The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2018, 11:05 AM
RedArrow RedArrow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 958749
RedArrow Reputation: 10
Question Link Control setup in a Corsair 460X case

Hello there! I hope I am posting this in the correct section... if not please forgive me ^,^

I am about to undertake a new Entry/mid level gaming PC Build and require some awnsers regarding the Corsair LL & SP Fans compatibility etc...

I've taken a look over at: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880 but the example setup diagrams don't cover what I'm trying to achieve.

I am going to be getting:
Corsair 460X Case which comes with three SP120 RGB LED fans
https://prnt.sc/ju31iu

in addition to this I also plan on getting a pack of "3x Corsair - LL120RGB LED (Three Fans With Lighting Node PRO)"
https://prnt.sc/ju314k

and "CORSAIR RGB LED Lighting PRO Expansion Kit".
https://prnt.sc/ju31s0

Now, the motherboard I'm going to be using only has a two Internal USB ports - So also thinking i will be needing a Internal USB Hub to allow me to connect all of the above.
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/aqua-...bb-003-aq.html

My questions:
1. With the NoPro that comes with the three LL120 fans be sufficient enough to also run the other three SP120 fans & the LED Strip? Or am I not able to use the SP fans on Corsair's Link software and forced to use the button controller to change lighting effects etc?

2. If the NoPro is not sufficient to achieve what I am wanting to do, will I have to get a CoPro? (As budget is tight and can't really stretch for this...)

3. If you have an idea on how I'd cable this- can you give me an example?

Any help or advice will be much appreciated!

many thanks,

RedArrow.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 06-12-2018, 11:32 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,676
POST ID # = 958753
DevBiker Reputation: 69
Default

You cannot have SP-RGB fans and LL-RGB fans on the same fan hub. The strips will be on one LED channel and the LL fans would be on the other channel.

You could run the SP-RGB fans from the controller/case switches - but you wouldn't have control with Link/iCue. Or, rather than getting the Expansion Pack, you could get the Strips with the NoPro - it'd be less expensive than the CoPro. You would then have two NoPros and 4 channels - 1 for the strips, 1 for the LL fans, 1 for the SP fans and 1 open channel. You would then be able to control all of the fans via Link/iCue. That said, a CoPro would provide those additional LED channels as well as 2 USB headers, thermistors and fan control. But I do understand budgetary considerations.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 06-12-2018, 12:01 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 1,556
POST ID # = 958756
Zotty Reputation: 49
Default

Hi Buddy

Have a read of the below thread :)

https://www.reddit.com/r/Corsair/com...questions_and/
__________________
No. NO!.. I Do NOT Work for Corsair. Just a User that's here in his own time that's trying to help YOU!


Last edited by Zotty; 06-12-2018 at 01:51 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-12-2018, 01:48 PM
RedArrow RedArrow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 958777
RedArrow Reputation: 10
Default

Many thanks DevBiker, for your post!

I never even considered getting the Strips with the NoPro!

I will do this, and also get the Internal USB Hub then.

Many thanks!!!! <3
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-12-2018, 03:13 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,676
POST ID # = 958786
DevBiker Reputation: 69
Default

No Problem!
The only thing that I would be concerned about is that I'm not sure if you'll have a second cable to connect one of the NoPros to the fan hub ... I don't recall if one comes with the strips. You will definitely have at least one with the LL fans. You can make them (see the link in my sig) or you can use inexpensive jumper cables - like sold for Arduino or RaspPi.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-08-2018, 05:46 PM
RedArrow RedArrow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 962669
RedArrow Reputation: 10
Smile

Hi Devbiker,

I have made a setup image simliar to your ones you used to show the layout...



1. Is that setup correct, or will it need to be configured differently, for it to all work correctly?

2. If I run the LL120 fans on ports 4,5 & 6 and the SP on 1, 2 & 3 will they be sync'd in order?

3. If the setup is correct, could you identify which cable I'd have to make as per your advice in your last post? (I have a reel of Cat6 so could use that i guess as it has 8 wires total in it)

Here is the .psd should you wish to change it easily without having to remake it, like I did lol
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WuR...ew?usp=sharing

Thanks for your help, much appreciated! :)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-11-2018, 10:27 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,676
POST ID # = 963018
DevBiker Reputation: 69
Default

1. The setup is correct; looks good.
2. You can't run the LL and the SP fans on the same fan hub at all. They use different LEDs and different protocols so there's no way to make that work. The Fan Hub is a pretty dumb device ... it just provides power and signal; there's no logic in the device at all.
3. You may need cables for connecting the NoPro to the Fan Hub. What I don't recall is how many of those cables come with a fan multipack. If you have 2 of those cables in there, you're good. They are pretty easy to recognize as it's a 3-pin connector with only 2 cables. Unfortunately, these connectors aren't available separately. As I mentioned, you can use jumper cables (similar to https://www.frys.com/product/8521649...iABEgK7V_D_BwE) to jury-rig it. It won't have clips and won't be secure but it'll work.

Also, make sure that you have the fan RPM connections planned. Those aren't handled by the NoPro or the Fan Hub. It'll be a separate wire.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-11-2018, 10:45 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 1,556
POST ID # = 963024
Zotty Reputation: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedArrow View Post
Hi Devbiker,

I have made a setup image simliar to your ones

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
looks good.
Diagram Dad 2
__________________
No. NO!.. I Do NOT Work for Corsair. Just a User that's here in his own time that's trying to help YOU!

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-11-2018, 12:11 PM
RedArrow RedArrow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 963042
RedArrow Reputation: 10
Default

@DevBiker
Awesome, honestly fella thank you so much for all your help! I'd probably have wasted so much time trying to figure this out on my own when I had all the parts and a 13 year old hounding me for his new PC! Haha, so you have saved me much heart ache. :)

Yes, okay- I'm fine to make some cables should I need to, just have to double check what comes with what parts now and then order additional connectors should I need any.

@Zotty

Hehe, I figured making a diagram is just so much easier to explain and understand than putting it into three paragraphs lol.

I could refine the groups and layers in the .psd and post it on here, should anyone else want a 'easy' to use diagram template to plan their rig lighting on. Think it'd be worth me doing?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-11-2018, 01:22 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 1,556
POST ID # = 963053
Zotty Reputation: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedArrow View Post

@Zotty

Hehe, I figured making a diagram is just so much easier to explain and understand than putting it into three paragraphs lol.
Indeed dude. totally agree :). Visual aids work!
__________________
No. NO!.. I Do NOT Work for Corsair. Just a User that's here in his own time that's trying to help YOU!

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.