The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2013, 08:23 AM
faschimi faschimi is offline
Registered User
faschimi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 633630
faschimi Reputation: 10
Default CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 - Not so identical kits

Dear folks,

In December 2010, I purchased from Amazon.com a CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 memory kit, to be installed on a new computer which I was assembling. The two 4 GB memory sticks were installed on an ASROCK 890Fx Deluxe4 motherboard, along with an AMD Phenom II X6 processor.

During the past two years the memory has worked flawless, so I decided to purchase a second CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 kit, again from Amazon, to expand the total RAM memory to 16 GB, the maximum allowed by the motherboard. And I did it clicking on the same advertised product on Amazon which I purchased two years ago:
http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-PC3-10...0716344&sr=1-1

Believing that I was dealing with four identical memory sticks, I have just installed the two new sticks and turn on the computer. And I got... BSOD. So, I would have to run some tests on Memtest86+...

First, I checked the memory settings on the BIOS setup. When I installed the first two sticks two years ago, I have to manually set the frequency, the voltage and the timings to 1333 MHz, 1.5 V and 9-9-9-24, because in the AUTO settings these values were completely different (1066 MHz, 1.6 V and 8-8-8-20 - and these AUTO settings also causes BSOD).

I tested on Memtest86+ the sticks of the new kit, first one at a time, then the two sticks together and finally the four sticks. I also did some "fine tune" in the BIOS settings, then cleared the CMOS... but the fact is that each kit works alone, but when they are all together, Memtest86 reports some few errors, almost always in tests #4 and #6:
12022013345.jpg

I also ran CPU-Z and this is the weird situation: despite of having the same part number, the sticks apparently do not have the same specifications...

- Stick of the first kit (purchased in Dec/10):


Stick photo: 12022013346.jpg

- Stick of the second kit (purchased in Jan/13):


Stick photo: 12022013348.jpg

So, the questions are:
- Why do these sticks have different specifications, if they have the same part number?
- Is there a way to put all these sticks to work together, without BSODs or errors reported by Memtest86+?

The "memory" section of the motherboard BIOS setup is very comprehensive, there are lots of parameters to be set. Maybe I'm missing something…

Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: png cpuz4-1.png (10.4 KB, 644 views)
File Type: png cpuz4-2.png (10.4 KB, 695 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-13-2013, 08:27 AM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 633631
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

no such thing, combining 2 kits are not supported.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-13-2013, 08:31 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 633632
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
So, the questions are:
- Why do these sticks have different specifications, if they have the same part number?
- Is there a way to put all these sticks to work together, without BSODs or errors reported by Memtest86+?
Are they different version numbers? As synthohol pointed out Corsair does not suggest or support mixing combining memory for the very reason you are facing now.

It's always best to replace and not add or get one single matched kit that needs to be capacity you are wanting.

Quote:
I tested on Memtest86+ the sticks of the new kit, first one at a time, then the two sticks together and finally the four sticks. I also did some "fine tune" in the BIOS settings, then cleared the CMOS... but the fact is that each kit works alone, but when they are all together, Memtest86 reports some few errors, almost always in tests #4 and #6:
This would be from mixing the two kits. If they work alone and not combined there may be nothing you can do to get them stable.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-13-2013, 08:47 AM
faschimi faschimi is offline
Registered User
faschimi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 633634
faschimi Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
Are they different version numbers? As synthohol pointed out Corsair does not suggest or support mixing combining memory for the very reason you are facing now.
Please check the sticks photos... The one from the first kit is ver8.11 and the second kit is ver8.16.

But how could I know these version numbers before actually buying the kit?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-13-2013, 09:01 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 633636
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
Please check the sticks photos... The one from the first kit is ver8.11 and the second kit is ver8.16.

But how could I know these version numbers before actually buying the kit?
You can't unless your buying them from a local shop or something where you can actually see the numbers. Most places on the Internet or other large chains like Newegg and amazon won't let you see what they have in stock or have no way of letting you ask for a specific version.

Again, though this is why only one kit per MB is supported. It's not just Corsair, it's all memory manufactures. As technology mover forward things change and they all get their chips from the same pool of manufacturers. So if the manufacturers change or update the chips thats what will be used ..
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-13-2013, 01:54 PM
faschimi faschimi is offline
Registered User
faschimi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 633703
faschimi Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
Again, though this is why only one kit per MB is supported. It's not just Corsair, it's all memory manufactures. As technology mover forward things change and they all get their chips from the same pool of manufacturers. So if the manufacturers change or update the chips thats what will be used ..
Very disappointed with this... if the things change, the part number also must be changed. I am aware of the implications of mixing memory sticks with different specifications, that is why I choose to buy the same kit. But I was expecting it was the same product of two years ago.

peanutz94, thank you very much for your help!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-13-2013, 02:17 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 633713
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Quote:
Very disappointed with this... if the things change, the part number also must be changed. I am aware of the implications of mixing memory sticks with different specifications, that is why I choose to buy the same kit. But I was expecting it was the same product of two years ago.
NP, and I do understand the disappointment. But this just doesn't effect Corsair . It is industry wide since they all get the chips from the same pool of vendors and why it is always suggested to either get one kit right off the bat that meets your needs or to replace your existing memory and not add to it. If the chip vendors dont produce a certain size anymore the manufacturers have to make revisions to their modules to reflect that .

At any rate if you need anything else we'll be here.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bsod, cmx8gx3m2a1333c9, frequency, memtest86+, timming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.