The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > CORSAIR ONE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2017, 05:09 PM
dartmin dartmin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 927218
dartmin Reputation: 10
Default RMA - Really?

So had my Corsair one since the 06/10/17 - after a few days and all setup noticed the main fan was clicking at low speeds after running fast. A few days more and now a constant click @ 400rpm. If you ramp the speed up to full it stops when it goes past 500rpm -- so clearly a fan fault.

Corsairs answer - RMA the whole PC!!! - for what should be a simple fan swap out

Spoke to Scan - they said they would discuss with Corsair and arrange for the fan to be sent - a lot cheaper in cost and time - especially given the time I would be without the main PC.

Chased a few times \ been sent .... chase again - \ dispatched
Chase again - will check - to then get a no will have to RMA the whole PC.

WTF! Really?

Why can I not get a new fan and just plug it can.

Cannot even find where to buy the exact (not a retail one - they are different) just to save the grief

Not what I would expect from a premium company.

Could stop the ticking if I could find a way to change the default from 400rpm at rest to 500rpm.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-21-2017, 08:12 PM
Corsair Alan's Avatar
Corsair Alan Corsair Alan is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Alan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 927268
Corsair Alan Reputation: 10
Default

Hi dartmin,

Which unit of CORSAIR ONE do you have? Pro? Ti? Base?

I will see on my end if I can get you a replacement fan.

I do want to request you send in the faulty fan so we can do a proper failure analysis on the part.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-22-2017, 04:05 PM
dartmin dartmin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 927368
dartmin Reputation: 10
Default

This one

https://www.scan.co.uk/products/cors...2tb-hdd-11gb-g

purchased from Scan - they have tried to get just the fan - but to no joy

thanks for looking into

I can put a video up of the clicking if you want?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-22-2017, 09:23 PM
Corsair Alan's Avatar
Corsair Alan Corsair Alan is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Alan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 927406
Corsair Alan Reputation: 10
Default

please do so we can look further into the issue.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-23-2017, 04:21 PM
dartmin dartmin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 927494
dartmin Reputation: 10
Default

Hi

first 10 secs at 400rpm - then hit max and back again


Last edited by dartmin; 11-23-2017 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-23-2017, 05:27 PM
dartmin dartmin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 927503
dartmin Reputation: 10
Default

Ok - so to confirm

I have just brought a ML140 and put this in place as a temp solution

clears the noise, not a problem - the only issue is the low and max are too high
the base is 400rpm with original - currently 800rpm on ML140
max is 1300rpm with original - currently 2000rpm on ML140

so a lot louder in "wind" but no mind-bending clicking

Last edited by dartmin; 11-23-2017 at 06:25 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-25-2017, 07:27 AM
dartmin dartmin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 927689
dartmin Reputation: 10
Default

Ok - looks like my only plan is to buy a new one and then return this as DOA for a refund
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-27-2017, 05:24 PM
Corsair Alan's Avatar
Corsair Alan Corsair Alan is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Alan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 928048
Corsair Alan Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Dartmin,

When you removed the lid with the original fan still attached, did it still make the same noise? That sounds like its hitting something.
PM your RMA #/ Support ticket #
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-27-2017, 06:59 PM
dartmin dartmin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 928068
dartmin Reputation: 10
Default

Hi Alan,

Yes - it made the same noise I also started the PC up with the lid removed and the noise was coming from the bearing area. to make sure I was not hearing things I swapped the fans back when I realised the other fan ran faster and the noise returned. Putting the new fan back means more wind noise but no "tick"

Scan have spoken to corsair - and the only option is RMA --- so it looks like I will buy a new corsair one PC, backup my OS and restore onto the new and return as DOA for a refund!

PM inbound

Cheers
Dave.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.