:

For the dongle: you will need to insert a paperclip into the hole under the LED. Press and hold until the LED flashes rapidly. Please use this video as reference:

After the two devices pair, the LED on the dongle will be solid white.
Attached Images
File Type: png CUE_Setting.png (391.2 KB, 29021 views)
File Type: png CUE_Device.png (316.9 KB, 28545 views)
File Type: png CUE_UpdateFW.png (17.4 KB, 28723 views)
File Type: png CUE_ConnectHeadset.png (54.2 KB, 28224 views)
File Type: png CUE_ForceUpdateFW.png (57.5 KB, 28511 views)
File Type: png CUE_UpdateStatus.png (64.9 KB, 28439 views)
File Type: png CUE_Success.png (53.6 KB, 28322 views)

Last edited by Corsair Chris; 10-15-2015 at 07:54 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-07-2015, 08:48 PM
pedrojunkers pedrojunkers is offline
Registered User
pedrojunkers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 812883
pedrojunkers Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Chris Today my Corsair VOID Wireless DOLBY 7.1 Gaminng headset carbon/Black stopped working. No power and won't turn on. The charging lights don't come on even after charging it over night. I think is bootloader mode? Can you help me please!!! Software version is 1.10.67 but I cant see the firmware version? status not conected!!!
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-08-2015, 02:36 PM
Watling Watling is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 813010
Watling Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Chris View Post
Hi everyone,

After doing an investigation we have found out that what may be causing VOID Wireless to go into bootloader mode when charging. When plugging VOID wireless in for charging, while holding onto the mute button - the headset will go into bootloader mode (thanks @Nicklez for identifying this). Please refrain from pressing any buttons while plugging the headset in.

As of now, bootloader mode will not have any indication if it is in this mode except it will not appear to power on, generate audio, or have the lights turn on. In other words, it'll look like the headset has stopped working. Bootloader mode is implemented as a fail safe, so that headset can still be recovered in case of "bricking" or a bad firmware update, etc.

Currently there are two ways to recover the headset, let the battery fully drain (since it is in bootloader mode it will take roughly 2-3 days) or manually flashing the headset to the most recent firmware. In order to flash it, I request that you send me PM with your email and which color of the headset you have (yellow jacket or carbon/black) so that I can share the firmware file with you.

We understand that this an inconvenience which is why we're looking into different options to resolve this. For the next CUE update (v1.11x) users will be able to manually flashing the headset without having to have the firmware file.

Our next steps to how we're dealing with bootloader mode... we're looking into having a visual indicator if the headset is in bootloader mode so that users will be able to identify what's going on with their headsets right away. We are also looking into different sequences to enter bootloader mode. (So instead of pressing the mute button and plugging it in, users have to press multiple buttons and plug it in). We're also exploring the idea of having bootloader mode only available when plugged in via USB.

So, for all those who've read this thread... be careful with finger placement when plugging headset in! If mute button is press and held while inserting the USB cable in, your headset will be in bootloader mode!!!!

That is all.
Hi Chris it appears as though my headset has gone into bootloader mode, i will send you a PM
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-09-2015, 05:44 PM
Corsair Chris Corsair Chris is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 381
POST ID # = 813278
Corsair Chris Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedrojunkers View Post
Hi Chris Today my Corsair VOID Wireless DOLBY 7.1 Gaminng headset carbon/Black stopped working. No power and won't turn on. The charging lights don't come on even after charging it over night. I think is bootloader mode? Can you help me please!!! Software version is 1.10.67 but I cant see the firmware version? status not conected!!!
Yep, that's bootloader mode. PM me with your email address and I'll send you instructions to fix it.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-09-2015, 10:56 PM
Toxic505 Toxic505 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 813303
Toxic505 Reputation: 10
Default

I am having the same issue Chris. I just bought the VOID yellowjacket a few days ago and now after charging all day while I am at work the VOID won't power up and is indicating no lights at all. & I loved it until this happened! But this is pretty irritating unfortunately. PM sent mate.

~Toxic
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-10-2015, 02:13 PM
Toxic505 Toxic505 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 813369
Toxic505 Reputation: 10
Default

Can anyone PM me with the fix to the VOID Yellowjacket? I would really like to use my void today.

And Corsair, can y'all just make a tutorial post on how to flash the VOID without waiting a few days to here back from a Corsair rep.

Thanks

Last edited by Toxic505; 10-10-2015 at 02:37 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-14-2015, 01:38 AM
Adhoc Adhoc is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 813976
Adhoc Reputation: 10
Default

Hi

I think I'm experiencing this problem, but I'm not actually sure.
When connecting my headset to my pc, Win 10 complains about the device "descriptor" and device manager identifies the error as "error 43".

I tried connecting the headset to another Win 10 pc and got the same error.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-14-2015, 05:15 AM
Tantoblade Tantoblade is offline
Registered User
Tantoblade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 813984
Tantoblade Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem. You say flash the firmware, but how are you supposed to do that if you can't turn the device on in the first place?
As far as fails go this one is monumental, i can't believe i paid top price for a product that has an issue that can be fixed by "waiting 2-3 days". Not Happy and considering returning them.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-14-2015, 05:20 PM
Corsair Chris Corsair Chris is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 381
POST ID # = 814156
Corsair Chris Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tantoblade View Post
I have the same problem. You say flash the firmware, but how are you supposed to do that if you can't turn the device on in the first place?
As far as fails go this one is monumental, i can't believe i paid top price for a product that has an issue that can be fixed by "waiting 2-3 days". Not Happy and considering returning them.
If the headset is in bootloader mode, it is powered on.

