The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2010, 12:23 AM
morgaad1 morgaad1 is offline
Registered User
morgaad1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 463118
morgaad1 Reputation: 10
Default Macbook Pro 15.4 2.8 Ghz Core 2 Duo

I have a Macbook Pro with 2 x 2GB of apple OEM ram. I purchased some corsair ram CM3X4GSD1066, which according to Tigerdirects memorator memory wizard, this was supposed to work. I put it in and the computer seemed to boot fine. The new ram registered in "About this MAC" an it seemed alot faster, then all the sudden computer crashed . message says hold down power button until power turns off. Did this 3 or 4 times. turned off computer, re seated RAM, rebooted, Reset PRAM as apple crash help suggested. still crashes after less than 5 minutes.

Your Memory lookup tool does not show me any results for my computer. I don't see directions for memtester on MAC...

How can I make this work?

Thanks

-Andy
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-25-2010, 04:23 PM
morgaad1 morgaad1 is offline
Registered User
morgaad1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 463238
morgaad1 Reputation: 10
Default Macbook Pro 15.4 2.8 Ghz Core 2 Duo

Anyone?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-25-2010, 05:22 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,181
POST ID # = 463255
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Please wait 24 hours before bumping a thread. Please keep in mind that Corsair's PST.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-25-2010, 09:04 PM
morgaad1 morgaad1 is offline
Registered User
morgaad1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 463300
morgaad1 Reputation: 10
Default woops

Sorry about that.

After reading some posts on here I got to trying some things other people tried.

I tried swapping the corsair ram to different slots ( theres only 2). Still having issues.

-tried one old ram and one new ram, still has issue
-tried the same old ram and the other new ram, -this worked.....:-)

So, I kind of answered my question about this being the correct ram...I'm thinking yes this ram is correct, and that it's just one of the new ram modules that is malfunctioning.

I am thinking I should get an RMA and return this malfunctioning module.

QUESTION: but....should I return it to corsair...or the place of purchase???

Last edited by morgaad1; 08-25-2010 at 09:07 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:45 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,270
POST ID # = 463484
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It is up to you for where you want to return the module, we are more than happy to replace the module for you.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-21-2010, 12:52 PM
QuantumString QuantumString is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 472576
QuantumString Reputation: 10
Default

I know this is over 2 months ago so I apologize.

This particular Corsair module is a 2Gb x 8 configuration in terms of DRAMS, which, is something that I noticed is a common theme for memory that is advertised as MacBook and MacBook Pro compatible.

But I just dropped this in a 13.3" 2GHz late 2008 unibody MacBook and got it to work. Stock original memory, 1x1GB modules (Hynix manufactured, CL 7-7-7, 1.5v). When I first dropped in the Corsair 4GB module I dropped it into DIMM0 and left a 1GB Hynix in DIMM1. The MacBook booted up fine but only saw the Hynix. I then removed the 1GB Hynix completely and moved the Corsair into DIMM1 and all was well. Finally, I placed a Hynix module into DIMM0 and left the Corsair in DIMM1 and the system booted up flawlessly and saw all 5GB. The MacBook goes into sleep and out of sleep just fine. I then booted into single user mode and ran a memory test for 2 hours and everything came out with flying colors.

The memtest I grabbed: http://www.command-tab.com/2008/01/1...nder-mac-os-x/

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.