Corsair Community

H115i with i7 7700K - CPU overheatting

pbcal

Hello,

I am new to liquid cooling. Installed my new H115i with a lot of expectation and excitement. But the excitement did not last too long since the cooler performed worse than my previous air cooler.

The cooler temperature does not increase with the CPU temperature. With stock frequency the CPU goes around 65 c under load. But H115i stays close to room temperature of 22.

When I try to over clock the cpu to 4.8, the cpu temp goes to 100 instantly under load, but again cooler temp stays under 30.

I read about the loose backplate issue and added washer to the back to make it fit better. But the results did not change.

Any suggestion to improve the cooler performance will be greatly appreciated.

I did mount the cooler properly. I am new to liquid cooling not PC building. The connection are simple. Single wire pump power goes to the CPU Fan header on the motherboard, The 2 wire power connector goes to the Sata power from power supply and the fans connect to the fan header from the pump unit. The last is the usb 2.0 cable.

I tried to change the pump speed in Corsair link software. I changed the speed from 1980 rpm (quiet) to 2940 rpm (performance), but i do not hear and pump noise from the cooler head. I did change the UEFI setup to keep the FAN on to have constant supply for the pump. How do I make sure the pump is actually running and is not broken?

How do I make sure the pump is actually running and is not broken?

By comparing the H115i Temp (coolant temp) to both local environmental and CPU temperatures. In your case, the pump is not broken. When this is the case, that H115i temp will start climbing the moment you hit power and slowly build up into the 50C range and beyond.