The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:44 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 314418
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default Brief PSU Functionality Test

In many cases, users doing troubleshooting have a situation where there is no apparent power to any portion of the system. They often wonder how they can test the PSU to see if it is working. Short of having a proper PSU tester, you can use this method to do a "quick n dirty" test to see if the PSU will spin up and power the 12v rails.

UPDATE FOR CORSAIR FANLESS MODE PSUs OCTOBER 2012

This same test is valid with our current PSUs models that utilize a Fanless Mode. Our PSUs with Fanless Mode at low loads do not spin up the fan at low loads. The fan will only spin up at certain loads so the PSU fan will not spin on a simple test like this. Be sure to check the specifications for your PSU to see if it does have a fanless mode.

If you are using the "paper clip test" we've listed here, you'll need to connect a component to the PSU that will present a load to the PSU and also allow you to see if it is getting power. A cooling fan is a great option so that you can see that fan spinning. Of course, using a volt meter is the best option.

1. Disconnect the PSU from ALL components in the system.
2. Hook 1 or more cooling fans to the PSU to give it a load. (You can use other items such as HDs but, I recommend using something cheaper and less fragile like a fan)
3. Get a small piece of wire, paper clip, or suitable object and short the 2 pins illustrated below. The voltage present is a very low signaling voltage so no worries of being shocked.

The fans should spin right up. This is not a bullet proof test but, it will let you know if your PSU is powering up properly.

We have also added a video tutorial demonstrating how to perform this test.

Attached Images
File Type: gif atx.gif (2.4 KB, 102781 views)

Last edited by Technobeard; 05-09-2014 at 11:04 PM.


  #2  
Old 10-26-2007, 06:38 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 314438
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default



1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 12-27-2007, 06:56 PM
optimusplaya optimusplaya is offline
Registered User
optimusplaya's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 323858
optimusplaya Reputation: 10
Default

This test doesn't ensure the PSU will be able to power a system, it just ensures it has a current? This test works to power a fan on my newly built system but when I try to power the motherboard and accessories- it gives off a soft clicking noise.


  #4  
Old 01-13-2008, 05:44 PM
Acreo Aeneas Acreo Aeneas is offline
Registered User
Acreo Aeneas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 326197
Acreo Aeneas Reputation: 10
Default

The test is very basic and is supposed to give a builder an indication as to whether or not the PSU is still functional (working). It does not mean it will handle a particular system's load.


  #5  
Old 01-25-2008, 04:23 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 328133
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Also, keep in mind that some users will do a test like this with no load on the PSU. With no load, the PSU may or may not spin up and if it does, it may emit a clicking sound. This is why you need to put a load on the PSU, like a fan or other device.


  #6  
Old 03-11-2008, 08:06 AM
Brave Brave is offline
Registered User
Brave's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
POST ID # = 335849
Brave Reputation: 10
Default

Just for information... I have a Enermax infinity 720 PSU and it won't let you do this. I just beeps at you to tell you its detected a fault.
(this can be a pain if you want to leak test your latest and greatest Water block)


  #7  
Old 04-10-2008, 10:48 AM
Samwise Samwise is offline
Registered User
Samwise's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 341937
Samwise Reputation: 10
Happy Thank You

This is my first build. I plugged in the Corsair 520 PSU, flipped the switch and nothing happened. I thought it was DOA. I found this thread and conducted the test and sure enough everything is fine.


  #8  
Old 05-19-2008, 09:04 AM
nouze nouze is offline
Registered User
nouze's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: belgium
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 348775
nouze Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,

Just buy the 620HX (but not yet the MB).
I want to test it.
Before trying with the paperclip : may i use the same pins for an european version of this psu ?

Thanks.


  #9  
Old 05-20-2008, 12:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 349089
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nouze View Post
Hello,

Just buy the 620HX (but not yet the MB).
I want to test it.
Before trying with the paperclip : may i use the same pins for an european version of this psu ?

Thanks.
Yes, it is the same.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.


  #10  
Old 05-21-2008, 04:45 AM
nouze nouze is offline
Registered User
nouze's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: belgium
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 349296
nouze Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks a lot

Still a great customer service since my last visit


  #11  
Old 02-11-2010, 05:18 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 439115
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP Please let us know if you have any more questions!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.