The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > Overclocking and Benchmarking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2018, 07:59 PM
etothehizzo etothehizzo is offline
Registered User
etothehizzo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 954800
etothehizzo Reputation: 10
Default My first attempt to overclock

Hello,

I'm new at this; I'm hoping someone more experienced can help me out.

I went into my BIOS and increased my multiplier to 47, and also disabled turbo mode and c-states . . . but when i stress test my system the multiplier on CPU-Z has "47" indicated in the parentheses but it stays at 42 (my default) and even at 100% usage of the CPU it never goes above 4.2 GHz (my default max).

Any suggestions would be really appreciated!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-16-2018, 01:41 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 940
POST ID # = 954836
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

I have no experience with the EVGA Z270 Models myself, but maybe you need to leave the turbo enabled for them to make use of the max multiplier. Also check if you did set a single core turbo or an all core turbo value, there might be an option to toggle between both (if you can not set a multi for each core individually).

Finally compare performance between x42 and x47 with XTU oder Cinebench.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-17-2018, 05:41 PM
etothehizzo etothehizzo is offline
Registered User
etothehizzo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 955087
etothehizzo Reputation: 10
Default

Yup def set it for all the cores. What info will the Cinebench give me exactly???
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-17-2018, 05:42 PM
etothehizzo etothehizzo is offline
Registered User
etothehizzo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 955088
etothehizzo Reputation: 10
Default thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
I have no experience with the EVGA Z270 Models myself, but maybe you need to leave the turbo enabled for them to make use of the max multiplier. Also check if you did set a single core turbo or an all core turbo value, there might be an option to toggle between both (if you can not set a multi for each core individually).

Finally compare performance between x42 and x47 with XTU oder Cinebench.
Definitely set it for all cores. What info will the Cinebench give me exactly???
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-18-2018, 12:18 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 940
POST ID # = 955118
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Cinebench provides single and multi core performance scores. So you should see performance differences from changing single and all core turbo values.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.