The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2018, 12:22 PM
kons kons is offline
Registered User
kons's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 944475
kons Reputation: 10
Default Link problems

hi,
atm my link or my CCP are not working properly. but i already discussed that in another thread. in this thread i want to focus on another problem i experienced with link. when i try to reinstall, the uninstall program often fails, freezes, or doesn´t delete all files and program parts (sometimes it says succesfull but link 4 is still completely there) even with "delete config files" enabled.

also the installation often fails or says it´s done when it has done nothing. i even tried delteing everything manually.

ps:
between every step i restart to make sure it´s done properly

my sys:
win10 pro 64 bit
i7-8700k
2x(sli) gtx 1080
corsair dominator platinum 3200mhz 32gb(2x16)
msi z370 pro carbon
samsung 960pro 500gb
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-12-2018, 01:18 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,720
POST ID # = 944481
DevBiker Reputation: 57
Default

You can try the installer troubleshooter: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...led-or-removed.

Note that you should make sure that the Link service is completely stopped before trying to uninstall. You may need to do this in Task Manager.
__________________
PSA: Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.
This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-12-2018, 02:26 PM
kons kons is offline
Registered User
kons's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 944492
kons Reputation: 10
Default strange

i tried it again before using the tool, and suddenly it uninstalled and installed fine without problems. i don´t know why (btw. i always kill every running task/process before uninstalling)

Link still doesn´t find all fans and they have wrong rpm, but at least installation is working now.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-12-2018, 02:30 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,720
POST ID # = 944495
DevBiker Reputation: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kons View Post
i tried it again before using the tool, and suddenly it uninstalled and installed fine without problems. i don´t know why (btw. i always kill every running task/process before uninstalling)

Link still doesn´t find all fans and they have wrong rpm, but at least installation is working now.
Doesn't find all what fans? And what fans have the wrong RPM?

If they are fans attached to the motherboard, ignore it. Known issue to varying degrees with varying motherboards.
__________________
PSA: Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.
This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-20-2018, 01:20 AM
kons kons is offline
Registered User
kons's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 945624
kons Reputation: 10
Default

5 fans and 1 pump(read rpm only) are connected to the CCP. The CCP finds all fans on startup for about a second, then there are only 2 and they have either 50.000 rpm (fifty-thousand), zero rpm, or strange rpm like jumping between 0 and any number between 0 and 50.000. the fans itself stay either at 0rpm (rare), full speed(sometimes) or are fixed at 1200.

normally they go up to 1800 when i have over 35 degrees(celsius) water temp (sensor on ccp) and down to 500 when i have below 23 degrees and change in between depending on water temp but should be at about 800 (biggest temp range is set for 800 rpm).

so the rpm, fan count and the control are not working correctly. also the water temp is sometimes displayed incorrect (in the case corsair link shows it)

i check the real stats with aida64 because aida seems to be able to show the real fan rpm and water temp most of the time. because of that i think it´s more likely to be a link problem and maybe not a ccp one.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-20-2018, 06:41 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,720
POST ID # = 945639
DevBiker Reputation: 57
Default

Don't run Aida64 at the same time as Link. Or, if you do, don't have it monitor the Corsair devices (if that's possible; not familiar with Aida).
That's what is causing the problem. Only one application can access the Link hardware at a time. If Aida is reading from the Corsair device, Link can't. And vice-versa. It causes exactly the kind of behavior that you are seeing here.
__________________
PSA: Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.
This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.