Last edited by Corsair Chris; 10-14-2015 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-14-2015, 05:21 PM
Corsair Chris Corsair Chris is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 381
POST ID # = 814157
Corsair Chris Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adhoc View Post
Hi

I think I'm experiencing this problem, but I'm not actually sure.
When connecting my headset to my pc, Win 10 complains about the device "descriptor" and device manager identifies the error as "error 43".

I tried connecting the headset to another Win 10 pc and got the same error.
Send me a PM with screen shots.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-16-2015, 09:05 AM
bunnzii bunnzii is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 814606
bunnzii Reputation: 10
Default Please help me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair Chris View Post
Hi everyone,

After doing an investigation we have found out that what may be causing VOID Wireless to go into bootloader mode when charging. When plugging VOID wireless in for charging, while holding onto any button - the headset will go into bootloader mode (thanks @Nicklez for identifying this). Please refrain from pressing any buttons while plugging the headset in. be careful with finger placement when plugging headset in! If any button is press and held while inserting the USB cable in, your headset will be in bootloader mode!!!!

As of now, bootloader mode will not have any indication if it is in this mode except it will not appear to power on, generate audio, or have the lights turn on. In other words, it'll look like the headset has stopped working. Bootloader mode is implemented as a fail safe, so that headset can still be recovered in case of "bricking" or a bad firmware update, etc.

Our next steps to how we're dealing with bootloader mode... we're looking into having a visual indicator if the headset is in bootloader mode so that users will be able to identify what's going on with their headsets right away. We are also looking into different sequences to enter bootloader mode. (So instead of pressing the mute button and plugging it in, users have to press multiple buttons and plug it in). We're also exploring the idea of having bootloader mode only available when plugged in via USB.

Here are the instructions how to recover VOID from bootloader mode:

You will need to have CUE 1.11.85 or newer. You can find the newest version of CUE at corsair.com/download
  1. Open up CUE
  2. Go to SETTING
  3. Under SETTING, find and click "DEVICE"
  4. Under this screen you will see VOID WIRELESS. Click "Update firmware"
  5. Select "Force update from the server" option, and proceed with update
  6. Connect headset when prompted in CUE.
  7. Let it update.


    Once the firmware has been updated you will need to put your headset and dongle in pairing mode.
For the headset: make sure the headset is turned off, once it is off press and hold the power button until the InfoMic flashes green and red. Please use this video as reference: https://youtu.be/Dw-IL3wNe20

For the dongle: you will need to insert a paperclip into the hole under the LED. Press and hold until the LED flashes rapidly. Please use this video as reference: https://youtu.be/lkyUmRJE0cw

After the two devices pair, the LED on the dongle will be solid white.

I dont know how to private message you.

I bought my corsair void yellow jacket headset a few months ago.
I was referred to by a corsair employee (who had hands on worked on testing this headset and creating it. his name is Carlos) to buy this headset.

So I bought it. But it never worked right. I returned it and bought another one. It had the same issue. The lights have never worked right and it doesnt ever light up or do what it says its supposed to. but i heard sound and the mic worked and at the urging of the corsair employee i kept it. He promised to get me a new one or help me fix this one. But he said it sounded like it was in demo mode or something.

Now i did the update and it doesnt work at all. i tried restarting my comp. turning the headset on and off. pairing it with the dongle again by placing the dongle and headset into pairing mode (exactly what you said to do in the forum) nothing works. but its hard to know when its even in pairing mode because the lights dont work right.
Please help me. I am tired of having issues with this headset. please call or email directly at .
I tried to create a support ticket, but the submit button doesnt work.

Oh and my options in the cue dont have the option to force update. it wants me to browse for some file or image.. I dont understand any of this. I just want a working headset and for the $150.00 i paid for this, that shouldnt be too much to ask for.
And no matter what i turn on or off the cue doesnt ever say my headset is connected. It always says its "not connected".

Last edited by Technobeard; 10-17-2015 at 03:45 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-16-2015, 09:28 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,337
POST ID # = 814615
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Update your CUE software to the latest. It should have the force firmware option.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-16-2015, 01:30 PM
Corsair Chris Corsair Chris is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 381
POST ID # = 814654
Corsair Chris Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bunnzii View Post
Oh and my options in the cue dont have the option to force update. it wants me to browse for some file or image.. I dont understand any of this. I just want a working headset and for the $150.00 i paid for this, that shouldnt be too much to ask for.
And no matter what i turn on or off the cue doesnt ever say my headset is connected. It always says its "not connected".
Hey bunnzii, you'll need to download the most recent version of CUE. You can download that at corsair.com/downloads. Once you have that try the process again.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-16-2015, 05:38 PM
FilipNeedsHelp FilipNeedsHelp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 814705
FilipNeedsHelp Reputation: 10
Default

Hey, I have tried all the steps but the pairing wont still work. After the light flashed rapidily it never changed to solid white. What should I do?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-16-2015, 05:43 PM
Fizes Fizes is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 814706
Fizes Reputation: 10
Default

No luck for me. I couldn't get past step 6 (Connect headset when prompted in CUE) CUE never recognizes that the headset is connect by USB. This was after a failed firmware update. The headset just appears to be dead. Also, tried the repair with the dongle from the other threads and reinstalling CUE, but neither helped.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.