The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2014, 04:18 PM
rnio rnio is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 741958
rnio Reputation: 10
Default MACRO Programming WITHOUT CUE

Hi There,

my understanding is that one can assign key-press sequences to any key using the MR key ...

While running CUE this works ...

BUT when CUE is NOT running ... any programming seems to "not sick" ?!

I tried to assign a macro to a few keys whith CUE running ... tested ... all OK ... SAVED TO DEVICE ... and exit CUE ... ==> NOTHING

BTW, I assigned macros to the G-Keys as well as some F-Keys ...

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-15-2014, 04:40 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
The Crazy Developer
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,361
POST ID # = 741961
terabyte Reputation: 44
Default

No you're not doing anything wrong. The only thing that gets saved on the onboard profile is the static lighting for the buttons, no macro or lightning effects are saved. You need CUE running in background for those.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-15-2014, 05:04 PM
rnio rnio is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 741969
rnio Reputation: 10
Default

According to the PRESS release it should be possible to programm and access macros WITHOUT CUE:

Quote:
The keyboard includes 18 dedicated macro keys that can be programmed via software or on-the-fly, and macros and lighting profiles can be stored in onboard flash memory.
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/company...mice-unleashed
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-15-2014, 05:28 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
The Crazy Developer
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,361
POST ID # = 741970
terabyte Reputation: 44
Default

That press article is for the old non-RGB version I think. The article infact mentions CES 2013 and also the M95 mouse which does not have a RGB version unlike the M65.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-15-2014, 05:50 PM
rnio rnio is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 741973
rnio Reputation: 10
Default

That is correct ... but this is like saying the MX-RED can not be assigned a macro ...

RGB is just a different mechanical switch ... more colors ... but the underlying mechanics are still the same ==> macro programming without cue should still be possible.

At least one should be able to use CUE to create / assign a macro and when saved to the device it should be available when CUE is closed.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-15-2014, 06:22 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
The Crazy Developer
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,361
POST ID # = 741975
terabyte Reputation: 44
Default

Unfortunately no, they changed how it works.


Personally I think they should have changed name for the RGB products, with all those RGB and non K70, K95 and M65 it's a mess. With different names/codes there wouldn't be this much confusion.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-15-2014, 06:32 PM
cavemanbangs cavemanbangs is offline
Registered User
cavemanbangs's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 741976
cavemanbangs Reputation: 10
Default

"Onboard memory to take performance and lighting settings with you

Do you take your gaming to go? Built-in storage lets you set it up once, and take it anywhere."

<- when its advertised like this and no where stating that cue is required, before purchasing it is very misleading

on-board memory means on-board memory not hybrid on-board or kinda on-board - I can understand some macros not being able to run onboard but at least give it basic keystrokes

ps my mr button dosen't function at all have to do all my keystroke records from que
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-16-2014, 12:34 AM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,415
POST ID # = 742020
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavemanbangs View Post
"Onboard memory to take performance and lighting settings with you

Do you take your gaming to go? Built-in storage lets you set it up once, and take it anywhere."

<- when its advertised like this and no where stating that cue is required, before purchasing it is very misleading

on-board memory means on-board memory not hybrid on-board or kinda on-board - I can understand some macros not being able to run onboard but at least give it basic keystrokes

ps my mr button dosen't function at all have to do all my keystroke records from que
The performance settings refers to the performance tab in CUE while the lighting settings refer to the background static lighting. Unfortunately there isn't enough onboard memory to save actions or foreground lighting.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-16-2014, 03:21 PM
rnio rnio is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 742179
rnio Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the feedback ...

I understand the memory limitation for comlex lightning / effects ... however simple key-strocke macros should work ?!

I read in a related thread:

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=134460

that there is the possibility of HARDWARE playback ?!

Isn't the K95 RGB able to do this ?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-31-2015, 01:43 PM
ginormity ginormity is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 769700
ginormity Reputation: 10
Default

+1

Heck, I just want an assignment in device memory to launch Cue from a button after my Steam games are loaded to get around the Stream crash bugs.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-03-2015, 03:25 PM
DOA DOA is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 793344
DOA Reputation: 10
Default

Old thread, wish I had read it before buying my K95 LED Artistry Keyboard. I would have bought a gaming keyboard.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cue, k95 rgb, macro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.