The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2018, 08:28 AM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 983946
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default Thinking of switching case, need advice

Hi there,

I know have a Phanteks Enthoo Luxe case but i'm considering switching to another one.

I'm looking for tempered glass sides, good airflow and silence, RGB ready...

I have a maximus Hero X, an EVGA 1080ti, an AIO Corsair H150i.

I was considering the Corsair Obsidian 500D RGB Se Premium but :

There is no room for DVD / bluray player but well i could always buy an external one later?


Here's what i'm considering buying to replace my Phanteks enthoo luxe and the silent wings fan I have inside

I saw that a 360 aio can only fit on the front, as intake then. I always had my AIO on the front as exhaust, I always thought that was better for the temps but would that really change something?

Are the fans delivered with the case, (LL I think?) good or a bit noisy compared to ML one? Also could I switch the 3 front fans delivred with it with the one i have on my AIO too?


i'm thinking of taking that :

So.. i'm thinking of taking:


Corsair Obsidian 500D RGB SE Premium, Noir Boitier PC

Corsair LL120 RGB, rear exhaust, 1 fan

Corsair LL140 RGB, top exhaust, 2 fans

And use the 3 LL included for the AIO



With my rig i'm not sure i do need a full tower

Motherboard: Asus Maximus Hero X
Processor: i7 8700k
GPU : GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
Ram : 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
PSU: Corsair RMI 850 GOLD
Watercooling : Corsair H150i Pro RGB
HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
SSD:
Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go
Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go x2

thanks for your advices

Last edited by elric75; 12-06-2018 at 11:44 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-06-2018, 01:17 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,569
POST ID # = 983997
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

A) Yes, you can get an external BluRay. Or, if you have an existing one, there are enclosures that you can use for it.

B) Front-mounted radiators are typically configured as intake, not exhaust. While this does impact internal case temperatures, it also gives you better coolant/CPU temperatures. Your biggest heat producer inside a water cooled system will be the GPU. And the heat from the radiator will be minimal compared to the heat from your GPU. When a radiator is configured as exhaust, you need to take the GPU heat into consideration as that may wind up being blown into the radiator, actually warming it up.

C) The LL fans will be fine for your configuration. The ML fans are a bit quieter and are better at pushing air through a radiator, especially at low RPMs. But, to be honest, the differences with your setup would likely be minimal.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-06-2018, 01:39 PM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 984001
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks ! Do you think i'll get better temps than with my actual phanteks?

With potentially 6 RGB fans and one led strip, i only need the commander and no lighting node right?

Last edited by elric75; 12-06-2018 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-06-2018, 01:56 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,569
POST ID # = 984004
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elric75 View Post
Thanks ! Do you think i'll get better temps than with my actual phanteks?

With potentially 6 RGB fans and one led strip, i only need the commander and no lighting node right?
One Commander Pro has 2 lighting channels. Each lighting channel supports a single RGB Fan Hub (up to 6 fans) or up to 6 strips. So ... yes, that configuration would work. Fan Hub splitters allow you to put two fan hubs on a single channel. These are 3rd party and not supported by Corsair ... but they do work well.

Would your temps be any better? It's impossible for me to say.

Have you checked out the RGB FAQ? That's a great place to get started ...
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-06-2018, 01:58 PM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 984005
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah I looked it up but l wanted to be sure :)

Well i'm thinking about it, my case is ok but this Obsidian looks really really nice...
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-06-2018, 04:04 PM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 984025
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

Oh i was wondering, if i want to have for example
3 fans (of the AIO) with red color
1 fan on the read with purple color
1 led strip (do i need all those? https://www.bestbuy.com/site/corsair...E&gclsrc=aw.ds ?)

I will need the lightning node no if i got it right.

Besides that, if i get the commander and the LN, i won't have space for an HDD, no? I see that the back of the case there is space for 3 SSD and 2 HDD but where do you put the commander and the LNP if needed?

thanks again
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-06-2018, 05:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,569
POST ID # = 984044
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Each individual LED is controllable via iCUE. So yes, you can do 3 fans with one color and 1 fan with another. Heck, you could set a different color on each individual LED.
As for the strips - they only come in 4 packs. Corsair doesn't sell them individually.

And as long as you have one type of fan, then you are good - you'll have one channel for the fans and 1 channel for the strip(s).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-06-2018, 06:07 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,038
POST ID # = 984056
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 103
Default

It's hard to make direct case performance comparisons without owning them both. However, you should be able to find some professional reviews out there that measure thermal properties.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-07-2018, 03:41 AM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 984139
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks !

I've ordered the obsidian

+ 3 pack ML 120 RGB and LNP for the radiator (Since having different kind of fans can be messy i'll made a hub for the ML )
I just hope i wont lack space for it since I have 1 HDD and 3 SSD..

+ Cordair LED Strip

Is it all good ?

I'll used the LL included with the case for rear and top exhaust, is it ok to have 2x120 on the top or would it be really better to switch to 140 later?

Thanks !
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-07-2018, 09:15 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 5,569
POST ID # = 984174
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Sure, the 120 is OK to use. I, personally, like to use 140mm wherever possible as you'll get more air flow with less noise due to the larger fans.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-07-2018, 09:19 AM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 984176
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah i'm aware of that but with that solution it would cost me a bit less :)

So with all those i'll be all good?


To power the AIO fan, should i use the commander or can I leave it on the pump

How should I plug things for RGB since i'll get two types of fans btw? I checked on the rgb topic but can't find an answer. I will only have one LNP, one hub and one commander of course; i suppose i would need one extra hub no?

is that the right diagram?




So i still plug the aio fans on the pump of the aio and not on the commander?

Last edited by elric75; 12-07-2018 at 11:12 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-07-2018, 07:33 PM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 107
POST ID # = 984268
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

You can plug the fans into either the H150i or the Commander Pro.

With only six fans you can get by with only one RGB hub.

Depending on how many LED strips you use you could plug them into the CoPro as well and eliminate the lighting node. The 500D does not have a lot of extra space on the back side so the fewer items needed the better. I've got two Commanders, two RGB hubs and a Lighting Node and honestly it's a friggin mess. I can't even put on the back glass panel. There are a lot of shortcomings in this case you don't realize until you start the build. I've had mine a month an am already looking for something else as nice looking as it is.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 12-08-2018, 06:15 AM
elric75 elric75 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 52
POST ID # = 984332
elric75 Reputation: 10
Default

Well i just plan to put one led strip around the case, would that be ok with one plug for that?

I canceled the ML order and will go only with LL and one led strip around the case to illuminate the inside.

I received the case today but i'm waiting for the fans.

I ordered via amazon but I dont know if it's normal but the commander was already glued... to the inside window ! I had to take it apart to put it on the back, I hope it will still be ok, it was just the two plastic parts around the electronic parts

So in the end it will be this simple diagram :

Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 12-08-2018, 11:46 AM
Hockster2's Avatar
Hockster2 Hockster2 is offline
Chronic Upgrader
Hockster2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 107
POST ID # = 984370
Hockster2 Reputation: 10
Default

The commander was not supposed to be glued to the window, but quality control seems poor. There's been a number of similar complaints. Mine was stuck to the PSU shroud and not straight at all. The RGB hub was stuck to the back wall. I had to replace the double sided tape on both pieces.

That configuration will work fine. Use some painters tape and label each power and RGB wire so it's easy to match fans when doing the assembly.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 12-08-2018, 01:06 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,235
POST ID # = 984374
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

To add to the above info.. I made a 500d se rgb set up thread.. might be worth the read..

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=182614


Nice diagrams btw :D
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.