The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2015, 09:53 PM
snuffered snuffered is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 775557
snuffered Reputation: 10
Default Enable demo Mode while off

I guess I am one of the few that likes to have the rainbow "demo mode" on while my computer is turned off. I searched for an answer to this but couldnt find anything. I just bought the keyboard today and when I initially plugged it into my computer before turning it on and with no software installed, the demo mode started a couple of seconds later.

Now after I have a profile installed and CUE installed, it no longer works while it is turned off. Does anyone know of a way to have it back on? Or to at least have my profile stay on after shutting down? I've seen suggestions with messing with BIOS options, but I didn't touch any before or after the keyboard install.

My mobo is an asus z87 plus is that helps.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 04-27-2015, 02:44 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,298
POST ID # = 775787
Corsair James Reputation: 69
Default

The demo mode will come on if you are supplying USB power to the keyboard even when the system is off. Some motherboards will allow you to do so (even though its not USB spec) as a type of phone charging mode.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 04-28-2015, 12:56 AM
snuffered snuffered is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 775930
snuffered Reputation: 10
Default

Oddly enough it worked before I installed the CUE software, now that it is installed, it no longer does it. This is on windows 8.1, no changes in BIOS and I even unchecked the "allow the computer to turn this off to save power" options on all the USBs on my mobo. It's plugged into a USB 3.0 slot.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 04-29-2015, 07:55 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,298
POST ID # = 776379
Corsair James Reputation: 69
Default

I'm not aware of any changes to the USB parameters which may impact this. Disable ErP in the BIOS though to see if it makes a difference.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 04-29-2015, 08:16 PM
Jer Jer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 776387
Jer Reputation: 10
Default

I don't care about when the computer is powered off... but I wish there was a way for animated lighting to happen while the computer is on the lock screen.

As soon as I lock my computer the "default" profile triggers, but no lighting effects happen.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-29-2015, 08:31 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,298
POST ID # = 776388
Corsair James Reputation: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jer View Post
I don't care about when the computer is powered off... but I wish there was a way for animated lighting to happen while the computer is on the lock screen.

As soon as I lock my computer the "default" profile triggers, but no lighting effects happen.
When the system is locked, it blocks the application from running sadly. The only way to bypass this is if the keyboard has onboard memory and computing power to do the pattern without communication from the SW.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-29-2015, 08:38 PM
Jer Jer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 776390
Jer Reputation: 10
Default

So then I just have to...make the software run as a service... :) I'll have to give it a shot.

I love the idea of my office being completely dark at night...but every 10 seconds a wave of color flies across the keyboard.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-08-2015, 10:33 AM
snuffered snuffered is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 778060
snuffered Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
I'm not aware of any changes to the USB parameters which may impact this. Disable ErP in the BIOS though to see if it makes a difference.
ErP is disabled at the moment. I have looked at a lot of the guides to disable the lighting while it is off, and did the opposite. Are there any documents I can show you to help maybe figure this out?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-08-2015, 02:29 PM
whining turtle whining turtle is offline
Registered User
whining turtle's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 778121
whining turtle Reputation: 10
Default

Captain? What's demo mode, what does it look like and how do I enable it? This keyboard doesn't work in my BIOS for whatever reason though
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-08-2015, 07:04 PM
snuffered snuffered is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 778163
snuffered Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
When the system is locked, it blocks the application from running sadly. The only way to bypass this is if the keyboard has onboard memory and computing power to do the pattern without communication from the SW.

So it looks like it was the profile that I had saved to the device memory that was making it completely blank while my computer was off. I bought another k70 with brown switches instead and plugged it in while the computer was off and demo mode came on.

After I turned the computer on, it synced up with CUE and took the profile i was using on my red switch k70. When I turned it back off (without saving a profile to the brown k70 memory), it did the standard red/white solid colors and stayed on that permanently, so it has to do with what is saved to the devices memory, I guess.

The next question is how to make the rainbow wave show instead of the red/white

Last edited by snuffered; 05-08-2015 at 07:12 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-08-2015, 08:06 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,298
POST ID # = 778173
Corsair James Reputation: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snuffered View Post
So it looks like it was the profile that I had saved to the device memory that was making it completely blank while my computer was off. I bought another k70 with brown switches instead and plugged it in while the computer was off and demo mode came on.

After I turned the computer on, it synced up with CUE and took the profile i was using on my red switch k70. When I turned it back off (without saving a profile to the brown k70 memory), it did the standard red/white solid colors and stayed on that permanently, so it has to do with what is saved to the devices memory, I guess.

The next question is how to make the rainbow wave show instead of the red/white
Demo mode isn't stored on the onboard memory that works with CUE. It's saved to the actual hardware on the keyboard that isn't modifiable by the end user.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-09-2015, 01:48 PM
snuffered snuffered is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 778286
snuffered Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
Demo mode isn't stored on the onboard memory that works with CUE. It's saved to the actual hardware on the keyboard that isn't modifiable by the end user.
Okay, so it just defaults to it when the computer is off? Any way to change it to the rainbow demo mode rather than the red/white?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 05-12-2015, 06:06 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,298
POST ID # = 778848
Corsair James Reputation: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snuffered View Post
Okay, so it just defaults to it when the computer is off? Any way to change it to the rainbow demo mode rather than the red/white?
The red/white is whats saved to the onboard memory so you can change the background color. For rainbow waves, there has to be only power going through USB port and no enumeration.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-12-2018, 10:28 PM
desolator4u desolator4u is offline
Registered User
desolator4u's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 954428
desolator4u Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
The red/white is whats saved to the onboard memory so you can change the background color. For rainbow waves, there has to be only power going through USB port and no enumeration.
Well I had to do that hold Esc while plugging in my K70 LUX because of problems I have with the keyboard, but now the default static rainbow is gone. I have full red with white on WASD and arrow keys. How do I re-enable that demo mode?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 05-16-2018, 04:03 PM
desolator4u desolator4u is offline
Registered User
desolator4u's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 954937
desolator4u Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desolator4u View Post
Well I had to do that hold Esc while plugging in my K70 LUX because of problems I have with the keyboard, but now the default static rainbow is gone. I have full red with white on WASD and arrow keys. How do I re-enable that demo mode?
So... Anyone???
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.