The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2018, 11:33 AM
aceisme aceisme is offline
Registered User
aceisme's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 943653
aceisme Reputation: 10
Default Link 4 PSU fan control

I've noticed that I can't adjust my PSU fan below 40% with the Link 4 software. Previously I had no issues in doing so with an older Link software. Any reason why Corsair limited PSU fan adjustment to min 40%?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-08-2018, 09:48 AM
aceisme aceisme is offline
Registered User
aceisme's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 943951
aceisme Reputation: 10
Default

Could someone from Corsair please send feedback to Link development team to have the Custom Fan Adjustments starting lower than 40% in future Link releases? Preferably it should start at 0% (no fan spinning), but even 20% should be better than what it currently is on. I am using Corsair H850i power supply and the fan is quite loud at the minimum possible adjustment of 40%.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (40.2 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-08-2018, 09:52 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,799
POST ID # = 943952
DevBiker Reputation: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceisme View Post
Could someone from Corsair please send feedback to Link development team to have the Custom Fan Adjustments starting lower than 40% in future Link releases? Preferably it should start at 0% (no fan spinning), but even 20% should be better than what it currently is on. I am using Corsair H850i power supply and the fan is quite loud at the minimum possible adjustment of 40%.
Yeah, I've asked about this. I've been told it's "by design".
__________________
PSA: Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.
This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author.

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-08-2018, 11:57 PM
aceisme aceisme is offline
Registered User
aceisme's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 944025
aceisme Reputation: 10
Default

What exactly does "by design" mean? It's the code in the software that limits fan adjustments to a minimum of 40%. With older LINK software I could adjust fans less than 40%.
Bottom line, is this going to be looked at and fixed in future LINK release?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-09-2018, 02:59 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,799
POST ID # = 944038
DevBiker Reputation: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceisme View Post
What exactly does "by design" mean? It's the code in the software that limits fan adjustments to a minimum of 40%. With older LINK software I could adjust fans less than 40%.
Bottom line, is this going to be looked at and fixed in future LINK release?
From what I've been told, it's a requirement from the PSU team. So I'm thinking it's not likely. The only way to get zero RPM for the PSU is to set it to default and let the PSU do it's thing.
__________________
PSA: Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.
This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author.

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-09-2018, 03:58 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 1,333
POST ID # = 944040
Zotty Reputation: 49
Default

It should be noted that if you don't 'need' that fan running then don't run it. the PSU is one of the hardest to clean components in your Pc. while that fan isn't running it's not coating its self and its internals in insulating dust that's hard to remove ;).. This is prob part of the zero RPM design in the first place ;)..

Should also be noted that the Zero Rpm design is Factored into the Life span of the Psu and indeed the life span of the Fan.,, Fans do not like to be mounted horizontally. it's not good for their bearings. some times you have no choice though. the temp point the Fan starts to spin up is more than within the PSU's operating range.. I think i would prefer the fan lasted it's 10yrs than try to run it that little bit cooler 'because I can' and have it die earlier.....
__________________

Last edited by Zotty; 03-09-2018 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-09-2018, 09:12 AM
aceisme aceisme is offline
Registered User
aceisme's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 944054
aceisme Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
From what I've been told, it's a requirement from the PSU team. So I'm thinking it's not likely. The only way to get zero RPM for the PSU is to set it to default and let the PSU do it's thing.
Now that is really silly. Why 40% though? That's half of the max fan speed. They should at least bring it down to 30% surely.
I have just measured the fan speed. At 100% the fan spins at 1488 RPM. At 40% it spins at 736 RPM. That's like 50% not 40%. I need to be able to spin that fan around 500 RPM!!!
I would love to know the reason behind this requirement because to me it makes no sense.
Default setting is not an option for me because the fan stays OFF most of the time. While it might not sound like much, but a bit of air flow will bring the PSU temperature down by 10C (from 37C to 27C) on low load. Over a longer period, that will make a big difference in the PSU reliability.

Last edited by aceisme; 03-09-2018 at 09:33 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-09-2018, 09:31 AM
aceisme aceisme is offline
Registered User
aceisme's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 944056
aceisme Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
It should be noted that if you don't 'need' that fan running then don't run it. the PSU is one of the hardest to clean components in your Pc. while that fan isn't running it's not coating its self and its internals in insulating dust that's hard to remove ;).. This is prob part of the zero RPM design in the first place ;)...
But I do need that fan running, just not at 736 RPM. With my setup, I do not have a dust problem so the PSU will always stay clean inside. I never liked a zero RPM design idea for just about any electronic components let alone an 850W power supply. If I leave it on default, the fan doesn't spin until it gets to almost 300W. At that point the temperature inside will be around 60C. I wonder at this point what the temperature of the switching transistors would be.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-09-2018, 09:36 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 1,333
POST ID # = 944057
Zotty Reputation: 49
Default

get what your saying and every system is different,, used to run mine all the time lol... but now it's running stock and rarely goes over 40c
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-11-2018, 09:24 AM
aceisme aceisme is offline
Registered User
aceisme's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 944272
aceisme Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, my PSU rarely gets over 40C as well (not so in hot summer days), but even at this temperature the components inside will deteriorate in the long run. I like to have a continuous slow flow of air inside the PSU but not at 40% of the fan capacity. I would like to be able to get the fan down to at least 500 RPM or lower but the LINK-4 software would not allow me to do that. Previous LINK software I had no issues in achieving that low RPM range but not with this latest LINK software. I would like to hear an explanation from Corsair regarding this Link-4 limitation in PSU fan control. Why do they even give you a custom fan control if you can't even customise it to your needs?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.